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Summarize by using 
the analogy of a car 
and driver.

Each of these influences can be positive or negative. It’s important to know what is 
influencing your behavior so that you can make a decision based on what is right for 
you, rather than being swayed by an outside, negative influence. Being in charge and 
in control of the direction of your life is similar to being the driver of a car. A driver of 
a vehicle is in charge of the direction, speed, and safety of the vehicle. Who is in the 
driver’s seat of your life? Are you allowing someone or something to have power over 
you? Or are you driving your own car?

Collect the charts for use in Lesson 12.

Continue the analogy 
of the car and driver 
to reinforce the 
importance of  
following the law.

Drivers of cars and other vehicles need to understand and respect traffic laws.

Why do we have traffic laws?

Answer: to protect people from injury and to protect property

If a driver doesn’t know the traffic laws, it will be hard to follow them. In a similar way,  
if you don’t know and understand the laws regarding sexual misconduct and 
harassment it will be difficult to follow them as well. As the person in charge of your life, 
you need to know and respect these laws to be able to protect yourself and others.

Define the laws 
pertaining to the 
age of consent, 
sexual harassment, 
and criminal sexual 
conduct.

Most states have laws prohibiting sex under the age of consent, sexual harassment 
and criminal sexual conduct.1 Here’s a brief summary of these three laws:
•	 Every state has laws controlling the age when a person is considered old enough 

to consent, or agree, to sexual intercourse. This age is often referred to as the age 
of consent. In Michigan, that age is 16. Michigan law prohibits sex or sexual contact 
with an individual under the age of 16. This is a crime punishable by imprisonment. 
A person convicted of this crime may also be listed on the sex offender registry for 
15 years, 25 years, or life, and posted on the internet. This is a list of individuals 
convicted of sexual crimes. The 25-year and lifetime lists of offenders are published 
on the Internet. 

•	 Sexual harassment means unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, 
and other verbal or physical conduct or communication of a sexual nature. It is 
illegal when it interferes with a person’s ability to work or attend school in safety. 
Those who are guilty of sexual harassment can be suspended or expelled from 
school, lose their job, and be taken to court.

•	 Criminal sexual conduct is commonly called rape or sexual assault. It includes 
sexual contact that is forced, coerced, and/or obtained without a person’s consent. 
Penalties vary, depending on the crime, from a fine to a life sentence in prison.

It is important not only to know the laws but also to follow them and protect the rights  
of others.

If you are using this curriculum in a state other than Michigan, be sure 
to research the laws pertaining to your state and insert the appropriate 
information.

Reinforce the purpose 
of the law as a means 
to protect people who 
need to be protected.

The law protects people who need to be protected. It punishes people who exploit 
others. While it is easy to think of laws as punishment, they are usually in place to 
provide protection.

Teens can protect themselves and one another when they have a solid understanding 
of the law and the reasons behind it.

1	 Refer to appendices B and I, “Laws Governing Sexual Conduct,” and “Laws Regarding Sexual Harassment” or the laws of your 
state for additional information.
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Explore the meanings 
and ramifications of the 
laws further, using the 
student worksheet and 
teacher key, “Sex and 
the Law: Myths and 
Facts.”

Post the “Myth” and “Fact” signs at opposite ends of the room. Have students get out 
the student worksheet, “Sex and the Law: Myths and Facts,” that was assigned as 
homework in Lesson 8. 

Explain that you will read each item and ask them to stand under the sign that 
corresponds to their answer. Instruct students to choose an answer even if they are 
unsure. Reassure students that they are not expected to have all the correct answers.

If time is limited, consider having students signal their response by 
using a “thumbs up” if they think it is a fact and a “thumbs down” if they 
think it is a myth.

After reading each statement, have several students share their reasons for choosing 
their answer. Be sure to correct any misinformation.

Application: Apply knowledge of the law related to the age of consent to a situation.
13 minutes

Instructional Steps Script and Detailed Directions

Analyze a situation to 
apply knowledge of the 
issue of underage sex, 
using the slide master, 
“What You Don’t Know 
Can Hurt You: The 
Situation.” 

Lawmakers thought it was important enough for you to know the legal repercussions  
of underage sex that they require schools to include this information in their curriculum. 
I’m going to describe a situation. I’d like you to note any laws that were broken and the 
possible consequences for the students involved.

Display the slide, and describe or read the situation.

Lead a discussion to analyze the situation, using the following question:

What did the high school boys do that was against the law?

Answers:

•	 They had sex with someone under the age of 16.
•	 They gave the 14-year-old girls alcohol.

Analyze a situation 
to discuss the 
potential resulting 
legal consequences. 
Use the slide master, 
“What You Don’t Know 
Can Hurt You: The 
Consequences,” and 
the teacher reference, 
“The Influence of Law: 
What You Don’t Know 
Can Hurt You.” 

Lead a discussion to analyze the possible consequences, using the following question:

What could happen to the boys?

Answers:

•	 The boys could be charged with statutory rape, which is sex with a minor. Michigan 
law calls this situation Criminal Sexual Conduct.

•	 Having sex with a person 13 to 15 years of age is Third Degree Criminal Sexual 
Conduct.

•	 It does not require proof of force or coercion. 
•	 It is a felony. 
•	 If convicted, a person could face up to 15 years in jail and have to register as a sex 

offender.




