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PURPOSE: 
Facilities applying for trauma designation must meet all of the requirements set forth in the 
Administrative Rules, Mich. Admin. Code R. 325.125 et seq.  All facilities seeking 
designation will file the appropriate application with the Michigan Department of Health and 
Human Services, EMS and Trauma Division.  Applications are reviewed by the Designation 
Subcommittee of the Statewide Trauma Advisory Committee (STAC) and Emergency 
Medical Services Coordination Committee (EMSCC).  This advisory body will provide their 
recommendations to the department regarding whether a facility meets the criteria for the 
designation sought.  The department will make the final designation determination.  The 
facility may appeal the department’s final designation determination. 
 
COMPLIANCE CONFERENCE: 
Once the department issues a final determination denying the designation sought, the 
facility has 30 days from the date of the designation determination to request a compliance 
conference. The compliance conference will be attended by the Designation Subcommittee 
Chair or Designee, the Trauma Section Manager, and the pertinent Regional Trauma 
Coordinator and In-State Site Reviewer if the department determines the need.  The 
compliance conference will focus on addressing the identified critical deficiencies in a 
collegial manner to facilitate the applicant’s efforts to meet the identified criteria 
deficiencies.   
 
PROCEDURE: 

• If the identified critical deficiencies are met within 30 days of the compliance 
conference, the facility’s designation application will go back to the Designation 
Subcommittee. 

• If the identified critical deficiencies are not met within 30 days of the compliance 
conference, the department will issue a notice of designation denial. The facility may 
then appeal that determination in a Michigan Administrative Hearing within 10 days 
of the notice of designation denial.  

 
DESIGNATION ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING: 
 
According to 20910 of 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.9227 and 333.20910; 2004 PA 580, 2004 
PA 581, 2004 PA 582.  
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Rule 325.130 Rule 6 
(1) A healthcare facility, which intends to provide trauma care, shall obtain designation 

as a trauma facility and a healthcare facility shall not self-designate itself as a 
trauma facility. 

(2) A healthcare facility shall not use the word ‘trauma” to describe its facility, or in its 
advertising, unless it obtains and maintains a designation as a “trauma facility” from 
the department. 

(3) A healthcare facility that wishes to identify itself as a trauma facility shall meet the 
criteria for the level of designation being sought. 

(4) The department shall re-designate the trauma capabilities of each healthcare facility 
on the basis of verification and designation requirements in effect at the time of the 
re-designation.   

(5) To obtain a designation as a “trauma facility” the institution shall apply to the 
department.  An applicant healthcare facility has a right to an administrative hearing 
if denied specific trauma facility level designation. 

 
See also: 
Administrative Procedures Act of 1969 Act 306 of 1969, MCL et sec  
Chapter 4 Procedures in Contested Cases Sections 24.271-24.287 
Chapter 6 Judicial Review 24.301-24.306 
 
Note:  The procedures set forth in this policy are intended ONLY as guidance and 
should not be construed as all inclusive for every circumstance.  The department will 
review each case on an individual basis and make its determination based on all 
facts presented in relation to the case.  If the department deviates from this policy as 
adopted the reason shall be stated in writing.   
 
 


