
Qualifications for a Cigar Bar Exemption to the Smoke-Free Air Law 
Updated 4/29/10 

 
• Cigar bars must already be in existence by May 1. 

 
• Have 10% or more of gross annual income from cigar sales and from rental of an on-

site humidor. (The 90% of sales may be from food/drinks from the restaurant and/or 
bar area of the business.  If the sale from food and drinks exceeds 90% of the gross, 
the business would lose the cigar bar designation.)  
 

• Owners must file an affidavit and be approved in order to continue to allow smoking. 
 

• The Department may request further information from cigar bar applicant to verify it 
meets the requirements. 
 

• If the affidavit isn’t filed by 21 days after the due date, the cigar bar is not exempt and 
must prohibit smoking. 
 

• If the cigar bar is part of a larger establishment, it must be physically separated from 
the area where smoking is prohibited, and the smoke may not infiltrate the smoke-free 
area.  The cigar bar must be enclosed on all sides with a door, four walls, and/or 
windows that extend from floor to ceiling. See schematic below. 
 

• No one under 18 years old is allowed admittance into the cigar bar. 
 

• Cigars must retail for over $1 per cigar. 
 

• Smoking other tobacco products in the cigar bar is prohibited. 
 
• You must contact the state or local jurisdiction’s mechanical division for an evaluation 

of your ventilation systems to determine adequacy.  In order to obtain a certificate of 
occupancy you will need to get the required permits and final inspections from all 
disciplines involved.  See 
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_statewide_jurisdiction_list_241251_7.pdf 
 

 
 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_statewide_jurisdiction_list_241251_7.pdf


 

STATE OF MICHIGAN 
APPLICATION FOR CIGAR BAR EXEMPTION  

FROM THE SMOKE FREE LAW 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

This form is to be used to apply for certification for the “cigar bar” exemption from the smoking 
prohibition of the Smoke Free Law.  Exemptions are granted on a location by location basis.  
Therefore the Applicant must fill out an Affidavit for each cigar bar he or she owns or operates.  
Completion of this form does not guarantee that the establishment will be exempted.  The 
establishment must receive written approval of the exemption.   
 

DEFINITIONS 
 
Following are definitions or partial definitions of word and terms used in this application, as 
defined by the Smoke Free Law, the Tobacco Products Tax Act, and the guidelines as developed 
by the Michigan Department of Community Health thereunder: 
 
“Applicant” means an establishment or an establishment’s agent, and includes an applicant for a 
renewal certificate. 
 
“Application” means an establishment’s affidavit to the department for a certificate, and 
includes any supporting materials. 
 
“Cigar” means any roll of tobacco weighing 3 or more pounds per 1,000, which roll has a 
wrapper or cover consisting only of tobacco. 
 
“Cigarette” means a roll for smoking made wholly or in part of tobacco, irrespective of size or 
shape and irrespective of the tobacco being flavored, adulterated, or mixed with any other 
ingredient, which roll has a wrapper or cover made of paper or any other material.  Cigarette 
does not include cigars. 
 
“Department” means the Michigan Department of Community Health. 
 
“Establishment” means a place of business, commerce or other service-related activity that 
encompasses a single, contiguous physical location.  “Establishment” does not refer solely to a 
subsection or partition of a business location (e.g. a subsection of a restaurant), but refers to the 
business establishment as a whole.  
 
“Infiltration” means to enter, permeate, or pass through a substance or area by filtering or by 
insinuating gradually 
 
“Humidor” means an enclosure or fixture that is stationary and used for the humidification of 
cigars that is on the premises of the establishment. 
 



 

 

 

“Rental of On-Site Humidor” means rental of space in an establishment to individuals for 
purposes of personal cigar humidification.   
 
“Smoking paraphernalia” means any equipment, apparatus, or furnishing that is used in or 
necessary for the activity of smoking. 
 
PLEASE NOTE: Upon receipt of the Application for Exemption and supporting 
documents, additional information may be requested from Applicant to complete our 
review of the application. 
 
Applicant will be notified in writing if request for exemption is granted or denied. 
 
Applications must be filled out for each physical location where a cigar bar is housed.   
The initial application must be filed on or before June 1, 2010.  If the initial application is 
accepted and the exemption is granted, you are required to file a renewal application after 
January 1 and prior to January 31 of each subsequent year of the initial application.   
 
Applications must be FILLED OUT COMPLETELY, SIGNED, AND NOTARIZED in order 
to be accepted by the Department.  All INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS will be denied and 
returned for completion, causing a delay in our consideration of your request for exemption. 
 
IF ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION IS NOT ATTACHED, THIS WILL RESULT IN 
DENIAL OF THE APPLICATION FOR EXEMPTION. 
 
PLEASE NOTE:  You must notify the Department of any change(s) in the information you 
submit. 
 

