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September 15, 2011 

 
MEMORANDUM 

 
TO:  Local Education Agency (LEA) Superintendents  

Intermediate School District Superintendents  
Public School Academy Administrators  
High School Principals 

 

FROM: Sally Vaughn, Ph.D.  

  Deputy Superintendent/Chief Academic Officer 
 

SUBJECT: Dual Enrollment Payments 
 

 
 “The Postsecondary Enrollment Options Act (1996 PA 160) and the Career and 
Technical Preparation Act (2000 PA 258), require school districts to support dual 

enrollment for pupils in grades 11 and 12….” 
 

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) has recently updated guidance for  the 
Postsecondary Enrollment Options Act required expenses.  Question 18 in the 

frequently asked questions (FAQ) 
(http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/DUAL_ENROLLMENT_FAQ_362718_7.pdf) 
now includes a section on trimesters and a requirement to provide funding for 

textbooks if the student is taking the college course for high school credit only.  
 

Thank you for your timely cooperation with this vital aspect of the education and 
future of our Michigan youth.  Questions can be directed to Sam Sinicropi in the Office 
of Education Improvement and Innovation, at 517-241-6895, or email to 

SinicropiS@michigan.gov. 
 

 
Attachment 
cc: Michigan Education Alliance 
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Dual Enrollment FAQ’s 
 

18. Q:  Exactly what costs are school districts required to pay? 

 
A:  State law requires that all school districts pay a student’s tuition and mandatory 
course fees, including technology fees, materials fees, registration fees, and any 

late fees charged by the postsecondary institution.  Beginning in the 2011-2012 
school year, eligible students enrolling in a postsecondary course for high 
school credit only shall have the costs of required textbooks paid for by the 

school district.  Eligible charges do not include transportation, parking costs, or 
most activity fees.  However, under the law, the total amount of tuition and fee 
support shall not exceed either of the following: 

 
 The total amount of the tuition and fees for the course(s) 

 The sum of the state portion of the district’s foundation allowance, per 

membership pupil, adjusted for the proportion of the school year that the 
student attends the postsecondary institution 

 

For example: 
 
SEMESTERS:  

Student’s state portion of the foundation allowance for a school year might be $6,000 
per year and $3,000 per semester.  If the high school has a 6-hour day, each hour 
would equate to $500.00 per course ($3,000 ÷ 6).  Therefore, the local district would 

be responsible for the actual charge for tuition and fees for the college courses up to 
the amount of $500.00, or the actual amount charged by the postsecondary 
institution, whichever is less.  Full Time Equivalency (FTE) calculations are based on 

the total number of both high school and college courses, equaling 100 percent of 
enrolled time, or FTE. 
 

TRIMESTERS:  
Student’s state portion of the foundation allowance for a school year might 
be $6,000 per year and $2,000 per trimester.  If the high school has a 5 hour 

day, each hour would equate to $600.00 per course ($6,000/15 X 1.5).   (15 
is the number of courses per year, 1.5 is the multiplier used to convert from 
trimesters to semesters).   Therefore, the local district would be responsible 

for the actual charge for tuition and fees for the college courses up to the 
amount of $600.00, or the actual amount charged by the postsecondary 

institution, whichever is less.  Full Time Equivalency (FTE) calculations are 
based on the total number of both high school and college courses, equaling 
100 percent of enrolled time, or FTE.  

 
Should the total number of both high school and college courses not equal 100 
percent of enrolled time (including travel and course lab time), the per course rate 

would be adjusted accordingly. 

 
 


