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Section Two – School Bus Drivers  
and Vehicle Operators 

 
Objectives 

 

 

1. Compare and contrast non-commercial and commercial school 

buses. 

2. Identify the difference in the laws requiring a school bus driver to 

have a Commercial Driver License (CDL) and a Chauffeur License. 

3. Carry out and report the results of a licensing and credentialing 

audit of transportation department personnel. 

4. Identify driver in-cab distractions and the odds of being involved in 

a crash for each distraction. 

5. Calculate the time a driver‟s eyes are off the road while attending 

to in-cab distractions at 25, 30, 35, & 50 mph. 

6. Identify sanctions to CDL license holders if they violate Michigan‟s 

texting law. 

7. Identify the minimum distance between multiple sets of railroad 

tracks that require a driver to stop his/her school bus between sets 

of tracks. 

8. Explain what parts of a school bus are required to be no closer than 

15 feet to the nearest rail when stopping at a railroad track.  

9. Define a school bus zone. 

10. Identify when PA-60 of 2011 became effective. 
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School Bus Licensing & Credentialing 

(Multifunction School Activity Bus & Traditional School Bus) 
 School Bus1 (SB) Types 

Vehicle/Driver 

Specifications 

Non-commercial2 Commercial² 

Vehicle 
Passenger Capacity 

Weight 
 

MDoSP School Bus Inspection 

 
 11-15  
 <26,00013lbs 

 
Yes4 

 
16-89 

≥26,001 lbs 
<26,001 lbs 

Yes 
Driver License 

 
Mechanics are not required to get a “S” 
endorsement if they will not be 
transporting students. 

Chauffeur5 

 
(Exclusive operation of non-commercial 
MSAB or traditional school bus. Road 
test not required when upgrading 
operator license to chauffeur license.) 

Commercial Driver License (CDL)6 
“A” group designation 

(Combination vehicle ≥26,001 lbs with 
trailer >10,000 lbs) 

“B” group designation 
(≥16 passengers & ≥26,001 lbs) 

“C” group designation 
(≥16 passengers & <26,001 lbs) 

Alcohol & Drug Testing7 No 
(FMCSA Regulations do not require) 

Yes 
 

MDoE Driver Credentials 
Physical Exam8 

Driver Record Check9 
Fingerprinting10 

Criminal Background Check11 
Corporal Punishment12 

Unprofessional Conduct13 
Alcohol & Drug Test Training14 

Employer’s A&D Policy14 

New Bus Driver Training15  
Biennial Six-hour CCE15 

 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

Michigan Occupation & Safety 
Administration16 

Blood-borne Pathogens 
Right-to-Know 

 
 

Yes 
Yes 

 
 

Yes 
Yes 

 
School Bus Driver Licensing & Credentialing Requirements 

                                                           
1
MCL 257.1807; MCL 257.57; Title 29 Transportation: Part 571.3 Definitions; FMCSA Subpart A, 383.5 Definitions; Highway 

Safety Program Guideline No. 17 Pupil Transportation Safety 
2
 MCL 257.7a; FMCSA Subpart A, 383.5 Definitions 

3
 MCL 257.312e (same for both non-commercial and commercial school bus types) 

4
 MLC 257.1839 and MCL 257.715a  (same for both non-commercial and commercial school bus types) 

5
 MCL 257.6 

6
 MCL 257.1849; MCL 257.7a; MCL 257.312e 

7
 FMCSA Subpart A, 382.103  Applicability and Subpart F, 382.601 Employer obligation to promulgate a policy of misuse of 

alcohol and use of controlled substances 
8
 MCL 257.1853 

9
 MCL 257.1853 

10
 MCL 380.1230a; MCL 380.1230g 

11
 MCL 380.1230  & MCL 380.1230g 

12
 MCL 380.1312 

13
 MCL 380.1230b 

14
 FMCSA Subpart F, 382.601 Employer obligation to promulgate a policy of misuse of alcohol and use of controlled 

substances 
15

 MCL 257.1851 
16

 Part 554: Blood-borne Infectious Diseases, R325.70016 Information & Training; Occupational Safety & Health Standard, 
§1910.1200  Hazard Communication 

MASB (non-traditional) 

fits all SBs 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(jfygte45johkpuqxmgwlzlun))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-1807
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(jfygte45johkpuqxmgwlzlun))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-57
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=571.3
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=383.5
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(b5rxgyr1pisue245yetlc2rv))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-7a
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=383.5
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(odnhp0vhwpzfpsuci3wvqruo))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-312e
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(odnhp0vhwpzfpsuci3wvqruo))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-1839
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(odnhp0vhwpzfpsuci3wvqruo))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-715a
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(odnhp0vhwpzfpsuci3wvqruo))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-6
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(odnhp0vhwpzfpsuci3wvqruo))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-1849
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(odnhp0vhwpzfpsuci3wvqruo))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-7a
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(odnhp0vhwpzfpsuci3wvqruo))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-312e
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=382.103
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=382.601
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(vm3iew45ufgs4u452djhoz45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-1853
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(vm3iew45ufgs4u452djhoz45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-1853
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(vm3iew45ufgs4u452djhoz45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-380-1230a
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(vm3iew45ufgs4u452djhoz45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-380-1230g
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(nkdmppb5jv03sm552stbcaun))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-380-1230
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(nkdmppb5jv03sm552stbcaun))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-380-1230g
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(nkdmppb5jv03sm552stbcaun))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-380-1312
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(nkdmppb5jv03sm552stbcaun))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-380-1230b
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=382.601
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(rc3bhynkemwaemrkyns3sb55))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-1851
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=32570001&Dpt=&RngHigh=32599408
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/CIS_WSH_part_42__47164_7.pdf
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257.1849  (1) Age 18 or older 

(2) Commercial Driver License (CDL) to operate a Commercial 

Motor Vehicle (CMV)  257.312e 
(3) Driver record check Driving Record Subscription Service 

(4) Retake CDL Skills Test 
 a) CDL suspension/revocation 257.303 more than one CDL 

 b) CDL disqualified 

c) Convicted of disqualified offenses in CMV or non-
commercial vehicle  49 CFR 383.51b 

d) More than 1 conviction of serious traffic violation while 
operating a CMV within three (3) years 49 CFR 383.5 

Definitions "Serious Traffic Violations" 
e) Convicted of traffic violation resulting in an accident while 

operating CMV 
f) Disqualified with >7 points 257.320a or alcohol offense 

257.625 
g) Shall not operate school bus until successfully complete 

CDL skills test 
 

257.1851 (1) Education certification 
 Enrollment card (EC) for Beginning School Bus Driver 

Course (BSBDC) 

                                   
 Course Completion Card (CCC) complete within 90 days of 

receiving EC, good for 24 months 

                                    
 Certificate of Continuing Education (CCE) recertified every 

24 months 

                                    

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(l5tnhnz2tlo1ieuva2tbjv45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-1849
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(l5tnhnz2tlo1ieuva2tbjv45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-312e
http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,1607,7-127-1631_51019_51026---,00.html
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(l5tnhnz2tlo1ieuva2tbjv45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-303
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=383.51
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=383.5
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=383.5
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(jfygte45johkpuqxmgwlzlun))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-320a
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(jfygte45johkpuqxmgwlzlun))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-625
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(jfygte45johkpuqxmgwlzlun))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-1851
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 Failure to successfully complete beginning & continuing 

education - drivers are not permitted to operate a school 
bus while transporting passengers. 

 (2) School bus fleet supervisors shall successfully complete 
 BSBDC – CCC; expires within 24 months 

 Complete Transportation Supervisor Certification Card 
(TSCC) every 24 months 

                                   
 
257.1853 (1) School bus drivers shall meet 

a) MCL 257.1849 – Licensing and MCL 257.1851 – Education 
requirements 

b) FMCSA Medical Requirement 
* 49 CFR 391.41 - 91.49 

* New medical requirement Q&A 

* Two (2) interval between physicals 
* Drivers required to carry Medical Examiner Certificate 

       
* Drivers with this physical are interstate qualified 
* Exception for current insulin-dependent diabetic driver 

* Procedures for Continued Certification of Insulin-

Diabetic School Bus Drivers 
* Drivers and Attending Physicians complete 

above surveys annually 
* MDoE issues SM-2934  

 
* Drivers with SM-2934 are qualified to driver only 

within Michigan – intrastate qualification. 
(2) Maintain driver records 

(3) State police may inspect record 

HB-4360 

Rep Haines 

 

Will allow 

insulin-

dependent 

individuals 

apply for 

school bus 

driver 

positions.  