Completed applications must be sent to and received on or before June 1, 2010: 
Michigan Department of Community Health 

Tobacco Section – Affidavit Review 
PO Box 30195 

Lansing, MI 48913 
 

CHECKLIST 
 

Completed application for Cigar Bar Exemption  

Copies of the Operator's deed(s) or lease(s) to the premises at which the proposed exempt 
establishment is located as of May 1, 2010

 
Copy of the Tobacco Products Tax License for the establishment.  If your establishment does 
not have a Tobacco Products Tax License, you must provide valid proof that all state excise 
taxes on tobacco products have been paid.

 
Copy of the current certificates of occupancy for the premises at which the proposed exempt 
establishment is located as of April 1, 2010 to the date of this application
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STATE OF MICHIGAN 
APPLICATION FOR CIGAR BAR EXEMPTION 

FROM THE SMOKE FREE LAW 
 
Applicant Information 
 
1. Business Name of Proposed Cigar Bar (hereinafter the “Establishment”): 

 
2. Federal Employer Identification Number: 

 
 
3.  Street Address of Establishment Applying for Exemption (separate application must be 
submitted for each location):  

 
City: State: Zip Code: 

   
 

4. Telephone Number of Establishment: 

 
 

5. Name of Owner of Establishment: 

 
 

6. Mailing Address of Establishment (if different from address provided in Question 2 above): 

 
City: State: Zip Code: 

   
 

7. This application is being made by the (select one):  
Owner of the Establishment  
Operator of the Establishment  

 
8. Name of Establishment Operator: 

 
  
9.  Street Address of Establishment Operator 

 
 
City: State: Zip Code: 
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10.  Mailing Address of Establishment Operator (if different from address provided in Question 
9 above): 

 
City State: Zip Code: 

   
 
11. Telephone Number of Est. Operator:                   11b.  Email Address of Est. Operator 

   
 
12. Check one: 

I attach hereto copies of the Owner's or Operator's deed(s) to the premises at which the proposed 
exempt establishment is located as of May 1, 2010 to the date of this application.

 
-OR- 

I attach hereto copies of the Owner's or Operator's lease(s) to the premises at which the proposed 
exempt establishment is located as of May 1, 2010 to the date of this application.

 
13.  I attach hereto the following supporting documentation: 

Copy of the Tobacco Products Tax License for the establishment.  If your establishment 
does not have a Tobacco Products Tax License, you must provide valid proof that all state 
excise taxes on tobacco products have been paid.

 
 a. I verify that this license was acquired prior to April 1, 2010 _____.  (Please initial) 

 

Copies of the current certificates of occupancy for the premises at which the proposed exempt 
establishment is located as of April 1, 2010 to the date of this application. 

 
14. I attest that the proposed exempt establishment meets the following requirements (please 

initial): 
 

a. In the 30-day period immediately preceding May 1, 2010, the establishment generated 
10% or more of its total gross annual income from the on-site sale of cigars and the rental 
of on-site humidors.     

 
b. The cigar bar is located on premises that are physically separated from any areas of the 

same or adjacent establishment in which smoking is prohibited under the Smoke Free Air 
law and where smoke does not infiltrate into those nonsmoking areas.  For purposes of 
this Affidavit and under the Smoke Free Air law, I understand that “physically separated” 
means an area that is enclosed on all sides by any combination of solid walls, windows, 
or doors that extend from floor to ceiling.     

 
c. The cigar bar has installed on its premises an on-site humidor.    
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d. The cigar bar prohibits entry to a person under the age of 18 during the time the 

establishment is open for business.   
 

e. The cigar bar allows only the smoking of cigars on the premises that retail for over $1.00 
per cigar.   

 
f. The cigar bar prohibits the smoking of all other tobacco products.    

 
15. I understand that in order to qualify for this exemption, I must file an affidavit with the 

department on or before June 1, 2010 and after January 1 but before January 31 of each 
subsequent year. 

 
16. The primary purpose of the cigar bar is the smoking of cigars and the sale of cigars.   
 
17. I am aware that the information contained in this application is subject to reporting to and 

auditing by the State of Michigan Department of the Treasury, the Michigan Department of 
Community Health, or both. 

 
18.I swear this affidavit is true and understand that a person who makes a false statement in an 

affidavit under MCL 333.12611 is guilty of perjury under section 423 of the Michigan penal 
code, 1931 PA, MCL 750.423 and is subject to the penalties as set forth in this statute. 
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19. Signature of Owner or Operator   20. Date 

     
 
State of   
County of   
Subscribed and sworn to before me this 
  day of  , 20 . 
 
Notary Public of the State Of Michigan 
 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:  . By       

Notary Signature 
F

  

                                                 
  UFor Office Use Only: 
Application Received:     Application Reviewed On:   By:      
 

 Compliance    Non-Compliance (Action Needed) 
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