Frequently Asked Questions

Electric

1. Why are there so many electric outages?

Catastrophic storms (severe weather), weather (lightning, heavy ice, strong
wind), trees (in and out of right-of-way), equipment failure, public interference
(dig ins, car crashes, vandalism, third party contact), animals (raccoons,
squirrels, birds) and scheduled maintenance are known causes of electric
outages.

2. What are the rules that apply to electric restoration if a customer is
waiting to be restored due to storm outages?

The rules for restoration of electric service can be found in the Service Quality
and Reliability Standards for Electric Distribution Systems at
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_N
um=46000701&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=.

Rule 44 describes the penalty for failure to restore service after an
interruption due to catastrophic conditions: “Unless an electric utility requests
a waiver pursuant to part 5 of these rules, an electric utility that fails to
restore service to a customer within 120 hours after an interruption that
occurred during the course of catastrophic conditions shall provide to any
affected customer that notifies the utility of the interruption with a bill credit on
the customer's next bill. The amount of the credit provided to a residential
customer shall be the greater of $25.00 or the customer's monthly customer
charge. The amount of the credit provided to any other distribution customer
shall be the customer's minimum bill prorated on a daily basis.”

3. What are the rules that apply to electric restoration if a customer is shut
off for non-payment?

After a utility has shutoff service, it shall restore service promptly upon the
customer's request when the cause has been cured or credit arrangements
satisfactory to the utility have been made. Except for reasons beyond its
control, the utility shall restore service not later than the first working day after
the customer's request. The utility may assess the customer a charge,
including reasonable costs, for restoring services and relocating the
customer's meter as specified in the utility's approved schedule of rates and
tariffs.
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. Can the utility company estimate my bill?

Utility companies are allowed to estimate a bill every other month. However,
an estimated bill has to be clearly identified. Utilities may also estimate bills
due to weather conditions, inaccessible meter (in the house, locked gate, dog
in yard) meter locations, emergencies, work stoppage, or any other
circumstances beyond the control of the utility company.

. What are the guidelines for tree trimming?

Utilities are required to trim trees due to improve safety, efficiency, and
reliability. The Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC) and the National
Electrical Safety Code (NESC) requires your utility company to trim trees that
may interfere with overhead utility lines. (Untrimmed trees can result in
outages, damages, injuries, and even deaths if not appropriately maintained).
Michigan law states that a utility can gain what is known as a prescriptive
easement. This means that the utility can gain access to power lines on
private property without prior consent from the property owner. After a routine
tree trimming job, the smaller pieces of debris may be turned into muich,
while the much larger pieces will be cut and left for the property owner to
dispose of. The stumps are removed and then are cut as close to the ground
as possible.

. Does The MPSC regulate damages that occurred during storms and
outages?

The MPSC does not have jurisdiction over damage claims. This problem
would need to be settled between the utility company, the customer, and
possibly the customer’s insurance company.

. Can a customer avoid disconnection due to a medical illness?

A utility can postpone the shutoff of service for 21 days at a time. The
customer needs to produce a physician’s certificate or notice from a public
health or a social services official stating that the shutoff of service will
aggravate an existing medical emergency with a permanent resident of the
premises. This temporary hold will not exceed 63 continuous days in one
billing year. Contact your utility company for details.

Am | required to give my Social Security Number when applying for
new service?

A utility shall not require a customer or applicant who has prior utility service
history with any electric or gas provider in Michigan or elsewhere during the
previous 6 years to provide the utility with his or her social security number as
a condition of obtaining or continuing a utility service. However, a utility may



ask for a picture identification and a copy of the birth certificate which is
normally done in person.

9. What can I do if the company will not make payment arrangements?

Utility companies are not obligated to make payment arrangements (for
example, if the customer has defaulted on a previous payment arrangement).
However, utility companies rarely deny a payment arrangement. If you are
denied a payment arrangement, you always have the option of locating
agencies (for example, the Department of Human Services, Salvation Army,
etc.) for assistance.



