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Key Changes to the Michigan Food Law and 
Food Code Adopted in 2012
Michigan’s updated Food Law took effect on October 1, 2012.  
The law adopts a modifi ed 2009 U.S Food and Drug 
Administration Model Food Code, portions of the 2009 FDA 
Model Shellfi sh Code, and various federal food processing 
codes and egg safety documents to provide national 
consistency for the food industry and assure Michigan’s food 
safety laws are based on the best current science.  The Food 
Law is monitored and enforced by MDARD in partnership with 
Michigan’s 45 local health departments.
The updated Food Law includes the following key changes:

• Creates an updated scoring system for violations at   
 licensed food establishments.
• Prohibits the offering of undercooked hamburgers on 
 children’s menus.
• Requires cut tomatoes and cut leafy greens to be kept   
 refrigerated.
• Sets standards for food establishments to safely par-cook  
 food (this is a technique where food is partially cooked,   
 then cooled and fi nished later).
• Allows small egg producers to sell directly to consumers   
 without a license as long as a warning label is placed on   
 the carton stating the eggs were packaged in a facility   
 not been inspected by MDARD.
• Raises the annual gross sales limit for cottage food 
 businesses from $15,000 to $20,000; and to $25,000 in   
 2018.
• Requires mobile and special transitory food units to have a  
 certifi ed manager.
• Allows licensed retail food establishments to sell at 
 farmers markets, fairs or festivals without additional 
 licensure.
• Includes provisions to assist state auditors in monitoring   
 food establishments for Bridge Card fraud.

For more information about the updated Food Law, contact 
MDARD’s Food and Dairy Division at 800-292-3939 or 
mda-fooddairyinfo@michigan.gov. To obtain a copy of the 
updated Food Law, visit www.michigan.gov/foodsafety.
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Food Safety Modernization Act 
Proposed Rules
On January 16, 2013, FDA proposed rules on Preventive 
Controls for Human Food and Standards for Produce 
Safety were published in the Federal Register. These 
proposed rules cover two sections of the 2011 FDA Food 
Safety Modernization Act.
 

The proposed rule on Preventive Controls for Human Food 
applies to many domestic and foreign fi rms that 
manufacture, process, pack or hold human food and would 
require fi rms to have written Food Safety Plans. 
The proposed produce safety rule would establish 
science-based standards for the safe growing, 
harvesting, packing, and holding of produce in its raw or 
natural (unprocessed) state on farms. There is a 120 day 
public comment period for the rules ending May 16, 2013. 
After FDA reviews all comments, the fi nal rules will be 
published. The compliance dates for implementation will 
then be staggered based on business size. For fact sheets 
on the proposed rules and information on how to submit 
comments on the proposed rules, visit www.fda.gov/Food/
FoodSafety/FSMA.

Business Development Tool Kit 
Available Soon
MDARD Food and Dairy inspectors will soon have a 
business development tool kit available to share with 
food-related food businesses interested in starting or 
expanding their businesses in Michigan.  The tool kit, 
developed jointly by MDARD’s Offi ce of Agriculture 
Development and Food and Dairy Division, will also be 
available online at www.michigan.gov/miagbusiness.
The kit includes information on licensing, plan reviews, 
labeling, and fi nancial resources, as well as a newly 
updated edition of “Growing Michigan’s Future – A Guide 
to Marketing Your Michigan Food and Agriculture 
Products.” For more information, contact your inspector, 
visit the website listed above, or contact MDARD at 
800-292-3939.

   Contact the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development:
Phone:  Fax: Licensing/Business Start-up Info:  
1-800-292-3939  517-373-3333 www.michigan.gov/miagbusiness

After Hours Emergencies: Web: Marketing Information: 
517-373-0440  www.michigan.gov/mdard or www.michigan.gov/mdardmarketingguide
  www.michigan.gov/foodsafety
Email:   Electronic Complaints  Submission:
mda-fooddairyinfo@michigan.gov  www.michigan.gov/complaints



Retail Food Establishment Inspection 
Results Available Online
In September 2012, MDARD launched MiSafe, an online 
system enabling consumers to easily access inspection 
results from more than 19,000 retail food establishments 
in Michigan.
MiSafe gives consumers access to retail food 
establishment inspection results (primarily grocery 
and convenience stores), for all active establishments 
inspected by MDARD, including any violations found 
during an inspection.
 

