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FACT SHEET
Drunk-Driving Facts and Figures
The U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is joining forces with law enforcement nationwide during the 2018 Labor Day Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over high-visibility enforcement campaign, which runs from August 17 through September 3, 2018. The enforcement campaign coincides with the 2018 Labor Day holiday weekend, which is one of the deadliest times of the year in terms of drunk-driving fatalities. With NHTSA’s support, state, county, and local law enforcement agencies across the nation are stepping-up enforcement to put an end to drunk driving, showing zero tolerance in an effort to save lives.
Sobering Statistics
· In 2017, 320 people died in Michigan as a result of alcohol involved traffic crashes and 221 people died as a result of drug involved traffic crashes. 
· Nationwide approximately one-third of all traffic crash fatalities involve drunk drivers (with blood alcohol concentrations [BACs] of .08 of higher). In 2016, there were 10,497 people killed in these preventable crashes. 
· On average, more than 10,000 people have died nationwide each year (between 2012 and 2016) in drunk-driving crashes. To put it in perspective, that’s the equivalent of 20 jumbo jets crashing, with no survivors. 
· In 2016, almost one in five children (14 and younger) killed in traffic crashes were killed in drunk-driving crashes. Fifty-four percent of the time, it was the child’s own driver who was drunk.
· In 2016, motorcycle riders involved in fatal crashes had higher percentages of alcohol impairment than any other type of motor vehicle driver (25 percent for motorcycle riders, 21 percent for passenger cars, 20 percent for light-trucks, and 2 percent for large trucks.

Labor Day Statistics
· During the 2017 Labor Day holiday in Michigan, 15 people died in traffic crashes. 

· Of the 15 people killed over the 2017 Labor Day holiday in Michigan, 26.6 percent involved alcohol. 
· Nationally, in fatal crashes during the month of August, over a five-year period from 2012-2016, almost 10% of the drunk drivers involved, with a BAC of .08 or higher, had one or more previous convictions for drunk driving.


Drunk Driving Comes at a Cost

Drunk driving can cost you your life, but it can also cost you financially. If you’re caught drinking and driving, you could also face jail time. 

· A first-time offender convicted of drunk driving faces:
· Up to 93 days in jail.
· Up to a $500 fine.
· Up to 360 hours of community service.
· 6 points on a driver’s license.
· Up to 180 days with a suspended license; restricted license possible after 30 days.

· A first-time offender convicted of drunk driving with a BAC of .17 or higher faces enhanced penalties, including:
· Up to 180 days in jail.
· Up to a $700 fine.
· One-year license suspension, with license restrictions permitted after 45 days if the vehicle is equipped with an ignition interlock device.
· Mandatory one-year rehabilitation program.

· Anyone that refuses a breath test the first time is given a one-year driver’s license suspension.  For a second refusal within seven years, it is a two-year suspension.

For more information about the Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over campaign, visit www.TrafficSafetyMarketing.gov.
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