

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING



MICHAEL P. FLANAGAN SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION

JENNIFER M. GRANHOLM GOVERNOR

March 18, 2010

MEMORANDUM

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents Public School Academy Directors and Authorizers Curriculum Directors

FROM: Sally Vaughn, Ph.D. Deputy Superintendent/Chief Academic Officer

SUBJECT: Statewide Literacy Plan

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is currently forming a State Literacy Leadership Team (MiLitTeam) to develop and design a comprehensive Statewide Literacy Plan (MiLitPlan). The Literacy Plan will inform Michigan's work with literacy pre-K through adult education and position the department to develop competitive grant applications to improve literacy. A Statewide Literacy Plan and the formation of a State Literacy Leadership Team, representative of key stakeholders and professional organizations, are required in the proposed Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Title I legislation (LEARN Act).

The Office of Education Improvement and Innovation (OEII) has recently requested recommendations of literacy professionals to serve on the MiLitTeam. These requests were sent to selected ISDs and LEAs, organizations from the Educational Alliance Network including literacy organizations, and major universities. Participants will be invited to represent the state geographically, by grade level, and by literacy expertise from the list of recommendations received from the field. While all participants recommended will not be able to participate in the May planning meetings, educators in the state will have the opportunity to review and provide feedback to shape and inform the development of the Statewide Literacy Plan in summer 2010. OEII will rollout the Literacy Plan in fall 2010.

If you have questions or need more information, please contact Ruth Isaia, English Language Arts Consultant, at 517/373-2590 or <u>isaiar@michigan.gov</u>.

c: William Mayes, MASA David Martell, MSBO Dan Quisenbery, MAPSA Billie Wimmer, MCCSA Kathy Hayes, MASB

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

KATHLEEN N. STRAUS – PRESIDENT • JOHN C. AUSTIN – VICE PRESIDENT CAROLYN L. CURTIN – SECRETARY • MARIANNE YARED MCGUIRE – TREASURER NANCY DANHOF – NASBE DELEGATE • ELIZABETH W. BAUER REGINALD M. TURNER • CASANDRA E. ULBRICH