

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You: The Consequences

- The boys could be charged with statutory rape, which is sex with a minor. Michigan law calls this situation Criminal Sexual Conduct.
- Having sex with a person 13 to 15 years of age is Third Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct.
- It does not require proof of force or coercion.
- It is a felony.
- If convicted, a person could face up to 15 years in jail; have to register as a sex offender; be listed on the sex offender registry for 15 years, 25 years, or life; and be posted on the Internet.





The Influence of Law: What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

Part 1: The Situation

A high-school senior class president in a wealthy suburb and three of his friends invited two 14-year-old girls to come to one of the boy's homes after school. No adults were present. The boys gave the girls alcohol to drink and had sex with them. The girls told school officials what had happened, and the school officials were legally obligated to report the incident to the police.

Part 2: The Consequences

- The boys could be charged with statutory rape, which is sex with a minor. Michigan law calls this situation Criminal Sexual Conduct.
- Having sex with a person 13 to 15 years of age is Third Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct.
- It does not require proof of force or coercion.
- It is a felony.
- If convicted, a person could face up to 15 years in jail; have to register as a sex offender; be listed on the sex offender registry for 15 years, 25 years, or life; and be posted on the Internet.

Part 3: The Rest of the Story

This is a true story that occurred in Michigan.

- All of the boys were charged with statutory rape and went to court. The court case received
 a lot of media attention because the boys denied that the incident occurred.
- If convicted of Third Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct, as originally charged, they would have faced up to 15 years in jail and would have had their names on the Sexual Offender's Registry.
- However, when faced the possibility of a felony conviction, they all pled guilty to a lesser charge. The boys served 60 to 180 days in jail. In addition to the legal consequences, the college admission to University of Michigan was revoked for one of the boys because of his behavior and his poor judgment.