
EX-201 (11/07) 
MICHIGAN STATE POLICE 
 

 

 
Over 800 Citations Issued During Trucking Enforcement 

 
Effort aimed at increasing compliance with registration program 

 
 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE       August 3, 2009 
 
LANSING.  Michigan State Police (MSP) is announcing that MSP motor carrier officers conducted 2,675 

compliance checks under the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) program during a weeklong statewide 

enforcement blitz that started July 12.   

 

During the week, motor carrier officers issued 230 citations for UCR non-compliance and 625 safety-

related citations.  Additionally, the Michigan Public Service Commission reported a significant increase in 

UCR program registrations during this period.   

 

The UCR program replaced the Single State Registration System (SSRS) in 2005.  All interstate and 

international motor carriers including brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies (who were 

exempt from the SSRS), are required to register.  The fees collected under the UCR program are used 

for commercial vehicle safety and enforcement programs.  Failure to register under UCR is a 

misdemeanor with a fine of up to $500 and/or 90 days in jail.   

 

To register under the UCR program, Michigan commercial motor vehicle carriers can contact the 

Michigan Public Service Commission at (517) 241-6030 or visit www.ucr.in.gov.  

 
### 

 
CONTACT: Lt.  Patrick Morris, MSP Traffic Safety Division, (989) 758-1909 
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