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SSTTAATTUUTTEESS  
To read the full text of these statutes go to 
www.michiganlegislature.org, or click on the public act 
or statute citation following each summary. 
 
MCLs 333.7410 & 777.18 
Libraries added to drug free zones 
Effective March 30, 2007 
 
Public Act 552 of 2006 amends the drug free 
school zone statute to include libraries.  It 
will now be unlawful to possess a controlled 
substance within 1,000 feet of a library.  
Libraries covered by the new statute include 
state, local, and school libraries.  It also 
includes privately-owned libraries open to 
the public. 
 

Public Act 552 of 2006
 

 
MCLs 445.401 – 445.408 
Second Hand or Junk Dealers 
Effective March 30, 2007 
 
Public Act 675 of 2006 amends the law 
governing second hand and junk dealers to 
allow local licensing and inspection of such 
dealers.  The Act also requires that dealers 
maintain records of transactions and that 
those records be available for inspection by 
local, but not state, law enforcement.  The 
records must include a fingerprint of persons 
selling scrap to the dealer.  Finally, the Act 
makes it a felony for a dealer to knowingly 
buy or sell stolen scrap metal.   
 

Officers should note that this section does 
not apply to pawnbrokers, which are 
separately addressed in the Pawnbrokers 
Act, MCL 446.201 et seq. 
 

Public Act 675 of 2006
 
 
MCL 750.174 
Embezzlement from a charity 
Effective March 30, 2007 
 
Public Act 573 of 2006 increases the 
penalties for embezzlement when the victim 
is a charity recognized under the Internal 
Revenue Code and adds additional tiers for 
all embezzlements.  Under the amended 
statute, the following penalties apply to 
embezzlement from a charity: 
 
Amount Embezzled Penalty
Less than $200  1 year misdemeanor 
$200 to $1,000  5 year felony 
$1,000 to $20,000 10 year felony 
 
Additional tiers for all embezzlements are as 
follows: 
 
Amount Embezzled Penalty
$20,000 to $50,000 10 year felony 
$50,000 to $100,000 15 year felony 
More than $100,000 20 year felony 
 

Public Act 573 of 2006
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The MSP Training Division’s Criminal Law 
and Procedure, A Manual for Michigan Police 
Officers, is published annually and 
supplemented at least once between 
publications.  For those wishing to update 
their 2006 edition, a Winter 2007 Supplement 
is available on the MSP Legal Resources 
website. 
 
The 2007 edition is tentatively scheduled for 
release in July. 

N  TTHHIISS  IISSSSUUEE…… 
 
Statutes 
Libraries as Drug Free Zones 1 
Junk Dealers   1 
Embezzlement from a Charity 1 
Did You Know? 
Exceeding Authority  2 
Back to Basics 
Entry to Make Arrest  2 

This update is provided for informational purposes only.  Officers should contact their local prosecutor for an 
interpretation before applying the information contained in this update. 

mailto:MSPLegal@Michigan.gov
http://www.michiganlegislature.org/
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2005-2006/publicact/pdf/2006-PA-0552.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(b0520tn1upnvds55jgc4zmy3))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-Act-273-of-1917
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2005-2006/publicact/pdf/2006-PA-0675.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2005-2006/publicact/pdf/2006-PA-0573.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/msp/Supplement_to_2006_edition_-_Winter_2007_191037_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,1607,7-123-6498-16120--,00.html


MSP Legal Update, March 2007 
Page 2 of 2 

DDIIDD  YYOOUU  KKNNOOWW??  
 
Note: The following material does not represent new 
law.  Instead, it is intended to inform officers of 
infrequently used laws which might prove useful. 
 
Exceeding authority during the execution 
of a search warrant can lead to criminal 
sanctions  
 
MCL 780.657 makes it a one year 
misdemeanor to willfully exceed the 
authority granted by a search warrant or to 
execute a search warrant “with unnecessary 
severity.”  In order to avoid liability under this 
section, officers taking part in the execution 
of a search warrant should always read the 
search warrant and ensure they understand 
its scope.   
 

  
BBAACCKK  TTOO  BBAASSIICCSS  

  
Note: The following material does not represent new 
law.  Instead, it is intended to reinforce basic rules of 
law that police officers frequently apply. 
 
Entry into a residence to make an arrest 
generally requires a search warrant 
 
The statutory authority to enter a residence 
to make an arrest can be found in MCL 
764.21.  This statute applies when police 
have been refused admittance to a 
residence where the suspect is reasonably 
suspected to be located.  It allows an officer 
to forcibly enter a residence to make an 
arrest pursuant to any arrest warrant, or for 
a felony without a warrant.  However, courts 
have restricted use of the statute as 
described below.    

 
Felony Arrests 

 
With an Arrest Warrant:  In Payton v. New 
York, the U.S. Supreme Court held that a 
valid felony arrest warrant allows police to 
enter a suspect’s residence to make the 
arrest when there is reason to believe the 
suspect is inside.   
 
Without an Arrest Warrant:  Unless exigent 
circumstances exist, police may not enter a 
residence to make a warrantless felony 
arrest (Payton).  This is the rule no matter 

who owns the residence and whether or not 
the suspect is inside.  Examples of exigent 
circumstances justifying entry include hot 
pursuit and significant and apparent danger 
to the public or police. 
 

Misdemeanor Arrests 
 
The Michigan Court of Appeals has held that 
MCL 764.21 does not authorize entry into a 
residence for a warrantless misdemeanor 
arrest (People v. Reinhardt).  The Payton 
rule applies to arrests with a misdemeanor 
warrant. 
 

Third Party Residences 
 

When the person named in an arrest 
warrant is located inside a residence owned 
by a third party, the rule is simple: Officers 
must obtain a search warrant or consent 
before making entry.   
 
Both the U.S. Supreme Court (Steagald v. 
United States) and the Michigan Court of 
Appeals (People v. Stark) have held that 
arrest warrants do not authorize entry into 
third party residences – even when officers 
are certain the wanted person is inside. 
 
 
 

SSUUBBSSCCRRIIPPTTIIOONNSS 
 
Officers from any agency are welcome to 
subscribe to receive the Update via e-mail, 
and may do so by sending an e-mail to 
MSPLegal@Michigan.gov.  The body of the 
e-mail must include: 

1. Name (first & last) 
2. Rank 
3. Department 
4. Work phone 
5. E-mail address 
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