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This guide provides travel reimbursement information from the Office of Workforce Development and Training, 
Child Welfare Training Institute (CWTI).  This information applies to foster care and adoption training and does 
not apply to family preservation or Bureau of Child and Adult Licensing (BCAL) training.  Please visit 
http://www.michiganchildwelfaretraining.com/Training/Travel.aspx for access to the Michigan Standardized 
Travel Regulations, as well as the forms needed to obtain the state rate for lodging and to request an 
exception for a weekend overnight stay. 
 
TRAININGS APPROVED FOR TRAVEL REIMBURSEMENT  

Pre-Service Institute (PSI)  
Program Specific Transfer Training (PSTT)  
Child Welfare Supervisor Training  
PRIDE 
Child Welfare Certificate PSI 

 
In-service or agency-administered trainings are not approved for travel reimbursement.  
 
TRAVEL  

CWTI will reimburse mileage at the private agency’s rate or the current State of Michigan standard rate, 
whichever is less. All travel must be by the most direct route to and from the official workstation to training 
location unless traveling from the trainee’s home will result in less mileage.  Reimbursement will not be allowed 
for travel between a trainee’s home and official workstation.  Arrival and departure times must be documented.  
Reasonable vicinity miles may be claimed for travel from a hotel to the training location to a restaurant and 
back.  
 
LODGING  

For trainees who must travel over 50 miles (one way per map mileage), CWTI will reimburse overnight lodging 
using the private agency’s rate or the current State of Michigan standard rate, whichever is less.  
 
EXCEPTION REQUEST FOR WEEKEND OVERNIGHT LODGING  

Reimbursement for lodging is approved when arriving on Sunday for training scheduled for Monday and 
extends through Thursday, departing on Friday after the training. Overnight lodging for Friday and Saturday 
nights requires pre-approval from CWTI.  
 
If a trainee will be lodging for an extended period of time for multiple day trainings and the trainee’s travel is 
more than 500 miles round trip, an exception request must be submitted to CWTI.  To request an exception, 
the private agency must submit a cost benefit analysis no later than two weeks before the training date that 
explains how allowing the trainee to stay overnight on a weekend will save the state money.  Submit the cost 
benefit analysis to Denise Turner at TurnerD@michigan.gov.  
 
If an exception request is approved, the approval notification must be attached to the DHS-1582 forms and 
receipts. 
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MEALS  

Effective July 1, 2012 meals will not be reimbursed, as they are included in the per diem payments made for 
completion of training. All questions related to per diem payments should be directed to:  DHS-
federalcompliancedivision@michigan.gov.  
 
RECEIPTS  

Original receipts are required for all qualifying expenses related to travel.  If it is required by the private agency 
to retain original receipts, a copy of the itemized receipt is acceptable only when submitting a certifying letter 
verifying accurate totals and explaining why original receipts are not being provided.  

 
Hotel receipts must be original, itemized receipts whether booked through the hotel or booked with an online 
agency such as Expedia.com, Priceline.com or Hotels.com.  Online receipts must give the same information 
that receipts paid to hotels in person contain:  actual check-in date and time, actual check-out date and time, 
room rate, all taxes associated with the room and final cost.  We must have itemized receipts to ensure the 
State of Michigan is only paying for the room and not for additional costs that are not normally reimbursed (i.e., 
room service, phone and movies). When booking online ensure an itemized receipt is available for printing.* 
Verbal or written hotel costs that are not accompanied by an itemized receipt will not be honored. 
 
* It is advisable to print out all transactions before closing the website. 

 
REQUIRED FORMS  

Please visit http://www.michiganchildwelfaretraining.com/Training/Resources/Forms.aspx for access to the 
most recently revised travel voucher forms.  
 

Non State Employee Travel Voucher (DHS-1582-TV-NSE), rev. 6-15.  

When completing this form, use the following:  
 

  2. Agency Number is 431-60130. 
  

11. Specify training attended (i.e. FC PSI, Adoption PSTT, FC Supervisor, etc.). 
  

15. Enter the number of map miles traveled rounding to the nearest whole mile.  Attach 2-sided 
MapQuest printout. 

  

16. Premium mileage does not apply. 
  

17. Enter the total for the miles traveled multiplied by the reimbursement rate.  For example, if you 
traveled 65 miles and if the reimbursement rate is .360, the total would be $23.40 (calculated by 
multiplying 65 by .360).  

