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SSTTAATTUUTTEESS  
 

Provisions of the Michigan Vehicle Code relating to 
operating a vehicle while intoxicated amended  
 
Public Act 315 of 2014, effective January 12, 2015, 
amended various sections of the Michigan Vehicle Code 
relating to operating a vehicle while intoxicated.  The 
amendments included replacing previous provisions for a 
“preliminary chemical breath analysis” with provisions for a 
“preliminary roadside analysis” and authorizing a police 
officer to require a person to submit to a preliminary 
roadside analysis under certain circumstances.   
 
Preliminary Roadside Analysis 
 
MCL 257.43a was added to define the term “preliminary 
roadside analysis” to mean the on-site taking of a 
preliminary breath test from the breath of a person or the 
performance and observation of a field sobriety test for the 
purpose of detecting the presence  of any of the following 
within the person’s body: 
1. Alcoholic liquor. 
2. A controlled substance as defined in MCL 333.7104. 
3. Any other intoxicating substance as defined in MCL 

257.625. 
4. Any combination of above substances. 

 
MCL 257.625a(2) was amended to authorize a peace 
officer to require a person to submit to a preliminary 
roadside analysis if any of the following exist: 
1. The officer has reasonable cause to believe that a 

person was operating a vehicle upon a public 
highway or other place open to the public or generally 
accessible to motor vehicles, including parking areas, 
and the person’s ability to operate a vehicle may have 
been affected by the consumption of alcoholic liquor, 

a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance 
or a combination of them. 

2. The officer has reasonable cause to believe that a 
person was operating a commercial motor vehicle within 
this state while the person’s blood, breath, or urine 
contained any measurable amount of alcohol, a 
controlled substance or any other intoxicating substance 
or while the person had any detectable presence of 
alcoholic liquor. 

3. The officer has reasonable cause to believe that a 
person who is less than 21 years of age was operating a 
vehicle upon a public highway or other place open to the 
public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, 
including an area designated for the parking of vehicles, 
within this state while the person had any bodily alcohol 
content as that term is defined in MCL 257.625(6).   

 
The results of a preliminary roadside analysis are 
admissible in a criminal prosecution or administrative 
hearing for the purposes set forth in MCL 257.625a(2)(b). 
 
MCL 257.625a(2)(d) was amended to provide that a person 
who refuses to submit to a preliminary roadside analysis 
upon a lawful request by a peace officer is responsible for a 
civil infraction; however, under MCL 257.625a(5), if the 
person was operating a commercial motor vehicle at the 
time, the person is guilty of a 93-day misdemeanor.   
 
MCL 257.625a(4) was amended to require that a person 
operating a commercial motor vehicle be advised that 
refusing a peace officer’s request to submit to a required 
preliminary roadside analysis is a misdemeanor punishable 
by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not 
more than $100.00, or both, and will result in the issuance 
of a 24-hour out-of-service order.   
 
Officers should note that MCL 257.625a(2) only requires a 
person to submit to one preliminary roadside analysis.  
Officers may continue to request that a person take more 
than one preliminary roadside analysis, but a person cannot 
be cited or arrested for failing to submit to more than one.   
 
Chemical Tests and Analysis of a Person’s Blood, Urine, or 
Breath other than a Preliminary Roadside Analysis 
 
MCL 257.625g was amended to require the peace officer 
who requested the person to submit to the chemical test to 
immediately do the following: 
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CCRRIIMMIINNAALL  LLAAWW  AANNDD  PPRROOCCEEDDUURREE  MMAANNUUAALL 
 
The third edition of Michigan Criminal Law and Procedure: A 
Manual for Michigan Police Officers is now available for 
purchase in print and eBook formats.   
 
The manual is published by Kendall Hunt Publishing Co.  
Copies may be ordered online at    
https://www.kendallhunt.com/michigan_criminal_law/ or by 
calling Kendall Hunt Customer Service at (800) 228-0810.   
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If a person refuses a chemical test:   
1. Confiscate the person’s license or permit to operate a 

vehicle and, if the person is otherwise eligible for a 
license or permit, issue a temporary license or permit 
to the person. 