MiSafe includes inspection reports from September 2011 
forward and can be accessed at www.michigan.gov/
foodsafety.  The MiSafe site includes a link to inspection 
reports for some restaurants, where the inspecting local 
health departments make these report available online.

Notice of Variance Requirement for 
Specialized Meat Processors
Michigan’s Food Law requires licensed food 
establishments that conduct specialized meat processing 
for retail sales to obtain a variance, which includes a 
food safety plan. All specialized meat processors must 
complete a food safety plan and have their variance 
approved by March 1, 2015. Newly licensed processors 
must obtain the variance upon licensing. The following 
establishments must develop a plan and get a variance 
approved:

• Meat processors who meet all of the following:
 o Conduct specialized meat processing, such as   
  curing, smoking or otherwise using additives for  
  preservation or vacuum packaging of specialized  
  meat products;
 o Are licensed by MDARD and regulated under the 
  Food Code (e.g., food service and retail
  operations) and sell meat products at retail
  markets;
 o Are not inspected by USDA for those retail meat
  processing and sales operations.
• Custom exempt venison processors who make
 sausage for their customers using other meat
 products and ingredients supplied by the processor.

For information about the inspection and approval 
process or available training, visit www.michigan.gov/
meatprocessing or call MDARD at 800-292-3939.
 
 Food and Dairy Division Adds Nutritionist and Emerging Issues Specialist to Staff
In August 2012, MDARD’s Food and Dairy Division (FDD) hired two new staff members to cover responsibilities added 
with the passage of the federal Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) and the creation of the Pure Michigan FIT, 
a nutrition and physical fi tness program geared toward reducing obesity and improving the health and well-being of 
Michigan children.  Tim Slawinski is the division’s Emerging Issues Specialist.  Tim will initially focus on implementation 
of FSMA, including determining how the new regulation will affect Michigan businesses and identifying resources 
available to help food businesses comply with new requirements.  He came to MDARD from the Kellogg Co., where he 
served as Quality Programs Manager. Lori Yelton is the department’s fi rst-ever Nutritionist. Through Pure Michigan FIT 
and the Michigan Farm to School program, Lori works with retailers, growers, schools, healthcare providers and others 
to provide nutrition and food safety resources for parents and caregivers of young children.  She has over 25 years of 
experience in nutrition as a Registered Dietitian. She has experience in nutrition research studies in both children and 
adults, has worked with county Infant and Maternal Services and WIC and has clinical experience with pediatrics. Lori 
also taught nutrition courses at Western Michigan University. You can reach Tim or Lori at 800-292-3939.

Avoid Late Fees: 
Submit Your License On Time
Each year, a small percentage of businesses place 
themselves in the unfortunate position of having to pay late 
fees and fi nes, or even receive closure orders, because 
their food establishment licenses were not renewed on 
time.  All food establishment licenses expire on April 30 
each year. 
Late fees and fi nes are progressive and may include:

• $100 late fee ($10/day)
• $400 fi ne (1st year late)
• $800 fi ne (2nd year late)
• Closure order and legal action 

MDARD sends license renewals for current licensed 
establishments early in the year. If you have not received a 
renewal application in the mail by March 15, call MDARD’s 
Central Licensing Unit at 517-241-6666 to ensure the 
correct address is listed and request another application 
be sent.  Be sure to mail the renewal so it is postmarked 
before April 30.
If you are notifi ed because your renewal was late, promptly 
submit any late fee in order to avoid additional fi nes and 
penalties.  And remember, your food establishment license must 
be conspicuously posted.  For additional information or questions, 
contact MDARD’s Central Licensing Unit at 517-241-6666. 

Reminder: Renew Your License Online
When you renew your food establishment license online 
through the Michigan Business One Stop, you can have 
your license renewal in your hands within a few days! 
Review the information in SECTION A of your renewal 
notice.  If there are no changes to the information in 
SECTION A, you can renew online.  After you pay for the 
items in your shopping cart, your renewal application is 
immediately forwarded to MDARD where it will receive 
expedited processing.  Most applicants will be able to print 
their eCredentials from their One Stop accounts within fi ve 
business days.
If you have changes to any information in SECTION A, you 
can still mail your application with the required fee.  If you 
need to apply for a new license because of ownership or 
address changes, you can also do that online through the 
Michigan Business One Stop portal.  Visit www.michigan.
gov/business.  Representatives from the Michigan 
Business One Stop portal are on duty Monday through 
Friday, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., to assist you.