They must 

comply with 

Procedures 

for Continued 

Certification 

of Insulin-

Diabetic 

School Bus 

Drivers. 

 

This bill only 

deals with 

insulin-

dependent 

candidates. 

 

Very likely 

bill will be 

passed into 

law.    

 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(rc3bhynkemwaemrkyns3sb55))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-1853
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=391.49
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Questions_and_Answers_326643_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/DIABETES_326367_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/DIABETES_326367_7.pdf
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 (4) Criminal background check – does not require fingerprints 

 (5) Smoking on school bus 
 (6) No alcohol or controlled substances on school bus 

(7) Nor reimbursement or workers compensation benefits for 
service 

 
SB-496 

Senator Casperson 
Bill Summary 

Senate Bill 496 would amend the Motor Carrier Safety Act to incorporate and 
revise references to Federal regulations; and repeal sections regarding exemptions 

from the Act's medical qualification provisions. 
 

The Act prohibits a person from operating a CMV unless he or she is qualified to do 
so. In the case of intrastate transportation, a person is qualified to operate a CMV 

if he or she meets certain requirements, including medical qualifications; or is 
eligible for and displays a valid medical waiver card, is excepted from the Act's 

medical waiver card provisions, or displays a grandfather rights card issued under 
the Act. Under the bill, a grandfather rights card could be displayed until 

December 31, 2014. 
 

The bill would repeal Sections 4 and 4a of the Act. Under Section 4, the Act's 
provisions regarding an intrastate driver's medical qualifications do not apply to a 

driver who has been a regularly employed driver of the motor carrier for a 
continuous period that began on or before June 10, 1984; and who has received a 

grandfather rights card from the Motor Carrier Division of the Department of State 
Police. Grandfather rights remain valid until December 31, 2014. Under Section 

4a, the Department of State Police was not authorized to issue new grandfather 
cards after October 20, 2005. 
 

Also, under the bill, the provisions of a Federal regulation that requires a medical 

exam would not apply to a farm vehicle driver, or to a CMV owned and operated 
by a unit of government or its employees. 

 
A bill to amend 1963 PA 181, entitled 

"Motor carrier safety act of 1963," by amending sections 1a, 2d, and 5 (MCL 480.11a, 
480.12d, and 480.15), section 1a as amended by 2006 PA 50, section 2d as amended by 

2005 PA 177, and section 5 as amended by 2006 PA 595; and to repeal acts and parts of 
acts. 
 

(8) This act and the rules promulgated under this act do not apply to a school bus as 

defined 1 in SECTION 7 OF the pupil  transportation act, 1990 PA 187, MCL 257.1801 to 

257.1877, MCL 257.1807, or a bus defined, and certificated FOR WHICH A 4 

CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY WAS ISSUED, under the motor bus 5 transportation act, 

1982 PA 432, MCL 474.101 to 474.141. 
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License & Qualifications 

Sequence of Actions and or Events 
 

Start actions & events and move to driving assignment & continuation of activities & events 

 
Pre-driving 
No TIP Ops 

Transition to driving 
TIP 

Driving 
TOP 

Continuation 
Job Assignment 

 

Drvr Rec Ck 

Alcohol & Drug trng 

Organization A&D policy 

A&D employer ck 

Professional conduct 

Pre-employment physical 

Pre-employ drug test 

Right-to-know  

Blood-borne pathogens 

Pre-requisite training 

Corporal Punishment 

Fingerprinting 

Criminal Background Ck 

T.I.P. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                     

 
 

 

 

T.O.P. 

