APPENDIX B: RURAL AND URBAN COUNTY CLASSIFICATION

Appendix, page 227

**Data Source:** United States Census Bureau, 2010 Census Urban and Rural Classification and Urban Area Critera, http://www.census.gov/geo/www/ua/2010urbanruralclass.html

**Urbanized Area (UA):** A statistical geographic entity consisting of a densely settled core created from census tracts or blocks and contiguous qualifying territory that together have a minimum population of at least 50,000 persons.

**Core Based Statistical Area (CBSA):** A statistical geographic entity defined by the U.S. Office of Management and Budget (OMB), consisting of the county or counties associated with at least one core (urban area) of at least 10,000 population, plus adjacent counties having a high degree of social and economic integration with the core as measured through commuting ties with the counties containing the core. Metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas are the two types of CBSAs.

**Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA)**: A core based statistical area (CBSA) associated with at least one urbanized area that has a population of at least 50,000. A metropolitan statistical area comprises a central county or counties containing the urbanized area, plus adjacent outlying counties having a high degree of social and economic integration with the central county as measured by commuting.

**Urban county**: Any county containing a Urbanized Area (UA) of at least 50,000 people or an area adjacent to an Urbanized Area (UA) that has a substantial commuting interchange with a city of greater than 50,000 people.

Using these US Census Bureau definitions, MDCH classified counties as urban or rural. A county is considered urban if any part of a city or area as explained above is part of that county (i.e., the city of Kalamazoo is in Kalamazoo County) or if a county is adjacent to an Urbanized Area (UA) and has a high degree of social and economic integration with the central county as measured by commuting.

## <u>Urban counties grouped by MSA:</u>

- -Washtenaw
- -Calhoun
- -Bav
- -Berrien
- -Detroit Metro Area (Lapeer, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, and Wayne counties and the City of Detroit)
- -Genesee
- -Kent
- -Ottawa
- -Jackson
- -Kalamazoo
- -Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham
- -Midland
- -Muskegon
- -Saginaw
- -Livingston

## **Rural counties:**

Alcona	Branch	Emmet	Iosco
Alger	Cass	Gladwin	Iron
Allegan	Charlevoix	Gogebic	Isabella
Alpena	Cheboygan	Grand Traverse	Kalkaska
Antrim	Chippewa	Gratiot	Keweenaw
Arenac	Clare	Hillsdale	Lake
Baraga	Crawford	Houghton	Leelanau
Barry	Delta	Huron	Lenawee
Benzie	Dickinson	Ionia	Livingston

Luce Newaygo Mackinac Oceana Manistee Ogemaw Marquette Ontonagon Mason Osceola Mecosta Oscoda Menominee Otsego Missaukee Presque Isle Montcalm Roscommon Montmorency Sanilac

Schoolcraft Shiawassee St Joseph Tuscola Van Buren Wexford