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State Aid to Public Libraries Minimum Standards from the Michigan Department 
of Education, Library of Michigan 

For use in the review of public library and library cooperative applications and 
distribution of FY11 State Aid to Public Libraries  

 
Issued January 2011 

 
Part A: Application for State Aid 

I. Application process for state aid. 
a. Applications for state aid shall be submitted as follows: 

1. Each applicant for state aid shall submit an application for state 
aid by electronic means. This submission shall be filed annually 
with the department between October 1 and not later than 
February 1. 

2. After the application for state aid is electronically submitted to 
the department, an authorized representative of the applicant 
shall sign an original signature page and mail it to the department 
postmarked not later than February 5. 

b. The department shall not approve any application for state aid 
submitted after the dates specified above in subdivision 1 and 2 of 
subsection a. 

II. Contract area populations. 
a. State aid for a public library furnishing library service under a library 

service contract shall be calculated as follows: 
1. A public library’s state aid service population shall include a 

contract area population if the library has served the contract area 
for 6 months or longer during the library’s state aid reporting 
year.  

2. If 2 or more public libraries have each served the same contract 
area for less than 6 months during their respective reporting 
years, the library with the greatest time of service to the contract 
area within its reporting year shall include the contract area in its 
legal service area population. 

3. If 2 public libraries have served the same contract area for the 
same length of time but for less than 6 months during the 
reporting year, the public library whose contract was in force the 
nearest to October 1 of the year of state aid distribution shall 
include the contract area in its legal service population.  

4. If a contract area is served by only 1 public library for less than 6 
months in its reporting year and no other public library furnished 
service during the same reporting year, the public library shall 
include the contract area in the calculation of its legal service 
area population. 

5. A public library may require a contracting municipality to pay a 
reasonable fee based on the contracting municipality’s 
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population in addition to state aid funds and penal fine monies 
that may be paid as library service contract consideration.  

6. If a public library has contracted with a municipality for the 
provision of library service and the total local support for the 
legal service area population is less than the minimum local 
support requirement mandate in section 5(a) of the act, MCL 
397.555(a), each governmental unit comprising the legal service 
area population may be treated as a separate unit and each unit 
shall meet the minimum support requirement prescribed in 
section 5(a) of the act, MCL 397.555(a). 

 
Part B: General Requirements for Public Libraries 

I. General requirements for public libraries. 
a. To receive disbursements of state aid under section 16(2) of the act, 

MCL 397.566(2), and in addition to the requirements prescribed by the 
act and by part C of the standards, a public library shall meet all of the 
following: 

1. A public library shall be lawfully established under state law and 
local action or special act of the legislature. 

2. A public library shall provide library service to its legal service 
population.  

3. A public library shall employ the requisite number of paid 
certified persons for every hour the library is required to be open, 
subject to the following exceptions: 

aa. The personnel requirements do not apply with respect 
to personnel with valid certificates who were employed 
by a public library as of October 1, 2009. When a 
person employed as of October 1, 2009 leaves the 
position, the position shall be filled in compliance with 
the minimum requirements for the library to receive 
state aid. 

bb. A public library that does not comply with personnel 
requirements due to a change in class level following 
the application of a decennial census may receive state 
aid if the personnel continue to present valid certificates 
and were employed before the library received 
notification of the change in class level. When a person 
employed before the change in class level leaves the 
position, the position shall be filled in accordance with 
the personnel requirements in order for the library to 
receive state aid. 

4. The minimum hours of accessibility requirements prescribed in 
part C shall be maintained for not less than 9 months during the 
12-month operating period and as follows: 

aa. Accessible hours shall include evening hours or 
weekend hours, or both. 
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bb. If a public library has more than 1 branch and if the 
hours for the main library building and each established 
branch library are different, the unduplicated hours may 
be added together to satisfy the minimum open hours 
requirement. 

b. A public library that shifts to a higher class level because of a change 
in its legal service area population shall meet the higher level of 
standard for accessibility and personnel not later than the beginning of 
its next reporting year after the library has received notice from the 
department of the change in library class.  

c. A public library may receive state aid under section 16(4) of the act, 
MCL 397.566, if it complies with these standards and is a participating 
member of a cooperative library for not less than 30 days prior to 
September 30 of the reporting year. 

d. A public library may receive state aid under section 16(5) of the act, 
MCL 397.566, if it meets county reimbursable salary requirements as 
required by the act. 

