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Apply On-Line to License a New Location!
Through the Michigan Business One Stop portal, www.
michigan.gov/business you can now apply for food handler 
establishment licenses for new locations.  Your business 
benefi ts from applying on-line because:                                         
• As soon as you pay for your license through the One 

Stop shopping cart, your license application is sent to 
MDA to start processing without any mail delays.  

• You receive an electronic confi rmation that your license 
application has been submitted. 

• If you also need to apply for a retail motor fuel license, 
you can complete, submit, and pay for both applications 
on-line at the same time.  

• When on-line renewals are available, you’ll be ready to 
renew on-line.  

Additional license types from other agencies are scheduled 
to be added to One Stop by the end of the year.  
Questions about how to use One Stop?  The on-line 
Resource Center has a number of written documents to help 
you start and manage your business. 

The Customer Assistance Center (877) 766-1779, is also 
available from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., Monday through 
Friday.

Late License Submittals
Please remember to submit your license application on time 
this year.  Each year, a small percentage of businesses 
place themselves in the unfortunate position of having to pay 
late fees and fi nes, or even receive closure orders because 
their food establishment license was not renewed on time.  
All food establishment licenses expire on April 30 each 
year.  

Late fees and fi nes are progressive and may include:
• $100 late fee ($10/day)
• $400 fi ne (1st year late)
• $800 fi ne (2nd year late)
• Closure order and legal action 

Tips for avoiding late penalties:
• Place a reminder on your calendar ahead of April 30 to 

give yourself time to mail the renewal application and 
fee.

• MDA sends license renewals for current licensed 
establishments early in the year. If you have not received 
a renewal application in the mail by March 30, call the 
MDA Licensing Unit to check that the correct address is 
listed and request another application be sent.

• Be sure to mail the renewal so it is postmarked 
before April 30.

• When notifi ed, promptly submit any late fee in order 
to avoid additional fi nes and penalties.

Your food establishment license must be conspicuously 
posted.  For additional information or questions, contact 
the MDA Licensing Unit at (517) 241-6666. 

MDA Contact Information
Effective October 1, 2009, MDA has closed all of its 
regional offi ces to reduce costs. Customers calling the 
regional and district offi ces are being redirected to a toll-
free number in Lansing: (800) 292-3939.  

General e-mail inquiries can be sent to mda-info@
michigan.gov.

We also have several online resources available for your 
convenience: 

www.michigan.gov/mda - Web site
www.michigan.gov/mdacomplaints - A form for   
 electronically submitting complaints. 
www.michigan.gov/business - Information on   
 licensing or starting a business in Michigan. 

Michigan’s New Smoke-Free Air Law
Effective May 1, 2010, smoking is prohibited in all food 
establishments (Public Act 188 of 2009).  Previously 
permitted designated smoking areas within a food 
establishment are no longer permitted.  Ashtrays and 
other smoking paraphernalia previously utilized in the 
facility must be removed. “No smoking signs” must 
be posted as described in Public Act 188 of 2009.  
Food establishment owners or managers can refer 
to www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2009-2010/
publicact/pdf/2009-PA-0188.pdf for a copy of the 
Public Act. Please also see the Michigan Department of 
Community Health (MDCH) Web site: www.michigan.
gov/mdch (type “smoke-free air law” into the search 
box) for details on how Public Act 188 of 2009 could 
affect your facility and for additional information on 
exemptions and a “Frequently Asked Questions” 
section for clarifi cation of the new law. The MDCH may 
delegate the enforcement of the Act to local health 
departments.  Persons who violate the Act may be 
subject to civil fi nes.
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The New Manager Certifi cation Requirements 
and Your Facility
Recent updates to the Michigan Food Law incorporated a 
requirement that managers of certain food and food service 
establishments be a “Certifi ed Food Manager”.  The Certifi ed 
Food Manager must pass an ANSI/CFP nationally accredited 
exam, and maintain certifi cation every fi ve years.  

