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Michigan Truck Weight Laws 

• Since 1967, Michigan has allowed 

164,000 pounds GVW on eleven axles 

• In 1982, federal standards set at 80,000 

pounds GVW on five axles 

• Michigan’s weight laws “grandfathered” in 

• If repealed, they cannot be re-enacted 



Trucking Supports the 

Economy 

• Trucking accounts for 67% of 

freight tonnage moved in 

Michigan 

• $408 billion worth of 

Michigan products to market 

• 290 million tons moved/year 

• 3.7 billion commercial 

vehicle miles traveled/year 

 



Trucks in Michigan 

111,470 Trucks Registered in Michigan 

46,150 medium trucks under 26,000 GVW 41% 

27,360 standard 80,000-lb. 5-axle semis  25% 

6,385 able to carry more than 80,000 lbs.  6% 

2,649 of those registered to carry over 145,000 lbs.  2% 

31,575 in interstate commerce (IRP)  28% 

Plus trucks from other states and provinces 

 



Registration Fees 

  32,000-lb. delivery truck $649 

  80,000-lb. 5-axle semi $1,660 

  164,000-lb. 11-axle truck $3,117 

  164,000-lb.  log or farm truck $120 

  Median automobile $92 



Total Truck Road-User Fees 

5-axle truck in intercity service  

500 miles/day, 250 days/year: 
$8,208 diesel fuel tax (state & federal, plus sales tax) 

1,660 Michigan registration tax 

      550 federal heavy-vehicle use tax (plus tire tax) 

$10, 418 per year total road-user fees 

8.33¢ per mile 

$41.67 per day 



 

 

 

 

 

Questions? 
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Customer Service is Important 
Please take our customer survey: 

https://www.research.net/s/ZKC9H99   