 
Part C: Public Library Requirements Based on Class Size 

I. Class 1 public library. 
a. A class 1 public library serves a population of 3,999 or less. 
b. A class 1 public library shall be accessible for a minimum of 15 hours 

per week. 
c. A class 1 public library shall employ a director possessing at least a 

level 4 certificate. The director shall complete beginning director 
training within 1 year of initial directorship appointment. This sub-
requirement does not apply to a director who has completed beginning 
director training prior to his or her appointment as a director. 

d. A class 1 public library shall employ a director at least 15 hours per 
week. 

II. Class 2 public library. 
a. A class 2 public library serves a population of 4,000 to 6,999. 
b. A class 2 public library shall be accessible for a minimum of 20 hours 

per week. 
c. A class 2 public library shall employ a director possessing at least a 

level 4 certificate. The director shall complete beginning director 
training within 1 year of initial directorship appointment. This sub-
requirement does not apply to a director who has completed beginning 
director training prior to his or her appointment as a director.  

d. A class 2 public library shall employ a director at least 20 hours per 
week. 

III. Class 3 public library. 
a. A class 3 public library serves a population of 7,000 to 11,999. 
b. A class 3 public library shall be accessible for a minimum of 30 hours 

per week. 
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c. A class 3 public library shall employ a director possessing at least a 
level 3 certificate. The director shall complete beginning director 
training within 1 year of initial directorship appointment. This sub-
requirement does not apply to a director who has completed beginning 
director training prior to his or her appointment as a director. 

d. A class 3 public library shall employ a director at least 30 hours per 
week. 

e. A class 3 public library shall employ at least 1 staff person, excluding 
the director, who possesses at least a level 4 certificate. 

IV. Class 4 public library. 
a. A class 4 public library serves a population of 12,000 to 25,999. 
b. A class 4 public library shall be accessible for a minimum of 40 hours 

per week. 
c. A class 4 public library shall employ a director possessing at least a 

level 2 certificate. The director shall complete beginning director 
training within 1 year of initial directorship appointment and complete 
advanced director training within 2 years of initial appointment. This 
sub-requirement does not apply to directors that have completed 
beginning director and advanced director training prior to their 
appointment as a director. 

d. A class 4 public library shall employ a director at least 35 hours per 
week. 

e. A class 4 public library shall employ at least 1 staff person, excluding 
the director, who possesses at least a level 4 certificate. 

V. Class 5 public library. 
a. A class 5 public library serves a population of 26,000 to 49,999. 
b. A class 5 public library shall be accessible for a minimum of 50 hours 

per week. 
c. A class 5 public library shall employ a director possessing a level 1 

certificate. The director shall complete beginning director training 
within 1 year of initial directorship appointment and complete 
advanced director training within 2 years of initial appointment. This 
sub-requirement does not apply to directors that have completed 
beginning director and advanced director training prior to their 
appointment as a director. 

d. A class 5 public library shall employ a director at least 35 hours per 
week. 

e. A class 5 public library shall employ at least 1 staff person, excluding 
the director, who possesses at least a level 3 certificate per 20,000 
population served. 

VI. Class 6 public library. 
a. A class 6 public library serves a population of 50,000 or more. 
b. A class 6 public library shall be accessible for a minimum of 55 hours 

per week. 
c. A class 6 public library shall employ a director possessing a level 1 

certificate. The director shall complete beginning director training 
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within 1 year of initial directorship appointment and complete 
advanced director training within 2 years of initial appointment. This 
sub-requirement does not apply to directors that have completed 
beginning and advanced director training prior to their appointment as 
a director. 

d. A class 6 public library shall employ a director at least 35 hours per 
week. 

e. A class 6 public library shall employ at least 1 staff person, excluding 
the director, who possesses at least a level 3 certificate per 20,000 
population served. 

