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Nearly 3,000 vehicles stopped during 
three-month TACT program
Officers from six West Michigan law 
enforcement agencies stopped nearly 
3,000 vehicles and issued more than 
2,500 traffic citations during the Ticketing 
Aggressive Cars and Trucks (TACT) program 
last October, November, and December. 

The majority of the citations were 
for following too close and speeding. 
Approximately 14 percent of those cited 
were commercial motor vehicle drivers.

The TACT program combined out-
reach and education with enforcement 
activities for safe driving around trucks. 
Participating officers were on the lookout 
for violations by both passenger vehicle 
and truck drivers such as improper lane 
use, careless and reckless driving, speed-

ing, following too close, and failure to yield 
the right of way.

Enforcement took place on U.S. 131 
and I-196 in Kent and Ottawa counties. 
The Grand Rapids area was selected after 
a review of crash data showed high crash 
rates associated with aggressive behavior.

OHSP supported the TACT program 
with funds from the Federal Motor Carrier 

Continued on page 3 >

Michigan helmet 
use rate drops 
to 73 percent
Nearly three-quarters of motorcycle rid-
ers in Michigan wear helmets, down from 
99.4 percent in 2006 when the last state-
wide observation survey was conducted. 
The most recent survey was conducted 
throughout the summer by the Wayne 
State University Transportation Research 
Group.

This rate closely mirrors the 74.7 percent 
helmet use rate among crash-involved 
motorcyclists.

Helmet use was highest for those riding 
sport bikes at 94.8 percent. It was lowest 
for riders of choppers and custom bikes at 
37.5 percent. Women were more likely to 
wear a helmet at 79 percent, compared to 
men at 70.6 percent. Riders 60 and older 
had the highest helmet use rate at 73.5 
percent, while riders 30 to 59 years old had 
the lowest use rate at 65.5 percent.

Michigan’s mandatory helmet law was 
modified in the spring of 2012. To legally 
ride without a helmet, a motorcycle oper-
ator must meet all the following criteria:
	 Be at least 21 years old

Continued on page 3 >

Continued on page 3 >

NHTSA proposes first-ever side impact 
test for child restraint systems 

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s 
N at i o nal  H ighw ay Tr af f ic  S af e t y 
Administration (NHTSA) recently proposed 
upgrades to the federal motor vehicle 
safety standard for child-restraint systems 
to ensure child passengers are protected 
in side crashes. The proposed upgrades 
would include a first-ever side impact 
test for car seats sold in the U.S. that are 
designed for children weighing up to 40 
pounds.

In the proposed test simulating a 
side-impact vehicle crash, car seats must 
demonstrate they can safely restrain a 
child by preventing harmful head contact 
with an intruding vehicle door and reduc-
ing the crash forces transmitted to the 
child’s head and chest. NHTSA estimates 
that the proposal would save five lives and 
prevent 64 injuries annually.

Under the proposal, car seats would be 
tested in a specially designed sled test that 
simulates a “T-bone” crash, where the front 
of a vehicle traveling 30 mph strikes the 
side of a small passenger vehicle traveling 
at 15 mph. The sled test is the first of its 

■ 
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Updated brochure 
about dangers of 
underage drinking 
now available
The Michigan Office of Highway Safety 
Planning recently updated its brochure 
Under 21? This free publication contains 
information about the penalties under-
age drinkers face if they are caught driving 
with alcohol in their system or with alco-
hol in their possession. These types of 
citations can impact students’ futures as 
colleges, military recruiters, and employ-
ers may take alcohol-related offenses into 
consideration when accepting applica-
tions or hiring.

Copies of the brochure can be ordered 
by calling (517) 636-4256 or e-mailing a 
request to trafficsafety@michigan.gov.

New regional sobriety court program 
offered in the Upper Peninsula
A new regional sobriety court in the west-
ern Upper Peninsula (U.P.) is making it 
easier for offenders to participate in a pro-
gram that has been credited with reducing 
impaired driving recidivism.

The Western U.P. Regional Sobriety 
Court includes both the 97th and 98th 
District Courts, which cover Baraga, 
Gogebic, Houghton, Keewenaw, and 
Ontonogan counties. 

As the number of sobriety courts has 
increased, so have the obstacles for get-
ting offenders into treatment. Typically, a 
drunk driver has to be arrested in the same 
court jurisdiction they live in to qualify 
for a sobriety court program. Michigan’s 
Judicial Outreach Liaison, retired Judge 
Patrick Bowler, has been working with 
court personnel to establish four regional 
sobriety courts. These courts allow offend-
ers to participate in the program closest to 
their home as opposed to the jurisdiction 
in which they were arrested. This lessens 
the burden on the offender, who typically 
has his/her license revoked during the first 
few months in the program. 

