
FAQs relating to the Quality Assurance (QA) certification 
 

(Most recent update 6/11/2014) 
 
Questions: 
 
What is a QA certification? 

When does my QA expire? 

Can I renew or extend my current QA? 

Can I use my QA after September 3, 2014? 

Can I get in trouble for interpreting after September 3, 2014? 

If I had/have both a valid QA II or III and a job with a school on July 7th, do I lose my job on 
September 3, 2014?   

 
 
 
Answers: 
 
What is a QA certification? 
The QA, or Quality Assurance, certification refers to an outdated interpreter assessment system 
that the Division on Deaf and Hard of Hearing utilized in the past.  The Division discontinued its 
use of the assessment system several years ago, but has been permitting those who held QA 
certification at that time to renew it annually until such time as the rules passed and the 
certification itself was no longer to be recognized.  That has now taken place.   
 
When does my QA expire? 
Pursuant to recently promulgated Michigan Administrative Rule 393.21(1)(a)(I), the QA 
certification will not be recognized in this state after September 3, 2014.  The Division has 
extended until September 3rd all QA’s that were valid on June 4, 2014 (the date the rules passed) 
and would have expired prior to September 3, 2014.  ALL Michigan QA certifications thus 
expire on September 3, 2014. 
 
Can I renew or extend my current QA? 
If it expired prior to September 3, 2014, your QA has been extended until September 3, 2014. 
You will not be able to extend or renew your QA beyond September 3, 2014.  
  
Can I use my QA after September 3, 2014? 
No.  Your QA certification will no longer qualify you for employment as an interpreter.   It 
cannot be accepted by an appointing authority and you may not in any way hold yourself out as a 
“qualified interpreter.”     
  



Can I get in trouble for interpreting after September 3, 2014? 
If you do not have at least one of the “acceptable certifications listed in Rule 21, and your   
Michigan Common Law Section 393.508b provides: “(1) A person who knows that he or she 
does not meet the definition of qualified interpreter under this act and misrepresents himself or 
herself as a qualified interpreter is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not 
more than 90 days or a fine of not less than $500.00 or more than $1,000.00, or both.” 
 
If I had/have both a valid QA II or III and a job with a school on July 7th, do I lose my job on 
September 3, 2014?   
Possibly not.  Pursuant to Rule 26(6), a QA II or III who on or before July 7, 2014 has been hired 
by a  school for the 2014-15 school year, may continue to perform the duties of that job until the 
end of the school year.  A person employed pursuant to this provision holds his or her position as 
an exception to the rule’s requirement that that the position be held by a qualified interpreter.  No 
such exception is provided for the QA I certification.   
  
 