 
Part D. School Public Library Requirements 

I. Additional requirements for school public libraries. 
a. In addition to the requirements prescribed in parts B and C of these 

standards, a school district public library shall meet all of the 
following: 

1. The board of education shall appoint a library board, 
commission, or committee charged with making 
recommendations for the development of public library services 
and may ascribe any powers and duties necessary for 
implementation. 

2. The board of education shall budget separate funds for the public 
library program, exclusive of funds for school library service and 
report expenditures to the department. 

3. Penal fines, library millage proceeds, money donated to or 
collected by the school public library, payments of state aid to 
the school public library, and interest on these funds shall be 
used for public library service only. 

4. Library funds described in subdivision 3 of this sub-requirement, 
shall be kept in accordance with section 1215 of 1976 PA 451, 
MCL 380.1215 and section 20 of the act, MCL 397.570. 

5. Public library service shall be maintained 12 months a year. 
6. During the months the school is in operation, the library shall be 

open at least 10 hours per week outside the schedule of school 
hours. 

b. It is recommended that a school district public library shall do all of 
the following: 

1. The library shall not be used regularly as a classroom or study 
hall. 

2. The library shall acquire materials suited to the needs of its legal 
service area population. 

3. A sign shall be placed outside of the building where the library is 
located announcing the name of the public library and the weekly 
hours of operation when the library is available for the use of its 
legal service area population. 
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Part E: Cooperative Library Requirements  
I. Cooperative library requirements. 

a. To receive state aid under section 13 of the act, MCL 397.563, a 
cooperative library shall meet all of the following: 

1. A cooperative library shall be lawfully established as provided 
under the act. 

2. A cooperative library shall submit a cooperative plan as provided 
by section II of part E of these standards. 

3. The cooperative library shall employ a director for at least 6 
months during the reporting year possessing all of the following: 

aa. A level 1 professional certificate as described in part G 
of these standards. 

bb. At least 2 years of full time professional management 
experience. 

cc. Completion of advanced director training within 1 year 
of appointment. 

4. The cooperative library shall file with the department verification 
of current fidelity bond coverage.  

5. The verification shall be submitted with the original signature 
page of the annual application for state aid. 

b. The final annual state aid payment may be distributed to a cooperative 
library upon completion of all of the following: 

1. The cooperative library files with the department a copy of an 
annual financial audit completed within 12 months following the 
close of the fiscal year. 

2. If the annual financial audit report disclosed a deficit or other 
material deficiency, the cooperative library shall submit a 
corrective action plan for review and approval by the department. 

3. If a deficit is disclosed, the corrective action plan shall include a 
deficit elimination plan and proof that the plan was filed with the 
department of treasury, as required by section 21 of 1971 PA 
140, MCL 141.921. 

II. Cooperative library plan. 
a. A cooperative library shall submit a cooperative plan as prescribed by 

section 9 of the act, MCL 397.559. The plan shall include all of the 
following: 

1. A description of the basic services offered by the cooperative 
library, as approved by the department. 

2. A description of the cooperative library services offered by a 
participating library and furnished to members of the cooperative 
library. 

3. A description of the cooperative library services furnished by a 
contracting third party to members of the cooperative library. 

4. A specification of services that shall be paid for by members. 
5. The budget approval process to be utilized by the cooperative 

library. 
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6. The process for cooperative member withdrawal. 
b. When substantially modifying a cooperative library plan a cooperative 

library board shall do all of the following: 
1. Give notice to participating libraries describing the proposed 

substantial modification. 
2. Give notice to participating libraries of submission of the 

substantial modification to the department. 
3. Submit notice of each substantial modification to the department 

within 60 days after adoption. 
c. A cooperative library plan may include a provision authorizing a 

cooperative advisory council in addition to the cooperative governing 
board. 

d. Upon receipt of the plan of service or a substantial modification to a 
plan of service the department shall do the following within 30 days of 
the date of receipt: 

1. Approve the plan of service or a substantial modification to the 
plan of service and furnish the approval in writing. 