Sobriety courts address alcohol disor-
ders, which can be the underlying behavior 
of drunk driving, by guiding offenders 
identified as alcohol- and drug-addicted 
into treatment that reduces their sub-
stance use dependence and improves 
their quality of life. In the typical sobriety 

court program, participants are closely 
supervised by a judge who is supported 
by a team of addiction treatment providers, 
prosecuting attorneys, public defenders, 
law enforcement officers, and parole and 
probation officers. 

There are currently 16 offenders partic-
ipating in the U.P. program. Judge Mark 
Wisti of the 97th District Court estimates 
that 500 days of jail time have been saved 
by having the offenders enrolled in the 
sobriety court program. 

“This is not easier than going to jail,” 
Judge Wisti said. “They’re constantly tested. 
It’s not hugs for thugs.”

Court programs in northern and west 
Michigan and the “Thumb” are expected 
to be up and running later this year.

Wisti believes the program only has 
room to grow as defendants who enter 
the court system with a substance abuse 
problem will receive treatment instead 
of incarceration. Wisti also cites the team 
approach as a key to the program’s suc-
cess. The western U.P. program is a 
partnership with the Phoenix House sub-
stance abuse treatment facility, Dial Help, 
Self-Management and Recovery Training, 
Copper Country Mental Health, Houghton 
County Sheriff’s Office, prosecutors, and 
defense attorneys.

Spring drunk driving crackdown kicks off March 12
Law enforcement agencies in 26 counties 
will take to the streets during a Drive Sober 
or Get Pulled Over drunk driving crackdown 
March 12-April 4.

This time period includes the National 
Collegiate Athletic Association men’s and 
women’s basketball tournaments, high 
school and college spring break periods, 
and St. Patrick’s Day. A five-year review of 

crash data indicates both alcohol use and 
lack of seat belts play a significant role in 
fatal and serious injury crashes in March 
and early April. 

Law enforcement officers from Allegan, 
Berrien, Calhoun, Chippewa, Delta, Eaton, 
Genesee, Grand Traverse, Houghton, 
Ingham, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kent, 
Livingston, Macomb, Marquette, Monroe, 

Muskegon, Oakland, Ogemaw, 
Ottawa, Saginaw, St. Clair, Van 
Buren, Washtenaw, and Wayne coun-
ties are participating in the crackdown. 
The Michigan Office of Highway Safety 
Planning is coordinating the effort which 
is supported by federal traffic safety funds.
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What’s Ahead
February

6	 Drivers Age 24 and Younger Action 
Team meeting, Michigan State Police 
Headquarters, 333 South Grand Avenue, 
Lansing 1917 Room, 1:30 p.m.
March

11	 Pedestrian & Bicycle Safety Action 
Team meeting, Michigan State Police 
Headquarters, 333 South Grand Avenue, 
Lansing, 1970s Room, 9 a.m.

12-4/7	 	 Drive Sober or Get 
Pulled Over drunk driving crackdown	
	Michigan.gov/ohsp

12 	 	Michigan Truck Safety Commission 
meeting, 1131 Centennial Way, Lansing, 
9 a.m.

13	 Senior Mobility and Safety Action 
Team meeting, Horatio S. Earle Learning 
Center, 7575 Crowner Drive, Dimondale, 
Lake Superior Room, 1:30 p.m. 

25-27	Michigan Traffic Safety Summit, 
Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center, 
Michigan.gov/ohsp
April
National Distracted Driving Month 
Focusdriven.org
Alcohol Awareness Month 
Nih.gov

Register now for the Michigan 
Traffic Safety Summit
Online registration is now open for the 
Michigan Traffic Safety Summit which 
is March 25–27 at the Kellogg Hotel & 
Conference Center in East Lansing. 

The three-day conference will include 
speakers from across the country and 
more than 25 workshops on child pas-
senger safety, commercial motor vehicle 
safety, impaired driving, motorcycle safety, 
traffic enforcement, vehicle and roadway 
engineering, and much more.

Attendee and nonprofit exhibitor regis-
tration is $85 on or before February 28 and 
$125 after February 28. For-profit exhibitor 
registration is $250 on or before February 

28 and $395 after February 28. Attendees 
and exhibitors must register through 
Mi.train.org. March 7 is the registration 
deadline for exhibitors. The registration 
deadline for attendees is March 14.

