MICHIGAN CHILD SUPPORT PROGRAM QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE FOR EMPLOYERS

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) Child Support: www.michigan.gov/ChildSupport (click Employer Resources)

Michigan Child Support Program Employer Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) DHS-Pub-96: www.mfia.state.mi.us/ChildSupport/policy/Documents/DHS-Pub-96.pdf

Michigan State Disbursement Unit (MiSDU): www.misdu.com

MiSDU Employer Assistance Line: 800-817-0805

Federal Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE):

www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/css/employers

Thank You!

Employers are important partners in ensuring children receive the support they deserve.

EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES

- Report new hires or rehires.
- Respond to requests for information.
- Respond to National Medical Support Notices (NMSNs).
- Enroll children in health care coverage as directed by NMSN.
- Withhold support payments according to income withholding notices (IWNs; also known as income withholding orders [IWOs]).
- Send income withholding payments to the MiSDU.
- Contact the Michigan Office of Child Support (OCS) regarding withholding lump-sum income.
- Promptly report terminated employees who have income withholding orders/notices and NMSNs.

NEW HIRE REPORTING

Who to Report:

- Newly hired employees
- Rehired employees

When to Report:

- Within 20 days of the date of hire or rehire (the date an employee first performed services for pay) unless reporting magnetically or electronically.
- If reporting magnetically or electronically, report twice a month (if you have a new hire), but not less than 12 days nor more than 16 days apart.

What to Report:

- Employee's name
- Employee's Social Security number (SSN)
- Employee's address
- Employee's date of hire
- Employer's name
- Employer's address
- Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number

Where to Report:

Report to the state in which the employee works. For employees working in Michigan:

• Online: <u>www.mi-newhire.com</u>

• Fax: 877-318-1659

• Telephone: 800-524-9846

Mail:

Michigan New Hires Operation Center PO Box 85010 Lansing, MI 48908-5010

Multistate Employers:

- If you have employees in two or more states, you have the option to electronically report all new hires to one state.
- To register as a multistate employer with OCSE, complete the multistate form online at https://ocsp.acf.hhs.gov/OCSE.

REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION

- Respond to verification of employment, income and/or health insurance requests by completing the request form and sending it to the requesting agency or office identified on the form.
- Employers in other states will respond in accordance with the other states' law(s).

NATIONAL MEDICAL SUPPORT NOTICE

- Insurance plan administrator(s) or you if you are the plan administrator will enroll children in health care coverage, and you will withhold wages for the health care coverage, if applicable.
- Respond to Part A Employer Response and forward to the plan administrator(s) Part B Plan Administrator Response within 20 business days (you may be the plan administrator).
- The plan administrator(s) must respond to Part B within 40 business days from the date of the notice, enroll the child(ren) in health care coverage and provide the child's custodial parent with a description of the coverage.
- Follow the directions on the National Medical Support Notice (FEN302) and the Michigan Addendum to the National Medical Support Notice (FEN302A) for further detail.

INCOME WITHHOLDING LUMP-SUM INCOME Withhold support payments no later than the Before paying a lump sum to the employee, contact OCS Central Operations by: first pay period that occurs seven days after the date identified on the order/notice. • Phone: 866-540-0008 (when prompted, say "Employer Bonus") • Send the payment with the employee's name, SSN, and the "Remittance ID" shown on the • Email: MDHHS-OCSincome withholding notice within three days of EmployerBonus@michigan.gov the withholding. •• Fax: 517-335-3030 •• If sending by mail, send it to: • Mail: **MiSDU MDHHS** PO Box 30350 **OCS Central Operations** Lansing, MI 48909-7850 Lump-Sum Reporting PO Box 30744 • Submit payments by check, cashier's Lansing, MI 48909-8244 check, money order, credit card/debit card, electronic funds transfer (EFT), Automated OCS (and/or Friend of the Court) staff will help Clearing House or direct deposit. Call 800vou determine: 817-0805 for information on these options. •• If the employee has an obligation that requires lump-sum income withholding; and Notify the issuing Friend of the Court office when the employee no longer works for you. • How much you must withhold from the lump sum. You may electronically report lump-sum income to Michigan through OCSE's electronic Income



Withholding (e-IWO) Portal.

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political beliefs or disability.