

## STATE OF MICHIGAN MICHIGAN GAMING CONTROL BOARD DETROIT

In the matter of:

ALL 2017 RACE MEETING LICENSEES AND SIMULCAST PERMIT HOLDERS

\_\_\_\_\_ /

## HORSEMEN'S SIMULCAST PURSE ACCOUNT 2017 DEPOSIT ORDER

WHEREAS, §19 of the Horse Racing Law of 1995, as amended, MCL 431.319, (hereafter "the act") requires each race meeting licensee to pay a certain portion of its net commission from all money wagered to a horsemen's simulcast purse account; and,

WHEREAS, §19 of the act, MCL 431.319, requires the distribution of that money for purses for live horse races at licensed race meetings in the State of Michigan; and,

WHEREAS, pursuant to §19 of the act, MCL 431.319, all money paid into a horsemen's simulcast purse account must be deposited in a depository designated by the participating certified horsemen's organizations; and,

WHEREAS, pursuant to \$14(7) of the act, MCL 431.314(7), each race meeting licensee shall maintain an interest bearing account used exclusively to deposit all money due to horsemen's purse pools. All money due to this account must be deposited within a reasonable time. All interest earned by the account must be credited to the purse pool and deposited in the account; and,

WHEREAS, pursuant to \$15(2) of the act, MCL 431.315(2), on the first day other than Sunday after each day of operation each race meeting licensee must remit the money due to the state or other entities under the act at the close of the day of operation with a detailed statement of that money.

**NOW THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED** that beginning January 1, 2017, that each 2017 race meeting licensee and simulcast permit holder shall deposit its net commission into a horsemen's simulcast purse account, pursuant to and in accordance with the requirements of §§14(7), 15(2), and 19 of the act.

Failure to abide by the requirements of the act, administrative rules, or the provisions of this order may result in sanctions including, but not limited to, revocation or suspension of

a license, exclusion from racetrack grounds, or a fine of up to \$25,000 for each violation of the act, administrative rules, or of this order.

## IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/

Date: February 28, 2017

Richard S. Kalm, Executive Director Michigan Gaming Control Board