



### Bureau of Professional Licensing Athletic Trainer FAQ

#### I have been practicing for several years and my degree is not in athletic training. Do I need to provide transcripts and a certification of education with my application?

New applicants are required to provide transcripts and Board of Certification, Inc. (BOC) certification. If you do not have a degree in athletic training, the certification of education form must be submitted to verify completion of the core curriculum required by the Board. You must request verification of current BOC certification to be submitted directly to this office from the Board of Certification, Inc. (BOC) at www.bocatc.org. We cannot accept copies of your certification as proof.

## 2. I just graduated from my athletic training program? Do I have to apply for licensure right away?

You may not practice as an athletic trainer or use the title "Athletic Trainer" in Michigan until you become licensed.

## 3. What are the requirements for getting an Athletic Trainer license? How do I apply?

You must submit an application, the required fees, transcripts confirming your degree in athletic training or the completed certification of education form, and verification of BOC certification, current emergency cardiac care certification, and first aid training to the Bureau of Professional Licensing.

The first-aid training must have been completed within three years preceding the date of application and must be for a minimum of one hour.

You must also get fingerprinted for a criminal background check. Instructions are included on the license application.

Updated 05/03/16

Page 1 of 6





#### 4. Once I submit my application, how long does it take to get my license?

Applications are processed as quickly as possible in "date received" order.

#### 5. Can I apply for my license before I get my BOC certification?

Yes, but the license will not be issued until proof of BOC certification is received.

#### 6. Why do I have to have BOC certification in order to get my license?

Having BOC certification is proof that you have met the educational and exam requirements for licensure.

#### 7. Can I practice athletic training in Michigan with only BOC certification?

No. Michigan law requires a license to practice athletic training. BOC certification is not a license issued by the State of Michigan. The BOC is an independent organization that provides a certification program for entry-level athletic trainers; it is not a state licensing body. Proof of BOC certification is required in Michigan to show that you have met the educational and exam requirements for licensure.

#### 8. Will the license period run concurrent with the BOC certification period?

Not necessarily. An initial license is issued for one year. After that, licenses are issued for a 3-year period and the licensure cycle expires on September 30.

#### 9. What are the fees for licensure?

Application Fee: \$75 1st Year License Fee: \$100\* Criminal Background Check Fee: \$62.75 License Renewal Fee: \$300 for three year cycle (\$100 per year) \*An initial license is valid until the next license expiration date of the profession unless it is issued less than 120 days prior to the expiration date and then it will carry to the following year. After the first renewal, the license will be valid for three years.

#### CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED.





## 10. Does the 3-year, \$300 renewal fee have to be paid in full? Is there a grace period for submitting my renewal?

Yes, the renewal fee must be paid in full.

If you do not submit your renewal fee and application by the September 30 expiration date, you can continue to practice for 60 days beyond the expiration date. If you submit your application and fee within the 60-day period after the expiration date, a \$20 late fee will be imposed. If your renewal application and fee are not received within the 60-day grace period after the expiration date, your license lapses and becomes null and void.

## 11. Do I have to send in proof showing I completed 75 hours of continuing education (CE) with my renewal application?

No. You are not required to submit proof of completion of the required CE hours. However, you MUST keep the documentation showing completion of the required CE hours for 3 years from the date you sent in the application for renewal. If audited, you would be asked to submit this documentation.

#### 12. Can I pay by credit or debit card?

For initial licensure, you must pay by check or money order only. For licensure renewals, you may pay by credit card, debit card or e-check. All renewals are processed online.

#### 13. Do I need to maintain BOC certification to continue to be licensed?

No. You are required to have BOC certification for initial licensure only. You are not required to maintain BOC certification in order to renew your license. However, some employers may require BOC certification so you need to confirm your employer's requirements.





## 14. I have to take CE to maintain my BOC certification. Can I use that CE for my license renewal?

Yes. The 75 CE hours required to maintain BOC certification can be used toward the 75 CE hours required to renew a Michigan license. Make sure you complete 75 CE hours during the 3-year license cycle with a minimum of one hour of CE relating to pain and symptom management. Additionally, you must possess current certification in emergency cardiac care and have completed a minimum of 1 hour of first aid training.

#### 15. Who can supervise an Athletic Trainer?

Pursuant to the Public Health Code, the practice of athletic trainers shall be supervised by an allopathic (MD) or osteopathic physician (DO) licensed in Michigan.

## 16. I am an Athletic Trainer in a high school. How do I make sure I comply with the requirement that I work under the supervision of an MD or DO?

You will need to check with your school to determine what process is in place for ensuring compliance with this requirement.

# 17. I am an Athletic Trainer in a high school. I have responsibilities at multiple field locations at the same time. Can I use high school students to cover events at locations where I am not present?

No. A high school student can assist with athletic training tasks such as wrapping, taping, applying heat or cold, etc. only in the immediate presence of the licensed athletic trainer.

#### 18. In a high school setting, what services can a coach perform?

If the program does not have a licensed athletic trainer, the coach can offer basic first aid services and basic risk management and injury prevention as taught in the basic first aid training. He or she must not practice athletic training, hold himself or herself out as an athletic trainer or delegate athletic training services to others unless licensed.



## FAQ

## 19. Do Athletic Trainers from other states coming into Michigan with their teams have to obtain a license?

An out-of-state athletic trainer coming into Michigan with his or her team does not have to obtain a license if the athletic trainer will be in the state for less than 30 consecutive days. The out-of-state athletic trainer must either be BOC certified or licensed in his or her home state.

#### 20. Can the Bureau of Professional Licensing or the Michigan Athletic Trainer Board answer questions about insurance reimbursement?

No. We suggest you contact the providers directly or your association if you have questions regarding reimbursement.

## 21. If I am licensed in Canada as an Athletic Therapist, can I use the Athletic Therapist title in Michigan?

The Michigan Public Health Code only recognizes the title "athletic trainer." If you are practicing athletic training in Michigan, you must be licensed as an athletic trainer and that is the title you have to use. Michigan does not recognize the title "athletic therapist."

## 22. What initials can I use after my name to indicate that I am a licensed Athletic Trainer? If I have other certifications, what do I list first?

The Michigan Athletic Trainer Board has adopted the initials "AT" to indicate that a person holds an athletic trainer license in Michigan. Your "AT" initials indicating that you are licensed should be used first. Credentials issued to you by other organizations or associations should follow the "AT."

If you are not licensed as an athletic trainer in Michigan, but have maintained the BOC certification that enables you to use the "ATC" credential, you may use the "ATC" credential only if you **ARE NOT** practicing athletic training and/or holding yourself out to be an athletic trainer. Example: A physical therapist that is also BOC certified but not practicing AT or calling themselves an AT. They should use the following on their letterhead, "Jane Doe, PT, ATC".





## 23. How do I file a complaint regarding a licensed Athletic Trainer? What if I think someone is working as an Athletic Trainer without a license?

Information on the complaint process can be found on the Bureau of Professional Licensing's website at <u>www.michigan.gov/bpl</u>. If you think someone is practicing athletic training without a license, you should contact your county prosecutor's office or file a complaint with the Bureau of Professional Licensing. The Bureau of Professional Licensing has limited authority over an unlicensed individual and may issue an Order to Cease and Desist to an individual suspected of practicing a licensed health profession without a license.

CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED.