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IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
 

MICHIGAN FEED LAW HAS CHANGED 
 
RE:  Michigan Feed Law - updates effective 10/1/15 
 
Dear Commercial Feed Licensee: 
 
As of October 1, 2015, the updates to Michigan Feed Law will be in effect.  This is the 
first update and fee increase in 40 years, so it will be a transition for everyone.  The 
following highlights changes made to licensing and inspection (tonnage) fees: 
 
Licenses 
 

License Period:  
The period has been changed from January 1 - December 31.  It is now July 1 – 
June 30 of any given year.   

 All firms possessing a 2015 Michigan Commercial Feed License will have 
their license period automatically extended to June 30, 2016.   

 MDARD will issue a new “expires June 30, 2016” approval certificate to all 
2015 licensees next month. 

 Any new license applications postmarked after October 1, 2015, will pay the 
new fee and then will need to re-apply for another license by July 1, 2016.    

 All licenses issued on or after July 1, 2016 will remain valid until June 30, 
2017. 

 A late fee of $50 will be assessed to any licensee that fails to renew within 30 
days of license expiration or notificaton to obtain a license. 

 
License Fees:  
License fees have increased from $25 per license to $100 per license.  For 
manufacturers/distributors that only package feed in containers 5 pounds or less, 
the license fee will remain $25 per license.   

 
New License Groups:   
These firms will need to have a license in place by July 1, 2016:   

 Each physical Michigan location manufacturing feed in Michigan.  Previously this 
was not required if the facilty used labeling from a licensed out of state corporate 
office. 

 Specialty pet food manufacturers distributing product into Michigan will now 
require a license.  Previously feed for animals typically kept in cages and tanks 
was exempt. 

 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/mdard


 
 
Inspection Fee (Tonnage) Reports 
 
Tonnage Fees:   

 Fees were increased from $0.13 per ton to $0.30 per ton and $0.15 per ton for 
feed ingredient by products with a moisture content of 60% or greater. 
 

 There is a minimum tonnage report fee of $50 for all licensees.   
o For example, any licensee that manufactures/distributes 166 tons or less 

of feed pays $50 and any licensee that manufactures/distributes 167 tons 
or more of feed pays $0.30 per ton (i.e 167 tons x $0.30= $50.10).   

 
Reporting Period:  

 Tonnage will be reported annually instead of semi-annually.  
o This means that licensees will not file a semi-annual report for July-

December 2015.  Instead licensees will report for July 2015 – June 2016 in 
July 2016.   

 
Transition Year:    
Michigan licenses will be transitioning from a semi-annual report to an annual report.  
Only one tonnage report will be filed for July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016, due July 31, 
2016.    
 
Because the feed law changes became effective in the middle of the reporting year, two 
different tonnage fees will be assessed on the tonnage report due July 31, 2016: 

Quarter 1:       July 1 – September 30, 2015          @ $0.13 per ton 
Quarters 2-4:  October 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016    @ $0.30 per ton 

 
__________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
With this letter, Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development (MDARD) 
hopes to alleviate any confusion during this transition period.  We anticipate there will 
be questions and please do not hesitate to contact MDARD Central Licensing Unit at 
(517) 284-5771, licensing feed desk at (517) 284-5751, tonnage desk at (517) 284-5645 
or email to MDARD-Tonnage@michigan.gov.  
 
For your reference, a comparison table of the old and new feed law licensing and 
tonnage changes is enclosed.  The complete law and additional information sheets are 
on MDARD’s website at: www.michigan.gov/mda-feed. 
 
Thank you in advance for your cooperation and attention to this matter. 
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