2. Deny the plan of service or the substantial modification to the 
plan of service and furnish the reasons for denial in writing. 

e. If the department does not respond to the cooperative library within 30 
days of receipt of a plan of service or a substantial modification to a 
plan of service, the plan of service or substantial modification to the 
plan of service is deemed approved. 

 
Part. F: Application for Professional Certification 

I. Certification application and renewal. 
a. A candidate seeking professional certification shall submit an 

application and credentials to the department for evaluation and 
approval. Proof of educational credentials may be made by submission 
of a sealed, certified transcript from a college or university or a 
statement from an authorized official of the accredited institution 
granting the credits. 

b. A certification level of 2 to 4 may be upgraded if an individual 
completes the requirements to achieve the next certification level as 
described in part G of these standards. To request a change in 
certification level an applicant shall complete the following: 

1. Contact the department in writing describing the reason for 
requesting the change in certification level and to verify the 
name on the existing record. 

2. Complete and submit an upgrade request form. 
3. Submit a sealed and certified transcript to the department that 

demonstrates that the requisite degree has been obtained. 
c. Professional experience for level 1 certification shall be documented 

through completion and submission of an upgrade request form and by 
letters from current or previous employers verifying the job title or 
responsibilities assigned the individual and documenting the hours 
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worked following receipt of the master of library science degree or its 
equivalent. The employer shall mail each verification letter to the 
department. 

d. An aggrieved applicant may appeal a certification decision as specified 
in section II of part H of these standards. 

 
 

II. Certification revocation. 
a. In accordance with the support and parenting time enforcement act, the 

department shall revoke a certificate upon receipt of a court order to 
revoke. The department shall give notice of revocation to the 
employing library on record. 

 
Part G: Professional Certification. 

I. Level 1 certification. 
a. The Library of Michigan shall grant a level 1 professional certificate to 

a person possessing all of the following qualifications: 
1. A master’s degree or its equivalent from a library school 

accredited by the American Library Association.  
2. Four years of full-time employment, or an equivalent time 

period, consisting of paid professional library work experience in 
a library approved by the department following the completion of 
educational requirements. 

II. Level 2 certification. 
a. The Library of Michigan shall grant a level 2 professional certificate to 

a person possessing a master’s degree or its equivalent from a library 
school accredited by the American Library Association. 

III. Level 3 certification. 
a. The Library of Michigan shall grant a level 3 professional certificate to 

a person possessing all of the following qualifications: 
1. A bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university. 
2. Completion of the beginning workshop offered by the Library of 

Michigan. 
IV. Level 4 certification. 

a. The Library of Michigan shall grant a level 4 professional certificate to 
a person possessing all of the following qualifications: 

1. A high school diploma or its equivalent. 
2. Completion of the beginning workshop offered by the Library of 

Michigan. 
3. One year of full-time employment or its equivalent consisting of 

library work experience following the completion of educational 
requirements. 

V. Certification revisions. 
a. As of October 1, 2009, an individual possessing a professional 

certification level of either 4 or 5 shall be recognized by the 
department as possessing a level 3 professional certification. An 
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individual possessing a professional certification level of either 6 or 7 
shall be recognized by the department as possessing a level 4 
professional certification. 

 
 
 
 
Part H: Waiver and Appeal 

I. Waiver of state aid requirements. 
a. The department, through the department director, may grant a limited 

waiver to a cooperative library or public library for a particular 
requirement prescribed by these standards for the receipt of state aid 
funds, if the public library or cooperative library requests the waiver in 
writing and the public library board or cooperative board shows that 
the failure to meet a requirement was not a continuing violation but a 
temporary condition. The department director may delegate the 
authority to the state librarian to grant waivers in writing. 

b. The department may consider waiver in cases where the failure to 
comply with a requirement prescribed by these standards is due to 
unforeseen circumstances beyond the requestor’s control. 

c. The department shall not grant a waiver unless the applicant submits 
an action plan for compliance before the end of the next reporting 
year. 

d. The department shall issue a written decision concerning each waiver 
request within 30 days of receiving the request. 

e. The department’s decision is binding. 
f. A separate waiver request is required for each state aid filing year. 