 

 

CEC 

CCC 

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
A&D drug testing program 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CDL (C:B/C:P&S) 

 

 

 

CCE 

 

Supervisor’s CCE 

 

Annual with transactions 

 

 

 

 

Biennial physicals 
Random, Reasonable, Post Acc 

As needed by events 

Annual updates 

 

 

On-going monitoring 

 

 

 

Quadrennial renewal 

 

 

 

Biennial renewal 
(Drivers odd years) 

Supervisor’s CCE 
(Supervisors even years) 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 



2012 Supervisors‟ CEP Sec. II - 7 Michigan Department of Education 

Bus Driver & Vehicle Operators  Prepared: 7/13/11 

 
Below is a Chart to Chronicle and Review 

Driver Credentials & Qualifications 
 

An electronic version of this document can be found MVU or MDoE website under 
Part I: “Back-to-School Briefing” Resources and Materials. 

 
Download this document to your computer and you will be able to fill in each 

driver‟s name and hire date and fill in the cell under each credential or qualification 
heading the date or status of the item.  You may copy as many pages as you need 

to collect the information for all drivers.  This will give you a quick-at-a-glance the 
status of all drivers.  It also provides the outline to audit your driver records 

before the start of the school year. 
 

 
 

  

0

#DIV/0!

7/1/2010 257.1853 380.1230 380.1230f/g 380.1312 275.1849 257.1849 257.312e

NameL NameF Hire Date YoS Status Physical Prof Cond Fngrprnt Crp Pnsh CEC CCC CCE Supr Trng CBC Drvr Lic E Drv Rec Ck Drvr LicT R-t-K B-b-P A-D Trng A-D Policy PrvEmCk

NameL = Driver last name CCE = Date of Certificate of Continuing Education

NameF = Driver first name Supr Trng = Date of Supervisor Training

Hire Date = Date employee hired was driver CBC = Date of Criminal Background Check

YoS = Driver Years of Service.  Don not write, column automatically calculate. Drvr Lic E = Driver License Expiration Date

Status  = Employee status, e.g. 1=Reg Driver, 2=Sub driver, 3=mechanic, etc Drvr Rec Ck = Driver Record Check (Date)

Physical = Date driver completed annual physical exam Drvr Lic T = Driver License Type, e.g. Chauffeur-B-P-S

Prof Cond = Date Professional Conduct review completed R-t-K = Right-to-Know training Date

Fngrprnt = Date of employee fingerprinting B-b-P = Bloodborne Pathogen Training Date

Crp Pnsh = Date employee received organization's corporal punishment policy A-D Trng = Alcohol & Drug Test Training Date & employee signs statement

CEC = Date of Course Enrollment Card A-D Policy = Distribution of employer Alcohol & Drug Policy date

CCC = Date of Course Completion Card Prv-Em-Ck = Date of previous employer positive Al & Drug test check

Date Basis for YoS = Annual date used to calculate drvivers years of service

School Bus Driver Credentials and Qualifications
Laws, Regulations, and Documentation

Alcohol & Drug Test

FMCSR 40 & 382

Column Headings Defined:

Indicate dates when employees with school bus driving responsibility receive the credential and or qualification.

Date basis for YoS

PA-187 Driver & Supervisor Training

MIOSHA257.1851

Driver Summary Data

Total # of Drivers

Mich Dep't of Education Michigan Dep't of StateAvg. Yrs of Service

1910.12

R325.70016
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The problem with a districted school bus driver 
 

The chart below is the result of a study on the distractions of commercial motor 

vehicle drivers and the odds of being involved in a crash.  A description follows the 
chart outlining the results of the study and the impact of distracted driving.  This 

chart and the explanation of the study can be a very persuasive distracted school 
bus driver workshop before school starts. 
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Odds Ratios Relative to Eyes Off Roadway17 

During the 3.8 seconds the driver has his eyes off the forward roadway while 

dialing his mobile telephone, at 55 miles per hour, the CMV travels about the 
length of a football field, 306 feet.  