The following MDA-inspected facilities are required to have a 
certifi ed manager: 
• A food service establishment within a retail grocery.  
• Extended retail food establishments.  These are typically 

grocery stores with a deli and seating. 
• Establishments that press apple cider.

A certifi ed manager will not be required for low-risk 
establishments including: convenience stores serving precooked 
hot dogs or sausages, popcorn, nachos, pretzels or frozen 
pizza; hot dog carts; coffee shops; cocktail lounges; theaters; 
nut kiosks; honey and maple syrup processors; most bakery 
operations; candy, snack, pasta, spice or other non-potentially 
hazardous manufacturers; bottled water manufacturers; and, 
food warehouses. 
Prior to taking the exam, many individuals prepare by reviewing 
the Food Code and taking a class offered by the suppliers of 
the exam. To fi nd a course, trainer, textbook or exam, you can 
contact: 
• By phone: your local health department or Michigan State 

University Extension at (888) 678-3464.
• Online: www.michigan.gov/mda (type “food safety training 

database instructions” in the search box) to see a listing of 
available classes and trainers. 

                                                                                           
Additional information on manager certifi cation can be obtained 
from: www.michigan.gov/mda (type “manager certifi cation” in 
the search box).  

New Procedures for Plan Review Submissions
Due to the closure of all MDA regional offi ces, all plan review 
documents submitted to MDA’s Food and Dairy Division are to 
be sent to:

Michigan Department of Agriculture
Food and Dairy Division Lansing Offi ce 
525 W. Allegan
P.O. Box 30017
Lansing, Michigan 48909 

All plan review resources can be found at www.michigan.gov/
mda (type “plan review” into the search box).  By following this 
guidance you will help us to expedite the plan review process.

The FDA’s New Reportable Food Registry 
About the Reportable Food Registry
The Reportable Food Registry (RFR) is an electronic portal for 
the food processing industry to report when there is reasonable 
probability that an article of food will cause serious adverse 
health consequences. The RFR helps the FDA better protect 
public health by tracking patterns, and targeting inspections.  
The RFR applies to all FDA-regulated categories of food and 
feed, except dietary supplements and infant formula.

Who Should Use the Reportable Food Registry?
Food establishments that manufacture, process, 
pack, or hold food for human or animal consumption 
in the United States under Section 415(a) of the 
Food, Drug and Cosmetics Act (21 U.S.C. 350d) 
are required to report when there is a reasonable 
probability that the use of, or exposure to, an 
article of food will cause serious adverse health 
consequences or death to humans or animals.

Where Should Consumers, Food Retailers and 
Food Service Operators Report a Problem with 
Food?

In emergencies, consumers, food retailers and 
food service operators should call FDA at: 
(301) 443-1240. 

Where Should Food Processors Report a 
Problem with a Food?

The RFR electronic portal is accessible through 
a link on the www.fda.gov home page under 
the heading “Report a Problem,” or directly by 
entering the following URL into your browser: 
http://rfr.fda.gov.

Census 2010 is Coming to Your 
Mailbox: Be Counted and Make a 
Difference for Michigan
April 1, 2010 is Census Day.  Mandated by the 
United States Constitution and conducted every 10 
years, the census counts every man, woman and 
child living in the United States, both citizens and 
noncitizens.  

Why be counted?  The 2010 Census will create a 
snapshot of our nation’s population – capturing our 
changing and diverse America in a fl eeting moment 
in time.  But this historic event will do more than 
tell us who we are as a nation today.  It will affect 
your community’s future, your state’s future, your 
country’s future and your future. The data gathered 
will determine funding for vital local services as well 
as representation at all levels of government. By 
participating in the census, you can help create a 
better future for you and those important to you. 

Census Day is April 1, 2010
We move forward when you send it back.
Make a difference in your community and be 
counted for 2010.
Complete and return your 2010 Census form.

www.michigan.gov/mda

Consumer Complaint Hotline
If you, or your consumers see a food-related 
problem, please report it to MDA Food and Dairy 
Division at: (800) 292-3939 or through the MDA 
Web site. 

www.michigan.gov/mda

