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January 26, 2012 
 
 
MEMORANDUM 
 
TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents and Public School 

Academy Directors 
 
FROM: Carol Wolenberg, Deputy Superintendent 
 
SUBJECT: Bullying Policies 
 
On December 6, 2011, Matt’s Safe School Law (MCL 380.1310b) was signed into law by 
Governor Snyder.  The law requires that not later than six months after the effective 
date of the legislation, the board of a local education agency (LEA) or intermediate 
school district (ISD) or board of directors of a public school academy (PSA) shall adopt 
and implement a policy prohibiting bullying.  This act further requires that not later 
than 30 days after adopting this policy, the board or board of directors shall submit a 
copy of its policy to the Michigan Department of Education (MDE).  An application, titled 
“Anti-Bullying Policy,” is currently available in the Michigan Electronic Grant System 
Plus (MEGS+) for the submission of these policies.  No other form of submission will be 
accepted. 
 
If the LEA, ISD, or PSA is adopting an existing policy which contains all of the required 
components in the law, it must be submitted in the MEGS+ system no later than 
February 6, 2012.  If a new or updated policy will be adopted, at least one public 
hearing must be held by the board or board of directors before its adoption.  It must 
then be submitted in MEGS+ no later than 30 days after adoption, or June 6, 2012, 
whichever is first.   
 
The LEA, ISD, or PSA may view the Michigan State Board of Education’s Model Anti-
Bullying Policy template, which includes all of the required and encouraged components 
in the law, at:    
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/SBE_Model_AntiBullying_Policy_Revised_9.8
_172355_7.pdf. 
 
Questions regarding the content of this memo may be directed to Jill Byelich in the 
Coordinated School Health and Safety Programs Unit at byelichj1@michigan.gov or  
(517) 373-3623. 
 
cc:  Michigan Education Alliance 
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