Attendees and exhibitors must make 
their own hotel reservations and are 
responsible for payment of their lodging. 
The Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center is 
the official hotel for the Michigan Traffic 
Safety Summit. Rooms are available for $75 
per night by using group code TSS032414. 
Reservation deadline is February 21.

For more information, visit Michigan.
gov/ohsp.

Have at least $20,000 in first-party
medical benefits
Have held a motorcycle endorsement
for at least two years or have passed 
an approved motorcycle safety course

The law also allows motorcycle passengers 
to ride without a helmet as long as they 
meet all the following criteria:

Are at least 21 years old
Have at least $20,000 in first-party
medical benefits insurance in addition
to the insurance that is required of the
motorcycle operator

A person younger than 21 years old still 
must wear a helmet approved by the U.S. 
Department of Transportation when oper-
ating or riding on a motorcycle.

Helmet Continued from page 3 >

kind in the world being proposed for regu-
lation, as it simulates both the acceleration 
of the struck vehicle and the vehicle door 
crushing toward the car seat. In addition 
to using an existing 12-month-old child 
dummy, the proposed test will also utilize a 
newly developed side-impact dummy rep-
resenting a 3-year-old child. The agency 
proposed a three-year timeframe for car-
seat manufacturers to make any necessary 
changes to meet the proposed require-
ments upon final rule publication.

Side Impact Continued from page 1 >

TACT Continued from page 3 >
Safety Administration and the Michigan 
Truck Safety Commission dedicated for 
this purpose. The participating agencies 
included the Michigan State Police, Kent 

and Ottawa county sheriff offices, and 
Grand Rapids, Walker, and Wyoming police 
departments.

■ 

■ 

■ 
■ 



January 2014	 Michigan.gov/ohsp

SAFETY Network

4

Michigan’s car seat, booster seat use rates decline
Fewer children are riding in car seats and 
booster seats in Michigan, according to 
an observation survey conducted by the 
Wayne State University Transportation 
Research Group. For children from birth to 
3 years old, 93.6 percent were in car seats, 
down from 95 percent in 2011. Booster seat 
use is at 42.4 percent for 4- to 7-year-olds, 
down from 43.9 percent two years ago. 

The survey found that children were 
least likely to be in the correct car or 
booster seat if: 
■	 Riding in a pickup truck (only 28.2 per-

cent properly restrained for children 4 
to 7)

■	 The driver was male (40.2 percent
properly restrained for children 4 to 7
compared to 43.4 percent for women)

■	 The driver was 60 or older (35.6 per-
cent properly restrained for children 4
to 7 compared to 45.3 percent for driv-
ers 16 to 29)

■	 The driver was not buckled up (82 per-
cent properly restrained for children
from birth to 3 and 37.1 percent prop-
erly restrained for those 4 to 7)

The study also looked at misuse rates. 
The most common misuse for rear-facing 
seats was the seat not being reclined at the 
proper angle. Rear-facing and forward-fac-

ing seats both had frequent issues with the 
harness retainer clip position and excessive 
slack in the harness strap. The most com-
mon booster seat misuse was the shoulder 
belt not being properly positioned over 
the shoulder and chest of the child.

Michigan law requires drivers and pas-
sengers 15 years old and younger in any 
seating position to be buckled up. Children 
must be properly buckled in a car seat or 
booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4 
feet 9 inches tall.

Weather-related or human error?
Rethinking how we characterize bad weather crashes

By Michael L. Prince, Director, Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning

Every winter, we hear it and read it time 
and time again in media reports, “The 
crash is reportedly weather-related” or “ice 
and snow-covered roads were cited as the 
cause of the crash.” I find it both frustrat-
ing and inaccurate because we know these 
crashes are overwhelmingly driver error, 
mostly going too fast for road conditions. 

All of us as drivers are responsible for 
making sure we can keep our vehicles 
under control at all times, under all cir-
cumstances, whether the road has been 
plowed or salted or not. That is the law. 
No excuses. Anticipate slick spots and so-
called “black” ice. Turn down the radio, stay 
off your phone, and most of all, pay atten-
tion. If a driver does not have the skill set 
or experience, or does not want to accept 
that responsibility, that person has the 

obligation to stay off the roads until he or 
she is capable of driving safely. 

But for some reason, in poor weather 
the road conditions frequently receive the 
blame instead of characterizing the crash 
as being caused by driving too fast for road 
conditions or failing to maintain control of 
the vehicle.

