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LOGGING YOUR DISTRICT PROVIDED PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT IN THE 

MICHIGAN ONLINE EDUCATOR CERTIFICATION SYSTEM 

District Provided Professional Development (DPPD) is the professional development offered by 
a Local Education Agency (LEA) in order to fulfill the requirements of Michigan Compiled Law 
(MCL) Section 380.1527.  This legislation requires LEAs to offer five (5) days of teacher 
professional development annually.  Public or non-public schools, public school academies, or 
intermediate school districts can offer DPPD. 

DPPD is logged into the Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS) as part of the 
application process for certificate renewal or progression to the Professional Education 
Certificate.  Note:  DPPD cannot be used for Provisional Certificate renewal.  To enter your 
DPPD and apply for certification, complete the following steps: 

1. Log into your MOECS account at: www.michigan.gov/moecs. 

2. Click on the “View/Update Professional Learning” navigation button on the left side of 
the screen and then the “District Provided PD” tab.  

3. Enter each DPPD activity and complete all required information.  Before you enter 
the DPPD ensure that each item meets ALL of the following criteria: 

 A category for the DPPD must be selected; pick the one that seems most 
applicable. 
 The title of the DPPD MUST be specific.  DPPD that is identified as “PD”, 
“Professional Learning,” or a similar generic term will be disqualified. 
 DPPD must have been earned within the prior 5 years of the application and 
after the issue date on the most recently issued certificate. 
 DPPD must be appropriate for the endorsements and grade levels of the 
certificate. 
 If you are employed by a nonpublic school, and that school is not in the drop 
down school selection field, it means the private school has NOT agreed to 
allow professional learning to be used as DPPD.  Educators should contact the 
school/district for additional information.   

4. Click the “Totals” tab to verify the professional learning (college credits, State 
Continuing Education Clock Hours [SCECHs], and/or DPPD) in the system meets the 
150 hour requirement.  One semester credit hour is equivalent to 25 clock hours. 

5. Print the log of DPPD hours you entered in MOECS using your computer’s print 
screen function.  

6. Complete your section of the form entitled- DISTRICT PROVIDED PROFESSIONAL 
DEVELOPMENT (DPPD) RECORD FOR CERTIFICATE RENEWAL OR 
PROGRESSION TO A PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION CERTIFICATE. You will   
need a form for each school year you are claiming DPPD.  This is the only form     
that may be used to verify DPPD. This form is available in three places:   
1. Click the “DPPD tab” within MOECS and scroll down to the bottom of the     

screen, OR 
2.  Click the “Forms” navigation bar on the left side of the MOECS homepage; OR 
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3. Retrieve the form from the OPPS website at: 
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/DPPD_ADDENDUM_7_387885_7.doc.    

7. Attach the DPPD form for the appropriate school year to the DPPD log(s) printed 
from MOECS in Step 5.  

8. Delete any DPPD that the district will not verify with a signature/initials. Ensure that 
the total still reaches 150. 

9.  Submit the DPPD form(s) with the DPPD log(s) to your Principal/School Designee for 
the required verification and signature.  It is your responsibility to consult with your 
school district on the appropriate person to sign the DPPD form(s) and initial the 
DPPD log(s).  A private/non-public school that has not agreed in writing to have their 
DPPD audited CANNOT sign off on your form(s). 

You will be asked to submit the signed DPPD form(s) and initialed DPPD log(s) to the 
Office of Professional Preparation Services during the application process if you are 
progressing to the Professional/Occupational certificate.   

If you are renewing a Professional/Occupational certificate, you will retain the DPPD 
form(s) and DPPD log(s) in case of audit. 

10. You may not apply to progress/renew your certificate until the DPPD forms have been 
signed and the DPPD log(s) have been initialed by your school district.  The 
application for progressing/renewing a certificate is found by clicking on the 
navigation button on the left entitled “Apply for Educator Certificate or Renewal” in 
MOECS.  Then, click on the dropdown and select “Teacher Certificate or Renewal of 
teaching certificate” and continue completing the application.  Print the applicant 
cover sheet as directed and submit the required documentation for educators 
progressing to a Professional/Occupational certificate. 

11. Once the application has been submitted, you will receive an email with a link to pay 
for your certificate with a credit/debit card.   

12. Individuals progressing to a Professional/Occupational certificate, will be placed in 
line to be evaluated after paying and submitting the required documentation.  When 
the evaluation is completed, an email notification requesting additional 
documentation OR approving the application will be sent.  Once approved, the 
certificate can be printed in MOECS by clicking on the navigation button entitled 
“Print Certificate.” 

12. Individuals renewing a Professional/Occupational Certificate, can print the 
certificate in MOECS immediately after submission by clicking on the navigation 
button entitled “Print Certificate”.  Please retain your professional learning records 
for audit purposes. 

All certificates must be signed and notarized by a Notary Public before they become valid.   
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