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Don’t miss life’s important moments; move over for emergency vehicles

STATE TROOPER FEATURED IN NEW STATEWIDE CAMPAIGN

The successful recovery of Tpr. Drew Spencer of the Michigan State Police (MSP) following a life-
threatening crash is the focus of a new public information and education campaign encouraging motorists to move
over for emergency response vehicles. The first-of-its-kind statewide campaign uses Spencer’s story to highlight

the little and big moments emergency workers could miss if injured or killed

in the line of duty.

The Save a Life. Give a Lane. It's the Move Over Law. campaign G‘VE A LANE
gives a first-hand account from Spencer, who suffered severe injuries after
being struck by a vehicle while conducting a traffic stop in 2011. Following It's the Move Over law
weeks of intensive physical and occupational therapy, Spencer returned to full duty less than one year later.

“Every day emergency responders risk their lives on the side of the road to protect Michigan citizens,” said
Michael L. Prince, director of the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning (OHSP), the agency that developed
the campaign with federal traffic safety funds. “We hope Trooper Spencer’s miraculous story helps draw attention
to the dangers we all face if drivers don't exercise caution when passing emergency vehicles.”

Under Michigan's Emergency Vehicle Caution Law, more commonly known as the Move Over Law,
motorists must move over for stationary emergency vehicles with their lights activated or slow down and pass with
caution if it is not possible to safely change lanes. The law applies to police, fire, rescue, ambulance, wrecker and
road service vehicles.

According to the Federal Highway Administration, approximately 20,000 emergency workers are injured
every year responding to traffic incidents across the country.

The Save a Life. Give a Lane. It's the Move Over Law. campaign includes a 60-second radio public service
announcement (PSA) and 30-second television PSA. Both PSAs are being made available to media outlets across
the state by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters (MAB). Media outlets can download the PSAs under the
Community Service section of the MAB Web site, Michmab.com.

The Save a Life. Give a Lane. It's the Move Over Law. television PSA can be viewed at Youtube.com/ohsp.

A motorist found responsible for violating the Move Over Law is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to
enhanced penalties of up to 15 years in prison and\or a $7,500 fine if the violation causes injury or death to a police
officer, firefighter or other emergency response personnel.

This project is part of Michigan’s Strategic Highway Safety Plan signed by Gov. Rick Snyder in February.
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