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STATE 911 COMMITTEE CHAIR
LANSING

June 1, 2016

Dear Service Supplier:

This letter will serve as notice, as required under Michigan Law, MCL 484.1714 (1) (g), of the 911 charges
in Michigan that will go into effect on July 1, 2016.

In summary, the charges apply as follows:

1. State 911 Charge (statewide):

a) A monthly, statewide State 911 charge of 19 cents will be billed and collected from all service
users (MCL 484.1401a [1]-[7] and MCL 484.1408 [1]-[3]).

b) If a service user has multiple access points or access lines, the first 10 access points or lines are
charged the 19 cent rate and each additional line is charged 1/10" of the 19 cent rate.

c) The charge is to be listed separately on each bill and be listed as the “State 911 Charge.”

d) Service suppliers may retain 2% of the state 911 charge for billing and collection costs (MCL
484.1408 [2]).

e) The state 911 charges collected are to be remitted quarterly (along with Treasury Form 5013) to
the Michigan Department of Treasury. If you have questions regarding remittance of state 911
charges, please contact the Michigan Department of Treasury at 517-636-6925.

f) Treasury Form 5013 is located at:
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/5013ChargeForm_ 408303 7.pdf

2. County 911 Charge (local):

a) A monthly, local (county-based) County 911 charge will be billed and collected monthly from all
service users located within that county (MCL 484-1401b [1]-[15]). This charge is determined at
the county level.

b) The charge is to be listed separately on each bill and shall state by which means (resolution or
approval of the voters) the charge was approved by the county board of commissioners.

c) If the charge was approved by the voters, the service provider’s bill shall state
(MCL 484.1401b (4):

“This amount is for your 911 service, which has been approved by the voters
on (DATE OF VOTER APPROVAL). This is not a charge assessed by your
service supplier. If you have questions concerning your 911 service, you may
call INCLUDE APPROPRIATE TELEPHONE NUMBER).”

Counties with charges approved by the voters are indicated in the link in the paragraph below
item 2e.

d) Service suppliers may retain 2% of the approved county 911 charge for billing and collection
costs (MCL 484.1401b [10]).

e) The county 911 charges are to be remitted on a quarterly basis to each individual county
collecting a local county 911 charge.
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The list of each county 911 charge can be found at the State 911 Committee’s website. The link
to the list is: www.michigan.gov/documents/msp/Local Surcharge spreadsheet 490774 7.xls.

The list also includes the remittance address, the contact person for remittance, and the contact
person for geographical questions for each county. If you have questions as to the date of an
individual county’s ballot proposal, please contact the county directly.

The county 911 charges (#2 above) are due to the counties within 30 days of the close of each
quarter and are to be remitted directly to the respective counties. Each county listed has
indicated whether or not it is interested in receiving their funds via electronic transmittal. It is the
responsibility of each service supplier who wishes to make its transmittal electronically to initiate
contact with the county’s contact person.

3. A statewide Retailer’'s Prepaid Wireless 911 surcharge for prepaid wireless services of 1.92% is
collected at the point of retail sale under the provisions of MCL 484.1401c. The link to the Treasury form
for remittance of Retailer's Prepaid Wireless 911 surcharge is:
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/5012SurchargeForm_408302_7.pdf.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me miller-brownh@michigan.gov or
517-243-2075.

Sincerely, _
Harriet Miller-Brown

State 911 Administrator

cc: Ms. Evah Cole, Michigan Department of Treasury
Ms. Robin Ancona, Michigan Public Service Commission
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