This is an educational issue, and we all 
need to do a better job of reeducating our-
selves and the media about it every winter. 
We also need to stress to those that talk 
to the media the importance of properly 
characterizing the crash. After all, this is 
Michigan, not San Diego, California. We get 
snow, ice, sleet, and rain and sometimes all 
four at once. 

The warnings go out from law enforce-
ment to slow down, give yourself extra 

time, and leave some space between you 
and the vehicle in front of you. But does 
everyone listen? No. So why do we give 
them a free pass when they crash? Start 
putting the blame where it belongs: on 
the driver. That same driver that passed 
you and me this morning on a two-lane 
country road that was so slippery the top 
safe speed was 20 miles per hour, but they 
were going 50. 

So the next time a reporter calls and 
asks you if the road conditions were a fac-
tor in the crash, respond by saying that 
the responsibility is always with the driver 
to drive according to the road conditions. 
Speed was a factor, failing to maintain con-
trol of the vehicle was a factor, following 
too close was a factor, and this is Michigan. 

Drive slow on ice and snow. 
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The benefits of a Drug Recognition Expert 
prosecutor in the courtroom
By Chris Anderson, Eaton County Assistant Prosecuting Attorney

To address the serious issue of driving under 
the influence of a controlled substance, 
intoxicating substance or liquor, or a com-
bination of these substances on Michigan 
roadways, the Michigan Office of Highway 
Safety Planning introduced a program in 
2011 to train law enforcement officers as 
Drug Recognition Experts (DREs).

Michigan is the only state that invites 
prosecutors to attend the DRE school. The 
experience and knowledge that these prose-
cutors receive during this training have been 
beneficial in preparing them for Operating 
While Intoxicated (OWI) trials. 

This benefit is best illustrated by the fol-
lowing words from Eaton County Assistant 
Prosecuting Attorney Chris Anderson who 
attended the DRE school. 

“I have worked as an assistant prosecut-
ing attorney (APA) since August 2010. As a 
young APA I was assigned, like many other 
young APAs, to a district court caseload 
that contained a fair share of drunk driv-
ing cases. It was never really an issue for me 
to understand how alcohol affected one’s 
ability to drive in a safe manner. The chal-
lenge for me was always the case in which 
someone was driving after taking a double 
dose of their Vicodin or another prescribed 
substance. 

“What evidence was I going to have 
that such a driver’s ability to operate was 
impaired; the results of the Standardized 
Field Sobriety Test (SFST)? Oftentimes 
I would see cases in which the suspect 
performed well enough during SFST that 
when I was reviewing the case I may have 
declined to issue charges based on what I 
perceived to be a lack of evidence of intox-
ication or impairment. 

“In 2012, Kenneth Stecker invited me to 
attend the classroom portion of the DRE 
program. The two weeks I spent participat-
ing in the program were two weeks very 
well spent. The program was demanding 
and intense. It started with the premise 

that there are seven classes of intoxicat-
ing substances that people use and abuse 
before driving. 

“While it is true that the program is pri-
marily geared towards law enforcement 
officers who are engaged in impaired 
driving enforcement, there is much to be 
gained by an APA attending the program.

“Becoming a DRE-trained prosecutor 
has provided me with the tools to evalu-
ate cases in a more complete manner. It 
has enabled me to see the impairment in 
a case that many may not see. While SFST 
is a great tool for law enforcement, those 
tests were designed to detect alcohol-
impaired drivers. Becoming a DRE-trained 
prosecutor has made me more effective 
in evaluating drug-impaired driving cases. 

“It has helped me understand the sig-
nificance of observations made by law 
enforcement officers who are encounter-
ing these people. The knowledge I have 
acquired has enabled me to pull critical 
information out of non-DRE trained offi-
cers who failed to see the relevance of 
that information. Changes in attitude, lev-
els of consciousness, or ability to carry on 
a conversation in an intelligent manner, all 
provide cause to suspect drug intoxication 
that had been missed initially. 

“The program also made me a bet-
ter courtroom advocate for my impaired 
driving cases. The old saying ‘knowl-
edge is power’ is ever so true in regards 
to drug-impaired driving prosecutions. 
The knowledge I acquired through the 
DRE program has made me more adept at 
cross-examining experts, directing police 
officers and lab personnel, and at tying evi-
dence together for a jury. 

