
 

 

PART 6 - FEES 

PART 5 - INFORMATION NEEDED TO FIND BIRTH RECORD BEING REQUESTED 

APPLICATION FOR A NON–CERTIFIED COPY — MICHIGAN HEIRLOOM BIRTH RECORD 
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 

PART 1 - APPLICANT’S INFORMATION             PHOTO IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED  (See back for details)                               

PART 4 - ELIGIBILITY-Select the category that qualifies YOU to request/receive this Michigan birth record per MCL 333.2882 

 

For Accounting Use Only 

 □ Child or Parent named on the record □ Legal guardian of the person named on the record 
  Note: Only adoptive parents are eligible (if applicable)  Note: Copy of court documented guardianship papers required. 
 □ Legally licensed attorney of subject of the record □ Record at least 100 years old (no photo ID required) 
 □ Heir of the deceased person named on the record          
     • Relationship to decedent: ___________________________  Decedent’s name at time of death: _______________________________ 
     • State where death occurred: _______ (If not MI, you must provide a death certificate)   • Date of death (Year): ________________________ 

PART 3 - SELECT THE HEIRLOOM CERTIFICATE FORMAT     (Separate application required for each request) 

   Option 1                                Option 2                  Option 3                 Option 4           Option 5                    
 
 
 
 

 

 

   

         

              

 
 
 
 
 
Recipient Name (First and Last):        

Recipient Name (First and Last):        

 Quantity  _____  Quantity  _____    Quantity  _____      Quantity  _____         Quantity  _____

Total Number of Copies:  __________ 

I would like to purchase ______ (Quantity) gift certificate(s). Please indicate below the recipient's name(s) 
If more than two, please attach an additional page with the additional recipients’ names. (Please skip to Part 6) Option 6        

Applicant’s            State Driver’s License  
Name:    or Identification #           
 
Mailing Address:   City:    State:   Zip:   
 
Daytime Phone w/area code - Required:   Other Phone w/area code:   

By signing this application, I understand that I am agreeing to pay for a search of the State of Michigan Vital Records. This 
does not guarantee that a record will be found. 
 

Falsifying an application for a vital record and/or assuming the identity of another person is subject to criminal penalties (MCL 
333.2894(b) and 445.65). 
 
 ► Applicant’s Signature:   Date:   

        Current valid Government-issued photo ID required (see back for Alternative Documents) 

Date of Birth (mm, dd, year) Sex  □ Male    □ Female Place of Birth (hospital, city, county) 

Please include first/middle/last names at birth below: 
 
Full Name        
 
Mother’s Maiden Name:      
 
Father’s Name:        

Is the person named on the record adopted?   □ Yes □ No  
 
Full Name after adoption:       
 
Adopted Mother’s Name:       
 
Adopted Father’s Name:       

If the applicant’s current name is different than how their birth name appears on the record, provide info (required) 
 
  □ Marriage:  Place of Marriage (state)       Date of Marriage      
 
  □ Court Ordered New Legal Name (court order must be provided) First    Mid    Last     

Total copies or certificates from Part 2   
Times $40.00 per copy X $40.00  
 Total Fee = 

 
 
$ 

Redeeming Gift Certificate Number   Enclosed 

PART 2 - CERTIFICATION OF INFORMATION PROVIDED 



 

DCH-0569-BX-HEIR (Rev 5-16)  By Authority of MCL 333.2882(1)(a)(b) and MCL 333.2891(1-4)(8)  MS PUBLISHER  

PROCESSING TIME - HEIRLOOM BIRTH RECORDS 

The processing time for an heirloom birth record request 
will be approximately 4-5 weeks, depending on the volume 
of requests received. Same day service is not available. 

IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 
APPLYING IN PERSON OR BY MAIL FOR A 

NON-CERTIFIED MICHIGAN HEIRLOOM BIRTH RECORD 
* Please Send Photocopies - Not Original Documents *  

Under Michigan law, birth records are restricted documents.  To 
request an heirloom birth record, a current valid, government 
issued identification is required in order to establish eligibility 
(except for an unrestricted birth record that is at least 100 years 
old).  To protect you and the community from identity theft, we 
require a copy of the applicant’s government issued identification 
to be presented along with the application.  Individuals under the 
age of 15 cannot request a copy of their own birth record. 
 
At least one of the following ID’s is required: 
Current driver’s license with photo if unexpired, or expired 

less than one year and issued within the last five years 
Current state issued photo identification card unexpired, or 

expired less than 1 year and issued within the last 5 years 
Unexpired U.S. or foreign passport 
U.S. military photo identification or military dependent photo 

identification with current expiration date 
Employment identification with photo, accompanied by a 

current pay stub or W-2 form 
Department of Corrections photo identification card, 

accompanied by probation or discharge papers dated within 
last year 

 If a currently incarcerated prisoner, a Department of 
Corrections photo identification card, accompanied by a 
verification of incarceration by the facility on letterhead 

 For persons age 15-20, current student photo ID with either a 
report card or transcript 

 
Alternative documents can be submitted to be reviewed by a 
supervisor if a current, valid government issued ID is not 
available.  If you do not have one of the above, you will need 
to submit at least three of the following, and one MUST be 
dated within the last year.  Please note we cannot use a 
Social Security Card or junk mail. 
 
Expired state or federal photo ID, marriage or divorce certificate, 
child’s birth record, W-2, paycheck stub, bank statement, voter or 
car registration, health insurance/Medicaid card, state benefit 
card, utility bill, doctor/dentist/hospital bill, baptismal certificate, 
letter from a government agency such as Social Security or the 
IRS, numident letter or benefit statement from Social Security, 
school records, tax records, incarceration records or land/rental 
agreement. 
 
If you are still unable to provide any of the above-mentioned 
forms of identification, please contact the Michigan Vital 
Records Office at 517-335-8666 and speak with a customer 
service representative.   

APPLYING IN PERSON 

Heirloom birth records cannot be processed same-day.  
The application should be mailed to the address listed 
below.  Or, if you wish, you may come in to our Lansing 
office and drop off an application, and it will be processed 
and mailed to you within 4-5 weeks.   
 
Our office is located in the South Grand Building, 1st Floor, 
333 South Grand Avenue, Lansing MI 48933 (corner of 
Grand & Kalamazoo).  Lobby hours are 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. 
Directions are available by logging onto our website at: 
www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or by calling 517-335-8666. 
 
A money order, personal check, credit card or cash can be 
used at our front counter for requests.  Make checks and 
money orders payable to “State of Michigan”. 

PAYMENT INFORMATION 

SEARCH FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE:  Fees are 
established by state statute.  A basic one year search fee 
includes either one non-certified copy of the heirloom 
record or an official statement that the record is not filed 
with the state.  A basic statewide search includes the files 
for the year specified as the birth year. 

MAIL APPLICATION TO 

MAIL TO:   
Vital Records Requests                             
PO Box 30721                                 
Lansing MI 48909                                                  

www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords 
517-335-8666 

HEIRLOOM BIRTH RECORDS:  The State of Michigan issues non-certified heirloom birth certificates with your choice of 
five designs, signed by the current Governor. The five certificates are suitable for framing and are mailed encased in cardboard 
shields to ensure protection.  The certificates can be preserved as a family heirloom, but they are not intended as proof of birth.   
 
By purchasing an heirloom certificate, or a gift certificate, you are also contributing to the Michigan Children’s Trust Fund which 
was established in 1982.  The Fund serves as a voice for Michigan’s children and families, and promotes their health, safety 
and welfare by providing financial support for local programs and services that prevent child abuse and neglect.  For more 
information on the Children’s Trust Fund, please visit their website at http://www.michigan.gov/ctf  

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does 
not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, religion, 
age, national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, genetic 
information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, 
political beliefs or disability. 