2. Forward a copy of the written report of the person’s 
refusal to submit to a required chemical test to the 
Secretary of State (SOS). 

3. Notify the SOS through the Law Enforcement 
Information Network (LEIN) that a temporary license 
or permit was issued. 

4. Destroy the person’s license or permit.  
 
If a person submits to a chemical test or a chemical test 
is performed under a court order and the test reveals an 
unlawful alcohol content, or the presence of a controlled 
substance or other intoxicating substance or a 
combination of any of them:   
1. Confiscate the person’s license or permit to operate a 

vehicle and, if the person is otherwise eligible for a 
license or permit, issue a temporary license or permit 
to the person. 

2. Notify the SOS through the Law Enforcement 
Information Network (LEIN) that a temporary license 
or permit was issued. 

3. Destroy the person’s license or permit.  
 

If a person submits to a chemical test that requires an 
analysis of blood or urine and the results are not 
immediately available:   
1. Confiscate the person’s license or permit to operate a 

vehicle and, if the person is otherwise eligible for a 
license or permit, issue a temporary license or permit 
to the person. 

2. Notify the SOS through the Law Enforcement 
Information Network (LEIN) that a temporary license 
or permit was issued and indicate in the notice that a 
subsequent chemical test is pending. 

3. Upon receipt of a report that reveals an unlawful 
alcohol content, or the presence of a controlled 
substance or other intoxicating substance, or any 
combination of them, destroy the person’s license or 
permit.  

4. Upon receipt of a report that does not reveal an 
unlawful alcohol content, or the presence of a 
controlled substance or other intoxicating substance, 
or any combination of them, notify the person of the 
test results and return the person’s license or permit 
by first-class mail to the address provided at the time 
of arrest.   
 
 
 

 
 
 

Code of Criminal Procedure amended to authorize 
conditional release of a person who submitted to a 
preliminary roadside analysis under certain 
circumstances when a subsequent chemical test is 
pending 
 
Public Act 316 of 2014, effective January 12, 2015, 
amended MCL 765.6b of the Code of Criminal Procedure to 
allow a judge or district court magistrate to release a 
defendant subject to conditions reasonably necessary for 
the protection of the public if the defendant submitted to a 
preliminary roadside analysis that detected the presence of 
alcohol, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating 
substance, or any combination of them and a subsequent 
chemical test is pending.  The judge or district court 
magistrate shall inform the defendant of both of the 
following: 

1. As a condition of release, he or she shall not operate a 
motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol, a controlled 
substance, or another intoxicating substance, or any 
combination of them. 

2. If he or she violates the above condition of release, he or 
she will be subject to arrest without a warrant, shall have 
his or her bail forfeited or revoked, and shall not be 
released from custody prior to arraignment. 

 
The judge or district court magistrate must immediately 
direct the issuing court or a law enforcement agency within 
the court’s jurisdiction to enter the conditional release order 
or an amended conditional release order into LEIN.  If the 
order or amended order is rescinded, the judge or district 
court magistrate must immediately order the issuing court 
or a law enforcement agency to remove the order or 
amended order from LEIN.  The issuing court or law 
enforcement agency shall immediately enter or remove the 
order or amended order.   
 
As a result of these amendments, a person who is found 
operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol, a 
controlled substance, or another intoxicating substance, or 
any combination of them in violation of a conditional release 
order will be subject to warrantless arrest and shall not be 
released from custody until the person is arraigned.     
 
Officers are reminded that the duties of a peace officer who 
makes a warrantless arrest for a violation of a condition of 
release imposed under MCL 765.6b are detailed in MCL 
764.15e.   
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To receive the Update via email, click here or go to 
www.michigan.gov/msp-legal and click on “subscribe to legal 
updates.” 
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