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Resources needed:  
 Chalkboard or some manner for recording and displaying student 

responses  

 Copies of exhibit cards or method for displaying them to the class  

Setting the Context  

Facilitator says: “Today, we are going to study and compare different fine 
systems that states use to calculate the cost of speeding tickets for drivers 

who go over the speed limits. Each state determines its own rules for 
calculating the cost of speeding tickets.”  

Modeling a Process  

Facilitator distributes Exhibit Card 1.  

Facilitator says: “On this card, you have the speeding fine system for one 
county in Massachusetts. Take a minute to look at the system on Exhibit 

Card 1.”  

Exhibit Card 1  

Massachusetts Speeding Fines 

Excess Speed Fine 

1-10 mph  $100 flat charge  

11 mph or more  $100 flat charge plus $10 for each 
additional mph above the first 10 

mph  
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Facilitator asks: “Let’s discuss some of the terms that appear on the 
exhibit card. What does MPH stand for?” [Wait for responses]  

Facilitator says: “MPH stands for miles per hour.”  

Facilitator asks: “What does excess speed mean?” [Wait for responses] 

Facilitator says: “It is the number of miles per hour over the speed limit.”  

Facilitator says: “For example: Driving 46 mph in a 30 mph zone = 16 

mph over the speed limit. So the excess speed is 16 mph.”  

Facilitator asks: “What is a fine?” [Wait for responses]  

Facilitator says: “A fine is a penalty that a person must pay to the state for 

breaking a law.”  

Facilitator asks: “What is a flat charge?” [Wait for responses.]  

Facilitator says: “A flat charge is a single fixed amount or cost that a 

person pays for speeding, regardless of the speed he or she is driving over 
the speed limit. For example, the fine for a speeding ticket for an excess 

speed of 2 mph is the same as the fine for an excess speed of 7 mph.” 

Facilitator says: “The fine in Massachusetts is calculated by determining 

how many miles per hour in excess of the speed limit a driver was traveling 
and then looking up the fine associated with that range of excess MPH.”  

Facilitator asks: “The fine in Massachusetts is calculated by adding the flat 

charge of $100 for the first 10 miles per hour over the speed limit and $10 
for each mile per hour above the initial 10.” 

Facilitator says: “What would be the fine for a driver who is going 14 miles 

per hour over the speed limit in Massachusetts?” [Wait for responses; then 
on projector or chalkboard display  

“$100 (for the first 10 mph over the speed limit)  
+ 4 $10 (for 4 additional mph over the speed limit)  

= $140”] 

Facilitator asks: “The fine would be $140.” 

Facilitator says: “What would be the fine for a driver who is going 9 miles 

per hour over the speed limit?” [Wait for responses.] 
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Facilitator says: “It would be $100.” 

Facilitator says: "Now we will take a look at the systems that Utah, Florida, 

and New York use.” 

Facilitator distributes Exhibit Cards 2, 3, and 4. 

Exhibit Card 2 

Florida Speeding Fines 

Utah Speeding Fines 

Excess Speed Fine 

1–10 mph $90 

11–15 mph $115 

16–20 mph $165 

21 – 25 mph $240 

26 – 30 mph $340 

31 mph or more $440 plus $10 for every mph over 31 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Exhibit Card 3 

 
 
 

 

Excess Speed Fine 

1– 9 mph $80.50 

10–14 mph $155.50 

15–19 mph $180.50 

20 – 29 mph $205.50 

31 mph or more $305.50 
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Exhibit Card 4 

New York Speeding Fines 

Excess Speed Minimum Fine Maximum Fine 

1– 10 mph $45 $150 

11–30 mph $90 $300 

31 mph or more $180 $600 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The amount of the fine is determined by a court but must be within the ranges shown in the table. 

 

Facilitator says: “Take two minutes to look at the systems on Exhibit Cards 
2, 3, and 4." [Wait two minutes.]  

 

Facilitator asks: “What are some of the similarities and differences 
between the fine systems used by these states?” [Wait for responses.]  

 
[Similarities may include: fines increase for higher speeds, all have different 

rules for different excess speeds, there are some speeds where the fine 
doesn’t increase even though the speed does, etc.]  

 
[Differences may include: some states have higher fines than other states 

for the same excess speed, fines in New York are decided by the court, each 
state has a different number of speed ranges for fines, etc.]  

 
Facilitator says: “Now we will use some examples to compare the fines 

drivers would pay for speeding in each of the states.”  
Facilitator displays Table 1 on projector or chalkboard.  
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Table 1 

Example Massachusetts Utah Florida New York 

Driving 76 mph in a 65 

mph zone 
$110 $115 $155.50 $90 – $300  

Driving 39 in a 35 mph 

zone 
$100 $90 $80.50 $45 – $150 

 

Facilitator says: “Table 1 lists the fine in each state for going a certain 
speed with a given speed limit. As you can see, the fine for speeding in each 

state can vary quite a bit, but each state, except New York, has a specific 
fine for each excess speed.”  

 
Facilitator says: “Since the New York system is so different, let’s take a 

closer look at it. In New York, it is possible that two people could be fined 
different amounts for driving the same excess speed.”  

 
Facilitator says: “The minimum fine is the lowest amount a driver can be 

fined for going a certain excess speed, and the maximum fine is the highest 
amount a driver can be fined for going a certain excess speed.”  

 
Facilitator asks: “Why might the court decide to give different fines to 

different people for going the same speed over the speed limit?” [Wait for 

responses; then introduce examples if needed: previous speeding tickets, 
driving conditions, causing injury to others, proximity to a school.]  

 
Facilitator says: “You have seen some of the systems states use to 

determine fines for speeding tickets. Now you will work on a Speeding Ticket 
task where you will continue to analyze fine systems used to calculate fines 

for speeding tickets.”  
 

You may begin the associated Speeding Ticket Performance Task. 
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Exhibit Card 1 

Massachusetts Speeding Fines 

Excess Speed Fine 

1-10 mph  $100 flat charge  

11 mph or more  $100 flat charge plus $10 for each 

additional mph above the first 10 

mph  
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Exhibit Card 2 

Utah Speeding Fines 

Excess Speed Fine 

1–10 mph $90 

11–15 mph $115 

16–20 mph $165 

21 – 25 mph $240 

26 – 30 mph $340 

31 mph or more $440 plus $10 for every mph over 31 
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Exhibit Card 3 

Florida Speeding Fines 

Excess Speed Fine 

1– 9 mph $80.50 

10–14 mph $155.50 

15–19 mph $180.50 

20 – 29 mph $205.50 

31 mph or more $305.50 
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Exhibit Card 4 

New York Speeding Fines 

Excess Speed Minimum Fine Maximum Fine 

1– 10 mph $45 $150 

11–30 mph $90 $300 

31 mph or more $180 $600 

 

 The amount of the fine is determined by a court but must be within the ranges shown in the table. 
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Table 1 

Example Massachusetts Utah Florida New York 

Driving 76 mph in a 65 

mph zone 
$110 $115 $155.50 $90 – $300  

Driving 39 in a 35 mph 

zone 
$100 $90 $80.50 $45 – $150 
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