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Healthy Homes Section

PO Box 30195
Lansing, M1 48909
Email: www.michigan.gov/leadsafe
Ph: 517 -335-9390 Fax: 517-335-8800

Michigan Department of
-!.".‘Ilh A H Iman Services

Lead Training Scholarship Application
State-Certified Lead Professional

Michigan’s Lead Abatement Act of 1998 requires that any person performing lead hazard control
services must be certified by the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS). Funds
are now available to help pay training costs for lead supervisors and lead workers for eligible individuals.
To be eligible for training, individuals must work for a certified lead abatement contractor willing to bid
on projects in Flint Michigan, or licensed builders want to become lead abatement contractors. Training
classes will be paid for by MDHHS - Healthy Homes Section (HHS) directly to the trainers. The
application, certification and exam fees will be waived for those who complete the training and pass the
State examination.

Please complete this application and send it (mail, fax or email), along with the other required
information to:

MDHHS/HHS

3" Floor

PO Box 30195

Lansing, MI 48909

fax: 517.335.8800 email: wagarj@michigan.gov

Applicant Name

Employer

Applicant Address

City ZIP County
Phone Fax Email
Household gross income (income pre tax & deductions) for last year was: S

Income includes but is not limited to wages, salary, tips, disability, social security, unemployment,
alimony, child support and welfare assistance (for statistical purposes only).

Lead training class type: (Check one box only)

I:I Abatement Supervisor Initial (4 days) I:I Abatement Worker Initial (3 days)

To enroll in the Lead Supervisor course you must have 2 years of experience in a construction related job. If
you are uncertain if your experience meets this requirement please call Jay Wagar at 517-284-4823 to
discuss the issue. People taking the Lead Abatement Worker course do not need prior experience.
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After completing the training course you will need to submit an application, a copy of your training
certificate, and a work history form (provided with this application), to the State of Michigan. You will
need to take the State exam within 6 months of the training class date. Passing the exam can be
attempted 3 times within this 6 month period for no additional cost. If the third-party exam is not taken
within the 6 month period the training will expire. You will not be permitted to take the exam after that.
All fees paid are non-refundable. The student is responsible for payment of all travel/lodging costs and
fees associated with certification.

For Workers and Supervisors - NOTE: In order to do lead abatement work as an Abatement
Supervisor or Abatement Worker, the person must be employed by an abatement company
certified by the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. If lead hazard control
projects are using only interim control methods then workers or supervisors do not need to work
for a certified abatement company.

When | have completed training and certification as an Abatement Supervisor or an Abatement
Worker,

I:I | will be gaining employment with a certified lead abatement company after being certified
I:I | am currently employed by a certified lead abatement company
I:I | will be starting a certified lead abatement company

I:I | will be performing set up and clean up on interim control projects only

All information given on this application is accurate and true to the best of my knowledge.

Applicant Signature Date
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1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7)

8)

Lead Training Application Instructions
to Become a State-Certified Lead Professional

Please review the Summary of Accreditation and Certification Requirements attached to ensure that
you have the right education and/or experience requirements for the class certification being sought.
If unsure, contact the Healthy Homes Section.

Fill out the training application and the Certification of Work Experience. Provide a copy of education
degrees, if any. Send all materials to the Healthy Homes Section to the address at the bottom of the
letter. Keep a copy of the work experience form, because it will need to be sent again in Step 6.

If approved, a letter for training will be sent. Information about trainers and the certification
application will be included. If the application is denied a letter will be sent with a reason for the
denial.

Call the trainer to register for the course. Bring your approval letter to the trainer as proof that the
class will be paid directly by the Healthy Homes Section.

After passing the class test, send the following to the Healthy Homes Section:

- Lead Professional Certification Application
- Copy of training class certificate
- Certification of Work Experience if applying to be a lead supervisor

Upon approval of the certification application, the Healthy Homes Section will send a certification
exam notice letter allowing you to take the State exam; a date and time will be listed. The exam
location will be on the letter you receive. Directions will be provided.

Upon passing the State certification exam the Healthy Homes Section will mail a certification card with
photo identification to you. You must take and pass the State exam within 6 months of taking the
class.

Certification renewal notices will be sent annually. You will be responsible for payment of annual
certification fees after the initial certification.

Questions? Contact us! Mention that you are seeking assistance with a stipend training application.

Michigan Department Health and Human Services (MDHHS) - Healthy Homes Section (HHS)

PO Box 30195
Lansing, Michigan 48909

Phone: 517.335.9390, Fax: 517.335.8800
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Healthy Homes Section
&DHHS
Githiaas s s b Lansing, Ml 48909

Ph: 517-335-8466
Fax: 517-335-8800

Certification of Work Experience www. michigan.gov/leadsafe

The information herein will be used to determine qualifications of lead professional certification applicants, in accordance with the
Lead Abatement Act of 1998 .

Discipline for which application is being made:

(Supervisor, Risk Assessor, Project Designer)

Name of Individual seeking certification:

Home Address:

Home phone. ( ) Email Address:

Please provide the following information as completely and accurately as possible. Any misrepresentation may
result in denial or revocation of certification and associated privileges, and/or assessment of a penalty, as
specified in the Lead Abatement Act.

DATES WORK HISTORY
From Employer
To Address
( )
City Zip Work phone

Work description

DATES WORK HISTORY
From Employer
To Address
( )
City Zip Work phone

Work Description

Additional information may be entered on the reverse side of this form.
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http://www.michigan.gov/leadsafe

DATES WORK HISTORY
From Employer
To Address
( )
City Zip Work phone

Work Description

DATES WORK HISTORY
From Employer
To Address
( ).
City Zip Work phone

Work description

DATES WORK HISTORY
From Employer
To Address
( )
City Zip Work phone

Work Description

Work Experience - pg. 2
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Michigan Approved Lead Stipend Training Providers

No.
T- Name Address Telephone Contact Worker Supervisor
0005 Environmental Testing and 38900 Huron River Drive P: 734-955-6600 Tiffany Westcott X X
Consulting, Inc. Romulus, Ml 48174 Jeremy Westcott
jeremy.westcott@2etc.com
bryan.dryer@?2etc.com
0022 Analytical Testing & 14625 Doster Rd. P: 269-664-6474 Chelsea X X
Consulting Services, Inc. Plainwell, M1 49080 Douglas Haase
ATVSInc@aol.com

0049 Lead Renovator Training 8756 Trenton P: 248-698-6900 Edward Wenz X X
White Lake, M| 48386
wenz_ed@yahoo.com

0067 Detroit Training Center 277 Gratiot Avenue P: 313-221-5876 Marcus Jones X X
Suite 210

Detroit, Ml 48226
marcus@detroittraining.com
0063 Green Door Initiative 5555 Connor P: 313-922-8055 Jessica Patton X X
Suite 1017

Detroit, Ml 48213
jessica@greendoor.org

Only the accredited training providers on this list are able to provide training stipends. Students are responsible for contacting the training provider to
reserve a seat in the class. Currently scheduled classes may be found on HHS website at: www.michigan.gov/leadsafe > State-Certified Lead Professionals >
Certification, Training, and Exams > Schedule of approved classes.
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