II. Professional certification review. 
a. A person may request a review of a denial of her or his application for 

professional certification submitted under these standards. A person 
who requests a review shall follow the procedures prescribed in this 
standard. 

b. To file a review under this standard, a requestor shall submit a written 
request that specifically states the word “review” and states the reasons 
for reversal of the denial. For the requestor’s review to be considered, 
the requestor shall file his or her review request within 60 days of the 
requestor’s receipt of the decision subject to review. The request for 
review shall be addressed to the Chief Appeals Officer, Michigan 
Department of Education, 608 W. Allegan St., P.O. Box 30008, 
Lansing, MI 48909. All information, records, and other materials that 
the requestor wants to be considered shall accompany the written 
request for review. 

c. The chief appeals officer shall contact the Library of Michigan and 
obtain a copy of the Library of Michigan’s official file on the 
application at issue. The officer shall not conduct a hearing, but shall 
consider all of the following: 
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1. The Library of Michigan’s file. 
2. All written submissions from the requestor. 
3. The standards for professional certification contained within part 

G of this document. 
4. Any other available information. 

d. Within 60 days, the chief appeals officer shall prepare a written 
decision and shall furnish a copy of the decision to the requestor and 
the Library of Michigan. A review constitutes an administrative review 
of the denial and is not conducted as a contested case proceeding. 

e. When considering the review, the chief appeals officer shall assess 
alleged errors in professional judgment and other alleged prejudicial 
errors of fact or law. The officer may base a decision in whole or in 
part on matters or factors not addressed in the action subject to review. 
When rendering a decision, the officer may do 1 of the following: 

1. Reverse the denial. 
2. Affirm the denial. 
3. Resubmit the matter to the Library of Michigan for further 

consideration. 
f. The decision of the chief appeals officer is the final decision on the 

review. A person may not be deemed to have exhausted his or her 
administrative remedies with respect to the certification governed by 
these standards until the officer has issued a final administrative 
decision under these standards. 
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Appendix A: Glossary 
 
Accredited institution: an educational institution recognized by a regional accrediting 
body and is a qualified institution, as defined by section 2 of 2005 PA 100, MCL 
390.1602. 
 
Act: the state aid to public libraries act, 1977 PA 89, MCL 397.551 to 397.576. 
 
Certification or certificate: the minimum educational and experience requirements 
applicable to public library employees and directors and cooperative library directors. 
 
Department: the Michigan Department of Education. 
 
Director: the public library or cooperative library’s chief administrative officer. 
 
Full time employment: working a minimum of 35 hours per week. 
 
Jurisdictional service area: the area that is within a public library’s legal boundaries 
wherein the electors are authorized to vote on a library millage and may be eligible to be 
library board members. 
 
Lawfully established: library establishment by a public or local act, city charter, or 
ordinance, or special act of the legislature and excludes any type of library that has been 
established in a fashion unrecognized by the department. 
 
Legal service area population: the total population residing within an area designated for 
and served by a public library, including the jurisdictional area and any contractual 
service area. 
 
Library class: the size criteria number, 1 to 6, based upon population served. 
 
Library of Michigan: the Library of Michigan created by the Library of Michigan Act, 
1982 PA 540, MCL 397.11 to 397.24. 
 
Library service: all library services that are offered by a public library. 
 
Participating library: a public library that has joined a cooperative library. 
 
Personnel or employee or staff: any person who is employed by or is an agent of a public 
library or a cooperative library. 
 
Population: the number of persons residing within a specific geographic area according to 
the last official federal census or special federal census. 
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Reasonable fee: an amount of money not more than the amount of money that a resident 
within a library’s jurisdictional service area pays annually through any millage, local 
appropriation, or other local support furnished for library service. 
 
State librarian: the person hired by the department to serve as the state librarian. 
 
Substantial modification: any change to a cooperative library plan of service that involves 
a change in public library membership which would require a change in the legal 
boundaries of a cooperative library as originally approved by the department. 
 
NOTE: A definition that is used in the act has the same meaning when used in these 
standards. 