 
 A complete copy of the final report for the VTTI Study (2009) is included in the 

docket referenced in the beginning of this rulemaking notice. 
   

Distraction in Commercial Trucks and Buses: Assessing Prevalence and Risk in 
Conjunction With Crashes and Near-Crashes18 

 
The purpose of this research was to conduct an analysis of naturalistic data 

collected by DriveCam®.  The introduction of naturalistic driving studies that 
record drivers (through video and kinematic19 vehicle sensors) in actual driving 

situations created a scientific method to study driver behavior under the daily 

pressures of real-world driving conditions. 
 

The research documented the prevalence of distractions while driving a CMV, 
including both trucks and buses, using an existing naturalistic data set.  This data 

set came from 183 truck and bus fleets comprising a total of 13,306 vehicles 
captured during a 90-day period. There were 8,509 buses and 4,797 trucks. The 

data sets in the current study did not include continuous data; they only included 
recorded events that met or exceeded a kinematic threshold (a minimum g-force 

setting that triggers the event recorder).  These recorded events included safety 
critical events (e.g., hard braking in response to another vehicle) and baseline 

events (i.e., an event that was not related to a safety-critical event, such as a 
vehicle that traveled over train tracks and exceeded the kinematic threshold).  A 

total of 1,085 crashes, 8,375 near-crashes, 30,661 crash relevant conflicts, and 
211,171 baselines were captured in the data set. 

 

Odds ratios were calculated to show a measure of association between 
involvement in a safety-critical event, which includes crashes, and performing 

a non-driving related task. The odds ratios show the odds of being involved in a 
safety critical event when a non-driving related task is present compared to when 

there is no non-driving related task.  The non-driving related task, „„any cell phone 
usage,‟‟ includes all the specific cell phone sub-tasks, such as reaching for, dialing, 

talking or listening to a hand-held or hands-free cell phone. 
 

Drivers increased their odds of involvement in a safety-critical event by 1.14 times 
for „„any cell phone usage‟‟ while driving. However, when the cell phone task was 

disaggregated into subtasks, the study results show that the sub-tasks involved 

                                                           
17 Federal Register/Vol. 75, No. 244/ Tuesday, December 21, 2010/ Proposed Rules 
18 Hickman, J., Hanowski, R., & Bocanegra, J. (2010). Distraction in Commercial Trucks and Buses: Assessing Prevalence 

and Risk in Conjunction with Crashes and Near-Crashes. Washington, DC: FMCSA. 
19 Kinematics is a branch of physics that deals with the motion of a body or system without reference to force and mass. 
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with using a cell phone have different risks, some increasing and some decreasing 

the odds of involvement in a safety-critical event.  The odds of involvement in a 
safety critical event increased significantly when truck and bus drivers performed 

certain non-driving related tasks: 
• Reaching for a cell phone while driving increased the odds by 3.7 times; 

• Dialing a cell phone while driving increased the odds by 3.5 times; 
• Reaching for a headset/earpiece increased the odds by 3.4 times. 

 
Listed below is a compilation of Michigan law and Federal rules regarding impact 

on a school bus driver‟s CDL if texting while driving. 
 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Administration 
49 CFR Parts 383, 384, 390, 391, and 

392 

[Docket No. FMCSA–2009–0370] 
RIN 2126–AB22 

 
Limiting the Use of Wireless Communication Devices20 (Ban on school bus driver 

texting.) 
 
AGENCY: Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, DOT. 

ACTION: Final rule. 

 

SUMMARY: The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) prohibits texting by 

commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers while operating in interstate commerce and imposes 

sanctions, including civil penalties and disqualification from operating CMVs in interstate 

commerce, for drivers who fail to comply with this rule. Additionally, motor carriers are prohibited 

from requiring or allowing their drivers to engage in texting while driving. FMCSA amends its 

commercial driver‟s license (CDL) regulations to add to the list of disqualifying offenses a conviction 

under State or local traffic laws or ordinances that prohibit texting by CDL drivers while operating a 

CMV, including school bus drivers. Recent research commissioned by FMCSA shows that the 

odds of being involved in a safety critical event (e.g., crash, near-crash, unintentional lane 

deviation) is 23.2 times greater for CMV drivers who engage in texting while driving than for those 

who do not. This rulemaking increases safety on the Nation‟s highways by reducing the prevalence 

of or preventing certain truck- and bus-related crashes, fatalities, and injuries associated with 

distracted driving. 

 

Question 
School Bus Operations 

ATU believed it is unnecessary to extend the ban to public school bus drivers. 

 

FMCSA Response: 

FMCSA is precluded by statute from applying the FMCSRs to employees of Federal, State and local 

governments, even when they are engaged in transportation in interstate commerce (49 U.S.C. 

31132(2) and (3)). This would include drivers of school buses employed by such government 

entities.  However, drivers employed by private entities providing school bus 

transportation under contract to government entities will be covered, if they are engaged 

in interstate transportation.  In addition, both government and private drivers of school 

                                                           
20

 Federal Register/Vol. 75, No. 186/Monday, September 27, 2010/Rules and Regulations 
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buses requiring a CDL would be subject to the CDL disqualification if they are convicted 

of 2 or more serious traffic violations, which can include a conviction for violating a State 

traffic law prohibiting texting while driving. 

 

DATES: The final rule is effective October 27, 2010. 
 

V. Regulatory Analyses 

FMCSA amends the FMCSRs to restrict texting, including texting while using dispatching devices 

and fleet management systems, by certain drivers while operating CMVs in interstate commerce.  

The goal of the regulatory revision is to prevent or reduce the prevalence of truck and bus crashes, 

fatalities, and injuries on our Nation‟s highways due to texting while driving. 

 

 
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

PART 383—COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE STANDARDS; REQUIREMENTS AND 

PENALTIES 

 

§ 383.5 Definitions. 

 

Electronic device includes, but is not limited to, a cellular telephone; personal digital assistant; 

pager; computer; or any other device used to input, write, send, receive, or read text. 

 

Texting means manually entering alphanumeric text into, or reading text from, an electronic 

device. 

(1) This action includes, but is not limited to, short message service, emailing, instant messaging, 

a command or request to access a World Wide Web page, or engaging in any other form of 

electronic text retrieval or entry, for present or future communication. 

(2) Texting does not include: 

(i) Reading, selecting, or entering a telephone number, an extension number, or voicemail retrieval 

codes and commands into an electronic device for the purpose of initiating or receiving a phone call 

or using voice commands to initiate or receive a telephone call; 

(ii) Inputting, selecting, or reading information on a global positioning system or navigation 

system; or 

(iii) Using a device capable of performing multiple functions (e.g., fleet management systems, 

dispatching devices, smart phones, citizens band radios, music players, etc.) for a purpose that is 

not otherwise prohibited in this part. 
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§ 383.51(c) Disqualifications of Drivers 

 

TABLE 2 TO § 383.51 

 

 

If the driver 

operates a 

motor 

vehicle and 

is convicted 

of: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For a “second” 

conviction of any 

combination of 

offenses in this 

Table in a separate 

incident within a 

3-year period 

while operating a 

CMV, a person 

required to have a 

CDL and a CDL 

holder must be 

disqualified from 

operating a CMV 

for 

 

 

For a second 

conviction of any 

combination of 

offenses in this 

Table in a 

separate incident 

within a 3-year 

period while 

operating a non-

CMV, a CDL 

holder must be 

disqualified from 

operating a CMV, 

if the 

conviction results 

in the revocation, 

cancellation, or 

suspension of the 

CDL holder‟s 

license or non-

CMV driving 

privileges, for . .  

 

For a “third” or 

subsequent 

conviction of any 

combination of 

offenses in this 

Table in a separate 

incident within a 

3-year period 

while operating a 

CMV, a person 

required to have a 

CDL and a CDL 

holder must be 

disqualified from 

operating a CMV for 

. . . 

