
State of Michigan Permit Number for School Use 

(optional) Combined Offer of Employment and Work Permit/Age Certificate 
CA-7 for minors 16 and 17 years of age 

Employer Information: 
- The employer must have a completed work permit form on file before a minor begins work. 
- The employer must provide competent adult supervision at all times. 
- The employer of the minor must comply with federal, state, and local laws and regulations including nondiscrimination against any  
   applicant or employee because of race, color, religion, national origin or ancestry, age, gender, height, weight, marital status, or disability. 
- The employer must return the work permit to the issuing officer upon termination of the minor’s employment. 

Directions: Please type or print using an ink pen.   See back of this form for summary of requirements. 

Section I: To be Completed by Minor Applicant and Parent/Guardian 
Name of Minor: Address: City: ZIP: 

 
Age: Date of Birth  Month/Day/Year: 

 

Last Four Digits of Social Security Number: Contact Telephone Number for Minor: 

Name of School (present or last attended): Address: City: ZIP: 
 

School Status (check one):    [     ] in school    [     ] left school    [     ] home schooled 
Last Grade Completed: 

Signature of Minor: 
(x) 

Name of Parent/Guardian (circle one): Parent/Guardian Telephone: 

 
Section II:  To be Completed by the Employer - Offer of Employment 
Name of Business: Address: City: ZIP: 

Earliest Starting Time a.m./p.m.: Latest Ending Time a.m./p.m.: Hours per Day: Number of Days per Week: Total Hours of Employment per 
Week:  

Applicant’s Job Title: Hourly Wage: Job Duties/Tasks to be Performed by Minor:  Equipment/Tools to be Used by Minor: 

Will the minor be working under an existing hours deviation granted by the Michigan Wage & Hour Division?     [   ] No     [   ] Yes   
If yes, attach a copy of the approved Michigan hours deviation and retain parent/guardian consent at the work site. 

Signature of Employer: 
(x) 

Title: Telephone: Date: 

 
Section III: To be Completed by School’s Issuing Officer – Must be Signed by the Issuing Officer to be Valid 

Evidence of Age Confirmed by (issuing officer checks one): 
Number of Hours in 
School per Week, when 
School is in Session: 

[   ] Birth Certificate [   ] Certificate of Arrival in the U.S.  
[   ] Driver’s License [   ] Hospital Record of Birth 

[   ] School Record [   ] Baptismal Certificate 

Number of Hours able to 
Work while Attending 
School: 

This is to certify that: 
 (1) the minor personally appeared before me, 
 (2) this form was properly completed, 
 (3) listed job duties are in compliance with state and 
       federal laws and regulations, 
 (4) listed hours are in compliance with state and  
       federal laws and regulations, 
 (5) this form was signed by student and employer, 
       and I authorize the issuance of this work permit. [   ] Other (describe)  

 

Name of School District: 

Address: 

Printed Name of Issuing Officer:  Title: 

City, State, ZIP: 

Telephone Number:  

Signature of Issuing Officer: 
 
 
 
(x) 

Issue Date: 

Form CA-7 (revised 6/2010) Combined Offer of Employment & Work Permit and Age Certificate       Must Print on Yellow Paper. 
Instructions for completing CA-7 must be printed on back of form for form to be valid. 



Summary of Requirements 
CA-7 MICHIGAN WORK PERMIT AND AGE CERTIFICATE 

 
Who Needs a CA-7 Work Permit?  A minor who is 16 or 17 years of age and not specifically exempted from the Youth Employment 
Standards Act (P.A. 90 of 1978).  This completed form permits a minor to be employed only by the employer and at the location listed in 
Section II.  Employers must complete a CA-7 for minors who start employment at 16 years of age.  CA-7 Work Permits are valid until a minor 
turns 18 or graduates, as long as the minor works for the same employer. Home schooled students must be issued a work permit from an 
authorized issuing officer.  Additionally, 16 or 17 year olds currently not attending school who have not met the requirements of graduation, or 
have not obtained a GED, or have not been emancipated by court order must secure a work permit from an authorized issuing officer. 

Who Issues the Work Permit?  The issuing officer is the chief administrator of a school district, intermediate school district, public school 
academy, or nonpublic school, or a person authorized by that chief administrator, in writing, to act on his/her behalf.  A work permit may be 
issued by the school the minor attends, the school district where the minor resides, or the district where the minor will be employed. 

