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MEMORANDUM

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents and Public School
Academy Directors

FROM: Carol Wolenberg, Deputy Superintendent 4o

SUBJECT: Teacher Professional Development Time

This is to advise that the new language in Section 101(10) of the State School Aid Act which
requires local districts and public school academies to provide 5 online hours of professional
development in order to count up to 38 hours of professional development towards the
minimum requirement of 1,098 hours of instruction is not effective until the school year 2010-
2011. Although the language of the act indicates that it is effective for the 2009-2010 (current)
fiscal year, the Department has received confirmation from the legislature that their intent is to
have the requirement effective with the 2010-2011 year. To reiterate, districts will be able to
count up to 38 hours of professional development in lieu of instruction for the 2009-2010 school
year even if none of the hours were provided online. Districts will not be able to count any
professional development hours in lieu of instruction for the 2010-2011 school year unless at
least 5 of the hours are provided online.

All other requirements of Section 101 related to professional development, including that the
professional development meets at least one of the criteria below, must also be met in order for
the time to be counted in lieu of instruction.

(a) Achieving or improving adequate yearly progress as defined under the No Child
Left Behind Act of 2001, Public Law 107-110.

(b) Achieving accreditation or improving a school’s accreditation status under Section
1280 of the Revised School Code, MCL 380.1280.

(©) Achieving highly qualified teacher status as defined under the No Child Left Behind
Act of 2001, Public Law 107-110.

(d) Maintaining teacher certification.

Also, the law stipulates that to be counted the online professional development must originate
from the Michigan Virtual University or another Department-approved intermediate school
district (ISD). All ISDs are currently approved by the Department to provide this professional
development. Guidelines related to the online professional development will be sent under a
separate cover.
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If you have any questions regarding counting professional development time as instruction,
please fee free to contact Joellen Wonsey at WonseyJ@Michigan.gov or (517) 373-3350. Other

questions pertaining to professional development should be directed to Donna Hamilton at
HamiltonD3@Michigan.gov or (517) 241-4544.

cc: William Mayes, MASA
David Martell, MSBO
Dan Quisenberry, MAPSA
Billie Wimmer, MCCSA