 

 

For a third or 

subsequent 

conviction of any 

combination of 

offenses in this Table 

in a separate 

incident within a 3-

year period while 

operating a non-

CMV, a CDL holder 

must be disqualified 

from operating a 

CMV, if the 

conviction results in 

the revocation, 

cancellation, or 

suspension of the 

CDL holder‟s license 

or non-CMV driving 

privileges, for  

(9) 

Violating a 

State or 

local law 

or 

ordinance 

on motor 

vehicle 

traffic 

control 

prohibiting 

texting 

while 

driving.2 

 

 

60 days 

 

 

Not applicable 

 

 

120 days 

 

 

Not applicable 

 

2.  Driving, for the purpose of this disqualification, means operating a commercial motor vehicle, 

with the motor running, including while temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control 

device, or other momentary delays. Driving does not include operating a commercial motor vehicle 

with or without the motor running when the driver has moved the vehicle to the side of, or off, a 
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highway, as defined in 49 CFR 390.5, and has halted in a location where the vehicle can safely 

remain stationary. 

 

(Below is the text of Michigan’s anti-texting regulation.  It is what the above part 9 is 

referring?  The federal law will take effect if a school bus driver violates Michigan Vehicle 

Code MCL 257.602b) 

 

Michigan Vehicle Code 

257.602b Reading, typing, or sending text message on wireless 2-way communication 

device prohibited; exceptions; violation as civil infraction; fine; local ordinances 

superseded.  

Sec. 602b. 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not read, manually type, or 

send a text message on a wireless 2-way communication device that is located in the 

person's hand or in the person's lap, including a wireless telephone used in cellular telephone 

service or personal communication service, while operating a motor vehicle that is moving on a 

highway or street in this state. As used in this subsection, a wireless 2-way communication 

device does not include a global positioning or navigation system that is affixed to the 

motor vehicle. 

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to an individual who is using a device described in subsection (1) 

to do any of the following: 

(a) Report a traffic accident, medical emergency, or serious road hazard. 

(b) Report a situation in which the person believes his or her personal safety is in jeopardy. 

(c) Report or avert the perpetration or potential perpetration of a criminal act against the individual 

or another person. 

(d) Carry out official duties as a police officer, law enforcement official, member of a paid or 

volunteer fire department, or operator of an emergency vehicle. 

(3) An individual who violates this section is responsible for a civil infraction and shall be ordered to 

pay a civil fine as follows: 

(a) For a first violation, $100.00. 

(b) For a second or subsequent violation, $200.00. 

(4) This section supersedes all local ordinances regulating the use of a communications device 

while operating a motor vehicle in motion on a highway or street, except that a unit of local 

government may adopt an ordinance or enforce an existing ordinance substantially corresponding 

to this section. 

 

History: Add. 2010, Act 60, Eff. July 1, 2010  

 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

 

PART 392—DRIVING OF COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLES 

 

Subpart H—Limiting the Use of Electronic Devices 

 

§ 392.80 Prohibition against texting. 

(a) Prohibition. No driver shall engage in texting while driving. 

 

(b) Motor Carriers. No motor carrier shall allow or require its drivers to engage in texting while 

driving. 

 

(c) Definition. For the purpose of this section only, driving means operating a commercial motor 

vehicle, with the motor running, including while temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic 

control device, or other momentary delays. Driving does not include operating a commercial motor 

vehicle with or without the motor running when the driver moved the vehicle to the side of, or off, 
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a highway, as defined in 49 CFR 390.5, and halted in a location where the vehicle can safely 

remain stationary. 

 

(d) Exceptions. (1) School bus operations and vehicles designed or used to transport 9 to 15 

passengers, including the driver, not for direct compensation. The provisions of § 390.3(f)(1) and 

(6) are not applicable to this section. 

 

(2) Emergency Use. Texting while driving is permissible by drivers of a commercial motor vehicle 

when necessary to communicate with law enforcement officials or other emergency services. 