“It also made me a better prosecutor in 
other aspects. It raised my level of under-
standing of how certain substances affect 
the human body and why people like to 
abuse them. It is not just about controlled 
substances. Growing up I knew kids that 

‘robo-tripped’ or ‘Triple-C’d,’ by drink-
ing large amounts of cough syrup. Who 
knew that dextromethorphan (DXM) was 
the substance that they were really seek-
ing, whether they knew it or not? I naively 
assumed that the robo-tripping was just a 
delivery vessel for the alcohol I believed 
cough medicine contained. Not so much, 
as I learned. DXM is found in countless cold 
and cough medications sold freely over 
the counter. At high doses DXM creates 
a high that is similar to PCP. This knowl-
edge changed how I evaluated other cases 
such as retail frauds. It also changed how 
I read the sections of police reports that 
detailed the personal property obtained 
from a suspect that had been arrested. It 
has changed how I formulated plea offers 
and sentence recommendations. 

“All in all, the two weeks that I spent 
completing the classroom portion of the 
DRE program was an amazing experience. 
The knowledge that I gained has been 
put to use on a nearly daily basis. I would 
strongly encourage anyone with an inter-
est in impaired driving prosecution to 
consider making the commitment and 
completing the program. 

For more information on this article and 
PAAM training programs, contact Kenneth 
Stecker, Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor, 
at (517) 334-6060 or e-mail at steckerk@
michigan.gov. Please consult your prosecu-
tor before adopting practices suggested by 
reports in this article. Discuss your practices 
that relate to this article with your command-
ing officers, police legal advisors, and the 
prosecuting attorney before changing your 
practice.
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April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month
Materials available to help promote issue

More than 3,300 people died in distracted 
driving crashes across the country in 2012. 
The age group with the greatest propor-
tion of distracted drivers was those under 
20, with 16 percent of drivers younger 
than 20 involved in fatal crashes reported 
to have been distracted while driving. Of 
those drivers involved in fatal crashes who 
were reportedly distracted, the 30- to 
39-year-olds had the highest proportion 
of cell phone involvement.

Research shows that high visibility 
enforcement works because, with many 
distracted drivers, the fear of a citation 
and significant fine outweighs their fear 
of being injured or killed in a crash. To 
help promote distracted driving enforce-
ment efforts during the month of April, 
the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA) is placing a 
national advertising buy April 7-16. This 
marks the first time NHTSA has purchased 
advertising to promote distracted driving 
enforcement.

In addition, banner ads, radio and televi-
sion public service announcements, logos, 
posters, and graphics for social media sites 
are available at Trafficsafetymarketing.gov/
DistractedDrivingPrevention.

State and national distracted 
driving data available on the Web
Two Web sites that can provide data 
and other information about dis-
trac ted dr iv ing and other  traf f ic 
safety issues are Distraction.gov and 
MichiganTrafficCrashFacts.org.

Distraction.gov contains national data, 
research, facts, statistics, stories of lives 
affected by distracted driving, as well as 
opportunities to get involved with the 
fight to end distracted driving.

MichiganTrafficCrashFacts.org provides 
comprehensive, state-level traffic crash 
data and reports. Fact sheets about traf-
fic safety issues, including cell phone issue, 
and a data query tool that allows users to 
specify data by city, county, date, or type 
of crash are also available.

Free DiSTrACTeD DriviNg MATeriAlS AvAilAble FroM oHSP
The Michigan Office of Highway Safety 
Planning has three publications that 
can be used to help promote safe driv-
ing during National Distracted Driving 
Awareness Month in April, including:
■	 Thumbs on the Wheel flyer-Learn

about the three main types of 
distraction and the penalties for dis-
obeying this regulation. Limit 250

■	 Thumbs on the Wheel poster-This
poster helps promote Michigan’s 
ban on texting while driving and 
includes information about the pen-
alties. Limit 25

■	 Distractions, Underage Drinking: 
Life Can Change in a Second DVD-
Includes PowerPoint presentations
and videos on underage drink-
ing and distracted driving, speaker
notes, and a video depicting a dra-
matization of a distracted driving
crash. Limit 1

To order the above items, e-mail 
trafficsafety@michigan.gov or call 
(517) 636-4256. A catalog of all available 
materials can be found at Michigan.gov/
ohsp under the Traffic Safety Materials 
Link.

Get involved through GTSAC action team
The Governor’s Traffic Safety Advisory 
Commission (GTSAC) Distracted Driving 
Action Team meets April 15 at 1 p.m. at the 
Michigan State Police Headquarters, 333 
South Grand Avenue, Lansing.

GTSAC Action Teams provide targeted 
guidance for each emphasis area in the 
Strategic Highway Safety Plan. There are 11 

teams and members represent a variety 
of traffic safety areas including law 
enforcement, engineering, education, 
medicine, and research, as well as 
public and private organizations.

Visit Michigan.gov/gtsac 
for more information.
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