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OSE-EIS 11-03
MEMORANDUM

TO: Intermediate School District (ISD) Directors of Special Education
Local Educational Agency Special Education Contacts
Public School Academy Administrators

FROM: Eleanor E. White, Ph.D., Director
Office of Special Education and Early I ntion Services

SUBJECT: Reminders for Correctly Reporting Special Education Data

The purpose of this memorandum is to assist districts in correctly reporting data for
students with individualized education programs (IEPs) and special education personnel.
There have been several changes made to data reporting requirements and data collection
systems, so the following information will help to ensure accurate and complete data
reporting.

2011 Child Count of Students with IEPs

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act of 2004 (IDEA 2004) requires states to
submit an annual count of students who have an active IEP. Due to recent state
legislation, beginning in 2011, the special education Child Count will be combined with the
Fall 2011 Michigan Student Data System (MSDS) General Collection. October 5, 2011, is
the count date and the local district will now certify special education data. We encourage
ISD special education directors to work closely with their local districts to report accurate
and complete special education data in a timely manner. The ISD will continue to have
viewer rights for its constituent districts.

The district providing special education programs and/or services should report and certify
their special education data. If an ISD is the special education provider, then ISD
personnel should report and certify the special education data.

Reporting Educational Environment Data for Three Through Five Year-Olds

The United States Office of Management and Budget now requires all districts to report
the number of hours children ages three through five spend per week in a regular early
childhood program (at least 10 hours/less than 10 hours), and where the child receives
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the majority of hours of special education and related services (in a regular early
childhood setting/in some other location). These changes affect the reporting of data in
the Primary Educational Setting Characteristic for three through five year-olds in the 2011
Child Count of Students with IEPs.

For more information on the new requirements, please see the Michigan Department of
Education Memorandum issued on June 10, 2010, or contact Noel Cole at
(517) 241-6354, or via e-mail at ColeN@michigan.gov.

In addition, when reporting the primary educational setting of students 6 to 26 years of
age with IEPs who were expelled and are being served at home, use code “07” (Parentally
Placed in Private School or Home School at Private/Parent Expense).

Changes to Special Education Characteristics in the Fall 2011 MSDS General Collection

- IEP Date Characteristic: When reporting the date an IEP review was completed,
use the date of the district’s offer of a Free Appropriate Public Education. This
clarification has been added to the Characteristic. When a student moved from one
district to another, use the date of the most recent IEP until the new district
develops a new IEP (if a new IEP is developed).

Note that when a student with an IEP transfers in from another school district with
an IEP that is out-of-date (more than a year old), the receiving district must
immediately complete a review of the student’s existing IEP.

- Result of Initial IEP Characteristic: Code “03” (Student was Found Eligible, Services
Refused) can now be used for public school students evaluated and found eligible
for special education services, but the parent or guardian refused special education
programs and/or services.

- Discipline Component: The Disciplinary Incident and Disciplinary Consequence
Components have been combined into one component. When reporting the Incident
ID, do not use the same Incident ID for events occurring on separate days. When
reporting the Disciplinary Consequence(s), you can report up to three consequences
(e.g., in-school suspension, unilateral removal for drugs, expulsion, for a given
incident). Do not report discipline data on a student until all consequences for the
disciplinary incident have been determined.

Reporting Data in the Registry of Educational Personnel

Use the legal name for all educational personnel. For example, if a teacher’s last nhame
changes due to marriage, report the new last name.

If you have any questions, please contact Darren Warner at (517) 241-0786, or e-mail
him at warnerd@michigan.gov. Thank you for your commitment to providing accurate and
complete data on students with IEPs.
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