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Things to Know about Michigan’s Electric Choice 
Market:  

 As a customer, you have the choice to switch 
to an Alternative Electric Supplier (AES) for 
your electric supply.  

 If you choose to purchase your electric supply 
from an AES, your contracted rate and terms 
and conditions (including any termination 
fees) are subject to your specific contract with 
the AES.  

 Under state law, no more than 10 percent of 
an electric utility’s average weather-adjusted 
retail sales for the preceding calendar year 
may take service from an AES at any time. If 
your utility’s 10 percent cap is fully subscribed, 
you will be placed in their queue, per the 
procedures established in Case No. U-15801. 
For more information regarding Case No.  
U-15801 and the 10 percent cap, please see 
the Customer Choice tab under Electricity on 
the MPSC link cited on this page.  

 As a utility full-service customer your utility 
provides you with a bill, which includes a 
customer charge, distribution charges, fees, 
taxes and electric supply charges. If you switch 
to an AES, they may simply include their 
charges on your utility bill in place of the utility 
electric supply charge, or they may send you 
their own bill for the electric supply only.  

Residential Customer Information: 

 Some utilities may require you contact them    
directly to obtain your specific customer data 
to provide to the AES prior to taking service.* 

 As an electric choice customer, you may have   
anywhere from a 3 to 14-day cancellation 
period, pending enrollment with the AES, 
before the switch is executed.*   

 Written notice to the utility is required if you  
to return to the company for full-service, 
which will be in accordance with your next bill 
cycle and a minimum 12 month stay is 
required.   

Commercial Customer Information: 

 A customer is usually required to have an 
interval meter.  Interval meters are read via 
telephone line, which you as the customer 
will provide and maintain.  You will be 
responsible for all costs of the telephone 
connection.  

 To be served by an AES, you may have a 
minimum stay requirement of 24 months.*  

 Written notice to the utility is required from 
the customer for return to the utility.  A 
December 1 notice may be required for 
customers who will be taking full-service 
during the following summer and a 12 month 
stay may apply.*  

*Customers should consult their utility’s tariff for 
specific rules. 

For More Information:  
For more information about Electric Choice, go to 
the Michigan Public Service Commission’s 
Customer Choice website at michigan.gov/mpsc   

Contact information for an AES and your utility 
can also be obtained through this link.  

http://www.michigan.gov/energy
http://www.michigan.gov/mpsc
http://www.michigan.gov/mpsc
http://www.michigan.gov/mpsc/0,4639,7-159-16377_17111---,00.html