  

18. Enter the actual lodging cost up to $75.00 (the current state rate as of October 1, 2012) plus tax.  
Attach original itemized hotel receipts with the reimbursement request. 

  

19-20. Meal reimbursements do not apply.  
  

21. Itemize and identify dollar amounts of the other expenses, such as bus fare, parking, or bridge tolls.  
Attach receipts. 

  

25. Supervisor must sign and date.  Print name below signature. 
  

26. Student MUST sign and date.  Print name below signature. 
  

28-35. Completed by CWTI staff.  

 
 
Payment Voucher (DHS-1582), rev. 5-15. 

It is necessary that all Non-State Employee Travel Vouchers (DHS 1582-TV-NSE) have a Payment Voucher 
(DHS-1582) attached from the agency.    Do not write in Box 11.  In Box 12 enter information as:  (a) Student 
Name, (b) Beginning and Ending Travel Dates, (c) Class, (d) Reimbursement Amount.  Do not write in Box 15 
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thru Box 34.  These spaces are reserved for central office use only.  Contact information can be entered in Box 
14 as:  Name / Phone Number / Email Address.  A certification letter must be attached to the Payment 
Voucher. 
 

Certification Letter  

A certification letter on agency letterhead is required from the agency certifying that all travel receipts and 
totals from the Travel Voucher have been audited and are accurate.  
 
Sample language and information needed:   
 

DATE  
MAILING ADDRESS OF RECIPIENT  
 
Our agency is requesting reimbursement for payment(s) made to the agency employee(s) listed below for 
travel expenses while attending MDHHS / CWTI training. 
 

Trainee Name(s) Travel Dates  Class Name  
Amount 

Paid 

Exact name as registered in 
OmniTrack Plus, formerly J-Jolt 

01-02-15 to 02-01-15 Must be specific, i.e., FC PSI, 
Adoption PSTT, FC Supervisor, etc. 

$00.00 

 
Total:  Provide total for all expenses - must match the total on the Payment Voucher.  
 
Federal ID#:  
 
I certify that the above employee(s) have been paid the amounts stated above and in accordance to the 
state of Michigan Standardized Travel Regulations for reimbursement for travel expenses while attending 
MDHHS / CWTI training on the above dates.  
 

Agency Certifying Signature in blue ink   

Print Name below Signature, Title 

  

 Date 

 

 
 
SUBMITTING FORMS  

The following forms must be included in the travel reimbursement request packet:  
 

Signed certification letter on agency letterhead  
DHS-1582 Payment Voucher 
DHS-1582-TV-NSE Travel Voucher for Non State Employees for each trainee  
MapQuest printout(s)  
All original receipts  

 
When multiple trainees attend the same training, each trainee must complete a DHS-1582-TV-NSE, attach 
receipts, and submit to his or her agency account representative for auditing. The agency must attach all forms 
and documentation together to a DHS-1582 with the cumulative total in Box 14.  It is important to assure that 
all vouchers are completed accurately.  Improper or incomplete vouchers may be returned and require 
resubmission, delaying payment.  
 
Mail Payment Vouchers with required forms and documents to: 
 

INGHAM COUNTY MDHHS / OWDT 
Attention:  Denise Turner 
P.O. Box 30088 
5303 S. Cedar Street 
Lansing, MI  48911   
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FISCAL YEAR END  

The state fiscal year starts October 1 and ends September 30 of the following year.  For example, fiscal year 
2016 starts October 1, 2015 and ends September 30, 2016.  When submitting travel reimbursement vouchers 
for travel that started before fiscal year end and overlaps the start of a new fiscal year (September 30, 2015 
and October 1, 2015), then the DHS 1582 and DHS 1582 TV NSE vouchers will need to reflect the separate 
years.  To do this, submit one voucher reflecting the travel reimbursement request ending September 30, 2015 
and send a second voucher reflecting the travel reimbursement request beginning October 1, 2015. 


