	APPLICATION FOR PERFORMING ARTS AUTHORIZATION

	MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
	

	Office of Career and Technical Education
	FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

	Mailing Address:
	***SUBMIT at least 10 business days PRIOR TO
	Approval Date:
	

	P.O. Box 30712
	Rehearsal and/or Performance start date***
	Expiration Date:
	

	Lansing, MI 48909
	
	
	

	Telephone#:  (517) 335-6041
Facsimile#: (517) 373-8776

www.michigan.gov/octe
	
	
	

	****PLEASE NOTE: INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED****


	Authority:  1978 PA 90, as amended, MCL 409.101, et seq., and Youth Employment Standards Administrative Rules
Completion:  Mandatory

Penalty:  Misdemeanor and/or Felony
	It is the policy of the Michigan Department of Education that no person on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin or ancestry, age, sex, height, weight, marital status, or disability shall be subjected to discrimination in any program, service, or activity for which it is responsible, or for which it receives financial assistance from the U. S. Department of Education.  For further information, contact the Civil Rights Coordinator, Office of Career and Technical Education, P.O. Box 30712, Lansing, MI  48909.  (517) 241-2091.




Authorization cannot be granted unless this form is completed and returned to the above address for review and approval prior to the specific time period of rehearsals and performances.  To expedite approval, answer all questions in this application. Print clearly or type.  Be sure to obtain signatures from the parent (guardian) and the employer.  An application must be made for each production location in Michigan.  Attach doctor’s statement verifying the performance will not be detrimental to the minor’s health for a minor less than six years of age.  An application approved by the Department is valid for the period indicated above.  Adult supervision must be present during the period the minor is working.  Authorization may be denied, suspended, or revoked by the Department when it is determined the employer is in violation of the provisions of Youth Employment Standards Act 90 of 1978 and Youth Employment Standards Administrative Rules.
	 PRODUCTION COMPANY/BUSINESS INFORMATION

	Production/Movie Name:
	                                                                                                 Type of Production: 

	Business Name/Production Company:
	                                                                Federal Tax ID#

	Business Address:
	
	City:
	
	ZIP:
	
	County:
	

	
	

	Address where performance will take place (attach a list if there are additional locations where work is to be performed):

	
	City:
	
	ZIP:
	
	County:
	


	ONSITE PRODUCTION COMPANY/BUSINESS INFORMATION

	The above business requests approval to employ:

	Minor Legal Name:
	
	Social Security #:
	
	Birth Date:
	

	Address:
	
	City:
	
	ZIP:
	
	County:
	


	Rehearsal Dates
	Starting & Ending Times    

  (i.e. 8:30 am – 6:00 pm)
	Performance Dates
	Starting & Ending Times      

 (i.e. 8:30 am – 6:00 pm)

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	Total Number of Rehearsal & Performance Work Hours per Week: Not to exceed 6 days per week

	Role Description/Activity to be Performed:
	

	Onsite Production/Business Company Fed Tax ID#
	

	Onsite Name, Address,  City, State, Zip Code, Phone#:


The undersigned certifies the employment of the named minor will not be detrimental to the health, safety, or well being of the minor and records will be maintained and made available for inspection at the premises where the minor is employed.

(Signature of employer or representative)                                                              
 (Title)


(Print name of employer or representative)                                                             
(Date application signed)


REFER TO OTHER SIDE OF FORM FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND PARENTAL SIGNATURE
RESTRICTIONS FOR EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS BY PERFORMING ARTS ORGANIZATIONS
1. All minors shall have adult supervision at all times.

2. All minors shall not work more than 5 continuous hours without a documented 30 minute uninterrupted meal and rest period. An interval of less than 30 minutes shall not be considered to interrupt a continuous period of work.

3. All minors may not work for more than 6 days in 1 workweek.

4. All minors (from the age of 15 days old through 15 years of age) shall not be employed more than 48 hours in a workweek.  When school is in session, student minors (from the age of 15 days old to 15 years of age) shall not be employed more than 48 hours in a workweek, school and work combined.

5. A minor under 16 years old may not be employed in establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold at retail unless the sale of food or other goods constitutes at least 50% of the total gross receipts.  Minors under 16 years old cannot work in the part of the establishment where alcohol is consumed or sold for consumption on the premises.
6. Infants 15 days to 5 months old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 2 hours.  Each 2 hour period shall consist of not more than 20 minutes of work.  They shall not be employed between the hours of 4:30 p.m. and 9:30 a.m.  Under no conditions shall they be exposed to light exceeding 100 foot-candles for more than 30 seconds at a time.  A nurse must be present for each 3 or fewer infants aged 15 days to 5 weeks and for each 10 or fewer infants aged 6 weeks to 5 months. A parent or guardian must always be present.

7. Minors 6 months to 1 year old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 4 hours.  Each 4 hour period shall consist of not more than 2 hours of work.  They shall not be employed between the hours of 7:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.
8. Minors 2 years to 5 years old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 6 hours.  Each 6 hour period shall consist of not more than 3 hours of work.  They shall not be employed between the hours of 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.

9. Minors 6 years to 8 years old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 8 hours.  Each 8 hour period shall consist of not more than 4 hours of work.  On days when a minor’s school is not in session, work time may be increased to 6 hours.  They shall not work between the hours of 10:30 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.

10. Minors 9 years to 13 years old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 9 hours.  Each 9 hour period shall consist of not more than 5 hours of work.  On days when a minor’s school is not in session, work time may be increased to 7 hours. They shall not work between the hours of 10:30 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.

11. Minors 14 years to 15 years old shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 10 hours.  Each 10 hour period shall consist of not more than 10 hours of work.  They shall not work between the hours of 10:30 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. on days preceding school days and 12:30 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. on days preceding non-school days.

12. Minors 16 years to 17 years shall be permitted at the place of employment for a maximum of 10 hours.  Each 10 hour period shall consist of not more than 10 hours of work.  They shall not work more than 48 hours in a workweek.  The shall not work between the hours of 11:30 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. on days preceding school days and 12:30 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. on days preceding non-school days.
The Michigan Department of Education may revoke this approval if the employment is determined to be detrimental to the health or personal well being of the minor, the minor is not adequately supervised, or the minor's education is neglected.

THE EMPLOYER MAY REQUEST A HEARING TO REVIEW THE DENIAL, REVOCATION, OR MODIFICATION OF AN AUTHORIZATION.  APPROVAL BY THE DEPARTMENT SHALL NOT EXCUSE NONCOMPLIANCE WITH ANY OTHER FEDERAL OR STATE LAW OR MUNICIPAL ORDINANCE ESTABLISHING A MORE PROTECTIVE OR RESTRICTIVE STANDARD.

	PERMISSION STATEMENT OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN

	
	
	

	I give my permission for 





 to work in the performance described on this application.  I acknowledge that I am aware of what my child will be doing and the manner, time and place in which the performance will occur.


	__________________________________________________

(Print or type name of parent or guardian)
	
	________________________________________________

(Date application signed)

	
	
	

	
	
	

	(Signature of parent or guardian)
	
	(Telephone number)

	
	
	

	Email Address (of parent or guardian): ______________________________________________________

	
	
	