Employment of Minors: A person under 18 years of age shall not be employed in, about, or in connection with an occupation which is 
hazardous or injurious to the minor’s health or personal well-being or which is contrary to standards established by state and federal acts, i.e., 
construction, slicers, motor vehicle operation, power-driven machinery.  The minimum age for employment is 14 years except that a minor 11 
years of age or older may be employed as a golf or bridge caddy or youth athletic program referee, and a minor 13 years of age or older may 
be employed in some farming occupations or as a trap-setter.  Adult supervision is required.   

Instructions for Completing and Issuing: 
  

1. The Minor obtains the CA-7 from the Issuing Officer of their school district and completes Section I. 
2. The Minor takes the form to the prospective Employer who completes Section II. 
3. The Issuing Officer verifies the age of Minor using the best available evidence and ensures compliance with state and federal laws 

and regulations. 
4. The Work Permit is issued by the Issuing Officer signing and dating the form in Section III. 
5. The Issuing Officer makes a copy for the school file and gives the original to the Minor to return to the Employer. 
6. The Minor returns the completed original form to the Employer before beginning work. 

 
The failure or refusal to issue a work permit by the school may be appealed by the minor in accordance with Public Act 306 of 1969. 

Employer’s Responsibilities: The issuance of a work permit does not authorize employment of minors contrary to state or federal laws and 
regulations. 

 Must have a completed work permit form before a minor begins work. 
 Shall keep the original work permit form and any approved deviation with parental consent on file at the place of employment. 
 Must provide competent adult supervision at all times. 
 Must comply with federal, state, and local laws and regulations including nondiscrimination against any applicant or employee because of 

race, color, religion, national origin or ancestry, age, gender, height, weight, marital status, or disability. 
 Records required by Public Act 90 of 1978, as amended, will be maintained and made available for inspection by an authorized 

representative of the department. 
 Must return the work permit to the issuing officer upon termination of the minor’s employment. 
 Must post required work place posters at work site; posters may be downloaded at www.michigan.gov/wagehour.   

Issuing Officer’s Responsibilities: A copy of the CA-7 and any Michigan Department of Labor & Economic Growth deviation forms shall be 
filed in the minor’s permanent school file.  Work permits shall not be issued if the work is hazardous, information is incomplete, or if the minor’s 
employment is in violation of state or federal laws and regulations. 

Hours of Work: Minors 16 years of age and older may work: 
1. 6 days in 1 week. 
2. A weekly average of 8 hours per day. 
3. 10 hours in one day. 
4. 48 hours in 1 week, school and work combined. 
5. Not more than 5 hours continuously without a 30 minute uninterrupted meal or rest period. 
6. Between 6:00 a.m. and 10:30 p.m. 
7. Until 11:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday, and when not regularly attending school, i.e., summer vacation.   

Hours Deviations:  At any time an employer may apply through the Michigan Wage & Hour Division for a General Hours or an Individual 
Hours Deviation allowing the minor to work beyond the legal hours of employment allowed by the act.   

Michigan Youth Employment Standards Act (P.A. 90 of 1978): For information about the law, rules, and regulations contact the Michigan 
Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth, Wage & Hour Division; PO Box 30476, Lansing, MI, 48909, phone 517/322-1825, 
www.michigan.gov/wagehour or for questions regarding work permits; contact the Office of Career and Technical Education, PO Box 30712, 
Lansing, MI, 48909, phone 517/373-3373, www.michigan.gov/octe and click on ‘Instructional Programs’, then select ‘Work Based Learning 
Guide For Risk Management’ and go to section 6. 

Federal Fair Labor Standards Act: For information about federal child labor provisions contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and 
Hour Division, at 1-866-4USWAGE or www.youthrules.dol.gov.  

Revocation of Permit: A permit may be revoked by the school issuing officer if: (1) poor school attendance results in a level of school work 
lower than that prior to beginning employment or (2) the Michigan Department of Labor & Economic Growth/U.S. Department of Labor informs 
the school of an employer’s violations of state or federal laws or regulations.  Any minor who has a permit revoked shall be informed of the 
appeal process by the school. 

www.michigan.gov/wagehour
www.michigan.gov/wagehour
http://www.michigan.gov/octe
http://www.youthrules.gov/