 

Issued on: September 17, 2010 

 

 

Railroad Crossings 
 

257.1857 Railroad Crossings 
(1) Initial at first rail 15 to 50 feet 

                                 
   

  Multiple track crossing 

 

                               
 
 

   
 

 

≥70 feet  

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(tfb2csva42nqtuafofrg0i55))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-1857
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Proximity of railroad crossing and highway intersection 

 

                                  
 

 

 
The Rail Safety Section updated its list of railroad crossing 

interconnects February 28, 2011.  The Safety Section identifies all 

railroad interconnects by the county in which they are located.  The 
report lists the counties in alphabetical order.  The report includes a 

more detailed geographical description of the railroad crossing 
interconnect location.  You may access the report by going to the 

MVU or MDoE websites and opening Part I: ―Back-to-School 
Briefing‖ Resources and Materials.    

 
 

Illustrated below is Michigan Department of Transportation Rail 
Safety Section‟s – School Bus Driver‟s Report of Railroad Crossing 

Concerns.  After reviewing railroad crossing requirements and 
potential problems, place a report form in every school bus. 
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Michigan Department of Transportation 

Rail Safety Section 
2700 East Airport Service Drive 

Lansing, Michigan  48906 

www.michigan.gov/mdotrailfreight 

 

 

SCHOOL BUS DRIVER’S REPORT OF RAILROAD CROSSING CONCERN 
 

EDUCATIONAL AGENCY: 

 School District/School: ______________________________________________________________________ 

 Address: __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

RAILROAD CROSSING INFORMATION: 

 Name of Railroad: __________________________________________________________________________ 

 Name of Street: _______________________________ National Inventory / DOT Number: ________________ 

 City: ____________________________ Township: ______________________ County: __________________ 

 Nearby Roads: ________________________________ and _________________________________________ 
 

TYPE OF WARNING DEVICES AT CROSSING: (Please check all boxes that apply) 

□ Crossbucks    □ Yield Signs    □ Stop Signs    □ Pavement Markings    □ No Passing Lines    □ Stop Bars   □ 

Flashing Lights    □ Cantilevers w/Flashing Lights    □ Gates    □ Other: ___________________________ 

 

DESCRIBE CONCERN:  

If site distance issue, check which quadrant.  □NE  □NW  □SE  □SW.  Please state issue. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
PERSON REPORTING CONCERN: ____________________________________________________________ 

Date Reported: __________________________________ 

 

TRANSPORTATION SUPERVISOR: __________________________________________________________ 

 Telephone No: (______) _______________________ Email Address: _________________________________ 
 

 

If you have questions please contact Jeannine Farkas at (517) 373-8235 or farkasj3@michigan.gov. 
 

PLEASE FAX COMPLETED FORM TO: (517) 373-0856 

 
 

 
 

For official use only 

 

mailto:farkasj3@michigan.gov
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Public Act 60 of 2011 

MCL 257.601b 
Effective 7/1/2011 

Summary:  
“School Bus Zone”                         

PA-60 of 2011 (HB-4168) 

Michigan Vehicle Code 
MCL 257.601b                         

5(c)“School bus zone” means the area lying within 20 feet of a school bus 
that has stopped and is displaying 2 alternately flashing red lights at the 

same level, except as described in MCL 257.682. 

 
• Double fine for moving violation 

• 3 pt. with injury $1,000 or 1 year or both 
• 3 pt. with fatal $7,500 or 15 years or both 

 
Effective:  July 1, 2011 

 

                               
 

 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(p4jrym45gs1bsaiixkf25yrq))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-682
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School Bus Crash Simulations 
 

The National Transportation Safety Board produced the following school bus 

crash simulations.  The simulations are digital reconstructions of school bus 
crashes.   

 

The first is crash between a school bus and dump truck in an intersection. 
Collision Between a Tractor/Semi-Trailer and School Bus, May 31, 2001 

 
The second school bus runs-off the road, collision with guardrail, bridge rail 

and vault 
http://www.beta.ntsb.gov/Events/2004/Omaha/omaha_ani.htm 

 
These simulations make excellent discussion starters during a drivers‟ 

meeting. 
 

 
  

 
 

 

 

http://www.beta.ntsb.gov/Events/2002/MountArk/mount_ani.htm
http://www.beta.ntsb.gov/Events/2004/Omaha/omaha_ani.htm

