
CERVIDAE 
 

All Cervids 
See below requirements. 

 
Michigan Cervids 
1. Cervidae must meet current requirements contained within Act No. 466 of the 

Public Acts of 1988, as amended, the Animal Industry Act, for movement of 
privately-owned cervidae in Michigan.  

 
2. All live privately-owned cervids moving from one premises to another premises 

within this state shall be officially identified with identification approved by the 
director.  Identification shall also be in compliance with Public Act 190 of 2000, 
Privately Owned Cervidae Producers, and the operational standards for 
registered privately owned cervidae facilities. 

 
3. All live privately-owned cervids six (6) months of age or older moving from one 

premises to another premises within this state, except those consigned directly to 
a state or federally inspected slaughter facility premises, shall comply with one of 
the following: 
a. Originate directly from an official tuberculosis accredited, qualified, or 

monitored herd as outlined in Bovine Tuberculosis Eradication: Uniform 
Methods and Rules, effective January 22, 1999, approved by the United 
States Department of Agriculture (USDA), Animal and Plant Health Inspection 
Service (APHIS), Veterinary Services (VS) and all amendments to those 
publications thereafter adopted pursuant to the rules that the director may 
promulgate, and be accompanied by a copy of the current official letter from 
USDA verifying herd status; OR 

b. Originate directly from a herd that has undergone an official negative 
tuberculosis test of all privately-owned cervids twelve (12) months of age or 
older and all cattle and goats six (6) months of age and older in contact with 
the herd within 24 months before movement, OR originate directly from a 
herd that has undergone an official negative tuberculosis test of all privately-
owned cervids twelve (12) months of age or older and all cattle and goats six 
(6) months of age or older in contact with the herd more than 24 months 
before movement, AND receive an individual negative official test for 
tuberculosis within 90 days before movement, AND be accompanied by a 
copy of the official tests for tuberculosis verifying testing; OR 

c. Be isolated from all other members of the herd and receive two (2) official 
negative tests for tuberculosis at 90- to 120-day intervals before movement 
and be accompanied by copies of the official tests for tuberculosis verifying 
that testing.  The second negative test shall be within 90 days before 
movement. 

 
4. All live privately-owned cervids less than six (6) months of age moving from one 

premises to another premises within this state, except those consigned directly to 



a state or federally inspected slaughter facility premises, must comply with one of 
the following: 
a. Originate directly from an official tuberculosis accredited, qualified, or 

monitored herd as outlined in Bovine Tuberculosis Eradication: Uniform 
Methods and Rules, effective January 22, 1999, approved by the United 
States Department of Agriculture (USDA), Animal and Plant Health Inspection 
Service (APHIS), Veterinary Services (VS) and all amendments to those 
publications thereafter adopted pursuant to rules that the director may 
promulgate, AND be identified by an official identification, AND be 
accompanied by a copy of the current official letter from the Michigan 
Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD) verifying the 
herd status; OR 

b. Originate directly from a herd that has received an official negative 
tuberculosis test of all privately-owned cervids twelve (12) months of age or 
older and all cattle and goats six (6) months of age and older in contact with 
the herd within 24 months before movement; OR 

c. Originate directly from a herd that has received a negative tuberculosis test of 
all privately-owned cervids twelve (12) months of age or older and all cattle 
and goats six (6) months of age or older in contact with the herd more than 24 
months before movement and be accompanied by an official permit for 
movement of privately-owned cervids less than six (6) months of age within 
Michigan, or an official interstate health certificate issued by an accredited 
veterinarian, and remain at the destination stated on the permit or official 
interstate health certificate until it receives an official negative tuberculosis 
test when it reaches six (6) months of age, but not more than eight (8) months 
of age.  

 
5. For purposes of this section, the age of the privately-owned cervids shall be 

determined by the age placed on the official permit for movement of privately-
owned cervids less than six (6) months of age in Michigan, or the official 
interstate health certificate issued by an accredited veterinarian.  A copy of the 
official test for tuberculosis and a copy of the official permit for movement of 
privately-owned cervids less than six (6) months of age within Michigan or the 
official interstate health certificate shall be forwarded to the Department within 
ten (10) days following completion of the testing.  

 
6. Cervids may not move from a facility under quarantine. 
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