

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

MICHAEL P. FLANAGAN STATE SUPERINTENDENT

March 26, 2015

## **MEMORANDUM**

TO: Intermediate School District Superintendents, Local Education Agency Superintendents, and Public School Academy Directors

FROM: Linda Forward Sunah Anward Interim Deputy Superintendent Education Services

SUBJECT: Public Comment Request for School Improvement Grant (SIG) Waiver to Extend the Period of Availability for Grant Funds

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is submitting its School Improvement Grant (SIG) Application for Fiscal Year (FY) 2014, New Awards Competition under Section 1003(g) of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA). This grant will be used to fund the Michigan SIG Cohort IV. Eligible schools may apply for funding to implement reforms aimed at rapidly increasing student achievement.

In prior years, SIG recipients were able to receive three years of funding to implement reforms aimed at increasing student achievement. The SIG Final Requirements as published in the Federal Register Vol. 80, No. 26, February 9, 2015, now allow for SIG recipients to receive five years of funding to implement and sustain reforms.

In order to provide five years of funding, the MDE must request a waiver of section 421(b) of the General Education Provisions Act (20 U.S.C. § 1225(b)). This will allow the MDE to extend the period of availability of FY 2014 school improvement funds for the State and all of its Local Educational Agencies (LEAs) to September 30, 2020.

As part of the waiver process, the MDE must provide the opportunity for the public to comment on the pending request. This communication serves to solicit the required comments. Those wishing to provide comments on this request should submit them via email to <u>MDE-SIG@michigan.gov</u> **no later than April 10, 2015**.

Questions regarding this communication may be directed to <u>MDE-SIG@michigan.gov.</u>

cc: Michigan Education Alliance

## STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

JOHN C. AUSTIN – PRESIDENT • CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – VICE PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • PAMELA PUGH SMITH – TREASURER LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY – NASBE DELEGATE • KATHLEEN N. STRAUS EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER • RICHARD ZEILE

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR