Michigan Department of Education
Child and Adult Care Food Program

Unlicensed Child Care Providers

The Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) provides a cash reimbursement to eligible unlicensed providers for serving nutritious meals and snacks to children while in child care in the provider’s home.  Child care homes participate under the sponsorship of a family child care home sponsor.

Provider Eligibility
An unlicensed child care provider must be:
· Enrolled by the Michigan Department of Human Services (DHS) as a provider caring for children in the provider’s home
· Authorized by DHS to care for subsidy-eligible children related to the provider

Meals served in the provider’s home are eligible for CACFP reimbursement.  Meals served in the child’s home are not eligible for reimbursement.

Eligible Children
Children must be:
· Related to the provider
· Not living in the provider’s home 
· Enrolled for CDC assistance
· Under age 12 (15 if migrant) or any age with a disability requiring child care, as long as the majority of children in care are under age 18
In some cases a provider’s own children are eligible if the provider’s household is income-eligible

Reimbursement
Reimbursement rates are based on the provider’s classification as either a Tier I or 
Tier II home.  A Tier I home is a child care home located in a low income area or whose household is low income.  A Tier II home is a child care home not eligible as a Tier I home.  Tier II providers may be eligible for Tier I rates for meals and snacks served to children from low income families. 

The CACFP family child care home sponsor determines the classification of the provider’s home. The reimbursement rates for July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016, are:

	Tier
	Breakfast
	Lunch/Supper
	Snack

	I
	$1.32
	$2.48
	$0.74

	II
	$0.48
	$1.50
	$0.20



A child care home may claim reimbursement for up to two meals and one snack or two snacks and one meal, per child per day.

Meal Service
Meals and snacks must meet CACFP meal pattern requirements. 

Record Keeping 
Participating homes are required to keep records such as:
· Menus
· Meal counts 
· Daily attendance
· Child enrollment forms
· CACFP application and provider/sponsor agreement

How to Apply
Contact a sponsoring organization that services your county:

Association for Child Development
517-332-7200
800-234-3287
Association for Child Development website (http://www.acdkids.org)
Counties:  All

Camp Fire West Michigan 4C (formerly Kent Regional 4C)
616-451-8281
800-448-6995 
Camp Fire West Michigan 4C website (http://www.4cchildcare.org)
Counties:  Allegan, Barry, Calhoun, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Isabella, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kent, Lake, Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, Ottawa, Shiawassee, VanBuren and Wexford

Mid-Michigan Child Care Centers Inc.
989-695-2683
800-742-3663
Mid-Michigan Child Care Centers, Inc. website (http://www.midmichigancc.com)
Counties:  All

Child Care Network
734-975-0840
888-338-7656
Child Care Network website  (http://www.childcarenetwork.org)
Counties:  All

For more information:
· Visit the CACFP website (www.michigan.gov/cacfp) 
· Contact the Michigan Department of Education at 517-373-7391

Non-Discrimination Statement
[bookmark: _GoBack]In accordance with Federal civil rights law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) civil rights regulations and policies, the USDA, its Agencies, offices, and employees, and institutions participating in or administering USDA programs are prohibited from discriminating based on race, color, national origin, sex, religious creed, disability, age, political beliefs, or reprisal or retaliation for prior civil rights activity in any program or activity conducted or funded by USDA.
Persons with disabilities who require alternative means of communication for program information (e.g. Braille, large print, audiotape, American Sign Language, etc.), should contact the Agency (State or local) where they applied for benefits.  Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877-8339.  Additionally, program information may be made available in languages other than English.
To file a program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, (AD-3027) found online at: U.S. Department of Agriculture Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights website, and at any USDA office, or write a letter addressed to USDA and provide in the letter all of the 
information requested in the form. To request a copy of the complaint form, 
call (866) 632-9992.  Submit your completed form or letter to USDA by:  (1) mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, 
1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20250-9410; (2) fax: (202) 690-7442; or (3) email: program.intake@usda.gov.  This institution is an equal opportunity provider.
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