-Who is eligible to request a delayed registration of birth?

- -How to register a birth in the state of Michigan
- -The cost for registering a delayed birth record
- -Initial search for the record if there is no record filed
- -Requesting an application for a delayed registration of birth
- -Process after applying for a delayed registration of birth
- -How to expedite the process to create a delayed registration of birth
- -Why documentation is needed

-Process for establishing a delayed registration of birth without documentation

Who is eligible to request a delayed registration of birth?

- Q: Who is eligible to request a delayed registration of birth?
- A: The following individuals are eligible to request a delayed registration of Michigan birth:
 - Parent to be named on the record
 - Child to be named on the record if they are over the age of 18
 - Legal guardian of child
 - Legally licensed representative of the person or parent that will be listed on the record.

How to register a birth in the state of Michigan

- Q: I was born in the State of Michigan but my birth was never recorded. How do I get my birth registered in Michigan?
- A: The following are steps that must be completed before the birth can be recorded:
 - 1. A search for the birth record must be completed by the State Vital Records office. Please use the application for a certified copy of a Michigan birth record at Birth Record Application. You may also call 517-335-8656 to request that an application be mailed to you. When you submit the application, you will need to provide a current valid photo identification, the required fee, and the completed, signed application.
 - 2. If no birth record is found, you will receive an official no find letter and an application for a delayed registration of birth, along with instructions regarding the required documents needed to record the birth.
 - 3. Once you have received the delayed registration application, send the following to the State Vital Records office:
 - Completed Delayed Registration of Michigan birth application (signature must be notarized)
 - Documentation supporting the facts of birth:
 - Full name
 - Date of birth
 - Place of birth that includes State and City
 - o Gender
 - o Parent's full names including parent/mother's maiden name
 - Place of parent's birth
 - Valid, unexpired photo identification, such as a driver's license or state id
 - Check or money order made payable to State of Michigan for \$50.00

The cost for registering a delayed birth record

- Q: How much will it cost me to have a delayed registration of birth registered?
- A: The fee for the initial search to receive the official no find letter is currently \$34.00. If you want to expedite the request, there is an additional \$12.00 rush fee.

Once you receive the official no find letter and the application for a delayed registration of birth, the fee to process your request to establish a birth is \$50.00. There is no expedited process for a request of a delayed birth record due to the fact that all documentation submitted must be authenticated.

Initial search for the record if there is no record filed

- Q: If I already know that the birth record is not recorded, do I still need to request and pay for the search for the record?
- A: Yes, Michigan law requires that you have the statewide search completed and an official no find letter to apply for the delayed registration of birth.

Requesting an application for a delayed registration of birth

- Q: Where can I get the application for a delayed registration of birth?
- A: The application for a delayed registration of birth will not be available until you request a birth record and the vital records office issues an official no find letter. The application will then be mailed to the address specified on the application, along with the official no find letter. Specific instructions and a listing of acceptable documentation to assist you in applying for a delayed registration of birth will also be included.

Process after applying for a delayed registration of birth

- Q: When I apply for a delayed registration of birth, what happens next?
- A: Once the delayed registration of birth application is received, the specialist will review the application and verify that you have submitted all of the required items listed below:
 - Signed and notarized application for a delayed registration of birth
 - The required fee
 - Valid, unexpired photo identification of the eligible applicant
 - The official no find letter
 - Required documentation to verify facts of birth

If there are missing items, the specialist will send you a letter requesting the additional documents or additional fee, if needed.

Once the determination is made that the application and other requirements are complete, the request will be processed. This can take up to eight weeks to complete.

How to expedite the process to create a delayed registration of birth

Q: I need a birth certificate as soon as possible. How can I rush the process?

A: The only portion of the process that can be rushed to establish a delayed registration of Michigan birth is the official search for the birth record.

There is no rush service for establishing a delayed registration of Michigan birth. Since this process creates a new record that establishes citizenship, the changes specialist must verify that all the documentation submitted is valid before allowing it to be used to create the new record. This can take up to eight weeks to complete.

Why documentation is needed

- Q: Why do I need to provide documentation to establish my delayed registration of birth?
- A: Since a birth record is used to provide legal proof of citizenship, it is imperative that all the facts of birth are accurate. The documentation required by this process will enable the changes specialist to make the correct determinations.

Process for establishing a delayed registration of birth without documentation

- Q: How can I get a delayed registration of birth if I don't have the documentation needed?
- A: Once you have taken the first step and received the official no find letter, a changes specialist will be available to assist you. If the changes specialist determines that you do not have the documentation needed to support the minimum requirements for establishing a birth record, you will be issued an official denial letter, which, by law, is required. The \$50 fee is non-refundable.

At that point, the changes specialist will discuss various options with you and as a follow-up you will be sent a letter, along with all of your documents and additional instructions that explain the next process.