
Guidelines for Testing and Reporting 

Perinatal Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), Hepatitis B and Syphilis 
Physicians and other health care professionals providing medical treatment to pregnant women are required, at the time of initial prenatal 
screening and examination to test for HIV, hepatitis B and syphilis, unless the woman refuses to be tested or the physician deems the tests 
are medically inadvisable. (Per section 333.5123 of Michigan’s Public Health Code, Act No. 368 of the Public Acts of 1978, as amended).  
Health care facilities should have written policies and procedures as well as standing orders in place to ensure that HIV, hepatitis B and 
syphilis testing and counseling are components of a health care facility’s clinical pathways.  Written informed consent is required for HIV 
testing.  Written informed consent for HIV testing may be incorporated into a general consent form. Pregnant women should receive 
appropriate health education regarding prevention, transmission, access to clinical care, counseling and support services for HIV, hepatitis 
B and syphilis as a routine part of all prenatal care.  Additionally, women who test positive for HIV should receive education on HIV 
transmission through breastfeeding and be advised not to breastfeed. For more information on perinatal HIV testing, contact the National 
Perinatal HIV Consultation and Referral Service 1-888-448-8765 or MATEC Michigan 313-962-2000 locally. 

PRENATAL TESTING HIV HEPATITIS B SYPHILIS 
Women with NO available test result  
(Due to no prenatal care; no record of 
test result; refused testing; and women 
who present in the immediate 
postpartum period (24 hrs)) 

Test STAT with rapid or expedited point of 
care testing.   
 

Signed written informed consent for testing or 
signed declination of testing, if mom refuses 
testing, should be included in mom’s medical 
record. 

Test STAT  Test STAT  

Women in third trimester of 
pregnancy 
(All women in their third trimester of 
pregnancy) 

Test at 26-28 weeks gestation 
 

Testing all pregnant women at 26-28 weeks 
gestation, regardless of perceived risk and/or 
previous test result, is highly recommended. 

  

Women with negative test results 
who engage in behaviors that put 
them at high risk for infection  
(High risk behavioral factors:  women 
who use illicit drugs, have a sexually 
transmitted disease (STD) during 
pregnancy, have multiple sex partners 
during pregnancy, have an infected 
partner or a partner who has any high 
risk behaviors) 

Retest at 36 weeks gestation  
or at delivery  

 

Retest at 26-28 weeks gestation, and again at 36 
weeks gestation or at delivery, regardless of 
previous test results. 
 

Women who test Elisa (EIA) positive must have a 
Western Blot test to confirm HIV status.  Hospitals 
must have procedures in place to report the 
Western Blot test results and HIV status to all 
women they test.  

Retest in third 
trimester  
or at delivery  
 
Test all pregnant 
women before 36 
weeks gestation, or 
at delivery, 
regardless of previous 
test results. 

Retest in third 
trimester or at 
delivery  
 
Test all pregnant 
women before 36 
weeks gestation, 
or at delivery, 
regardless of 
previous test 
results. 

Maternal Treatment Offer the immediate initiation of appropriate 
antiretroviral prophylaxis, antepartum, 
intrapartum and/or at the onset of delivery on 
the basis of a reactive rapid or expedited HIV 
test result, without awaiting confirmation by 
Western Blot. 

Women who are 
HBsAg-negative but 
are at high risk of 
acquiring HBV should 
consider getting the 
hepatitis B vaccine 
series.   

Women who test 
positive for syphilis 
should receive 
penicillin. 

Infant Treatment For infants whose HIV exposure is unknown and 
who are in foster care, the person legally 
authorized to provide consent should be 
informed that rapid HIV testing is recommended 
for infants whose biological mothers have not 
been tested.   
 

HIV exposed infants should be started on 
(ZDV/AZT) prophylaxis , as close to the time of 
birth as possible, preferably within 6-12 hours of 
delivery.  Postnatal infant antiretroviral 
prophylaxis is recommended with 6 weeks of 
ZDV/AZT.  Hospitals must have mechanisms in 
place to: (1) provide ZDV/AZT in syrup form to 
HIV-exposed infants in-house and (2) ensure that 
ZDV/AZT syrup is available to the infant after 
discharge. 

All infants should 
receive hepatitis B 
vaccine; infants 
exposed at birth 
should receive the 
hepatitis B vaccine 
and the hepatitis B 
immune globulin 
(HBIG) within 12 hours 
of birth. 

Infants exposed to 
syphilis should be 
treated with 
penicillin shortly 
after birth. 

Documentation Testing, refusal to test, refusal to accept treatment, and a description of any required perinatal 
tests that were not performed for any reason, should be documented in the woman’s medical 
record.  All test results and treatment should be recorded in both the mom’s and the baby’s 
medical records, along with the date of testing, refusal, or result.   

 

HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B and Syphilis Reporting:  Women who test positive for HIV must be reported within 7 days, hepatitis B and/or syphilis 
must be reported within 24 hours of diagnosis or discovery to the local health department in the county in which the patient resides.        
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