Healthy Homes Section
P.O. Box 30195
Lansing, MI 48909

Michigan Department or Health & Human Services Ph: 517-335-9390

Fax: 517-335-8800
Email: www.mi.gov/leadsafe

Lead Contractor Initial Certification Application

The Michigan Lead Abatement Act of 1998 requires that persons (firms) conducting lead-based paint (LBP) activities in the state
of Michigan must first obtain certification from the Michigan Department of Community Health, Healthy Homes Section (HHS).
Certification requires employment of [Michigan HHS] certified lead professionals for all lead-based paint activities, and that all
LBP activities shall be conducted in accordance with work practice standards established by the department. Certification must
be renewed annually, and the corresponding fee paid.

All reports or plans prepared by certified persons (firms) must be maintained for a minimum of three (3) years, and copies
provided to the person who contracted their services.

Please type or print in ink. lllegible applicatiomill delay processing. Contractor certification number: C-
(Number assigned by HHS)

1. Company Information

Company name:

Parent Company (f applicable):

Mailing address: Records
address
(if different)

City, State, Zip

Owner/chief officer Title
Telephone no: ( ) FAX no: ( )
Cell phone no: ( ) Federal ID number:
E-mail address: Application Date:
Month Day Year
2. Insurance
Does the company carry lead liability insurance? Not required for certification YES___ NO_
(Requirements for Insurance are made by the person or entity funding the project. (If “Yes”, please enclose a copy of insurance policy) certificate)

Copy of current Michigan Workers’ Compensation insurance policy or certificate of exclusion must be enclosed, unless you are a sole
proprietor, in which case no documentation is required regarding Workers’ Compensation Insurance.

3. Certification Fees Fees are non-refundable. All contractor certifications expire December 31* of each year. Annual renewal is $220.00.
Contractors will be notified by mail when it is time to renew.

New applicant December - May June - November | Fees enclosed $ (check or mon
order payable to ‘State of Michigan’)

Application fee $100.00 $100.00 Amount received  $

Certification fee $220.00 $110.00 Received by Date

Total $320.00 $210.00

Reverse side of this form must be completed
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4. Other Certifications, Licenses, and Enforcement History

1. List other states in which the company is licensed for lead-related work.

2. Areyou a licensed builder in the State of Michigan YES __ NO ____ If“YES” provide license number

3. Is the company licensed by the State of Michigan in another trade (asbestos abatement, home renovation, etc.)? YES __  NO

If yes, please list and enclose copies of each license.
Trade Licensing agency License no. Expiration

4. Within the last three years, have you been issued a license or certification by another state, Indian tribe or the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA)? YES NO If Yes, please enclose copies of registration/ license/ certification card or certificate.

5. Within the last three years, have you had a license or certification suspended, denied, modified, or revoked by any state, Indian tribe,
orUS.EPA? YES__ NO __ Explain on a separate sheet of paper if necessary.

6. If you, or your company, has received a violation or citation from a State or U.S. EPA has the fine been paid in full?
YES NO NO Citations Explain on a separate sheet of paper if necessary.

5. Certified Employees

Please list all employees who will be engaged in lead-based paint abatement activities. The employees must be certified as Lead
Abatement Workers or Lead Abatement Supervisors by the Michigan Department of Community Health, Healthy Homes Section to perform
abatement activities. The use of non-certified individuals in lead-based paint abatement activities is a violation of section 5470 of the
Michigan Lead Abatement Act and may result in citations and fines.
HHS Expiration
Full name Soc. Sec. no. Discipline certification no. date

6. Application Affidavit

I hereby certify that all information provided herein is true and complete to the best of my knowledge. | understand that falsification of any
information provided on this application will result in immediate denial or revocation of MDCH certification.

| also hereby agree that the company shall employ only appropriately certified employees to conduct any lead-based paint activities; and that
the company and its employees will follow the work practice standards established by the Michigan Lead Abatement Act of 1998, and
associated rules, and to comply with all applicable federal, state, and local regulations, ordinances, guidelines, and laws. Violation of any of
these may result in denial, suspension, or revocation of MDCH certification, and/or administrative citation and fines.

signature of Owner or Authorized Representative Date

(Print name) Title

Your company name and phone number will be added to the State of Michigan website for certification verification purposes.

Mail this application to: Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH)
(Make checks out to: State of Michigan) Accounting Division

PO Box 30437

Lansing, MI 48909
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