MICHIGAN TRAFFIC SAFETY
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Michigan Traffic Safety Summit

¢/o Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning
P.O. Box 30634

Lansing, M1 48909

PARTICIPANTS AND EXHIBITORS

Read the enclosed registration instructions
and register at Mi.train.org. No faxed
or phone registrations will be accepted.

20th Annual
MICHIGAN TRAFFIC SAFETY SUMMIT 2015
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SAVE THE DATE MARCH 24-26, 2015

Be sure to register by February 27 for discounted registration fees!
KELLOGG HOTEL & CONFERENCE CENTER, EAST LANSING, MICHIGAN



General Session Speakers

ALOOKINTO THE FUTURE WITH A PAST PERSPECTIVE
TUESDAY, MARCH 24

Carl McDonald, National Law Enforcement
Initiative Manager, Mothers Against Drunk Driving, Irving,
Texas

In 2006, Carl McDonald retired as a lieu-
tenant from the Wyoming State Highway
Patrol after 24 years in law enforcement. For
the last nine years he as served as a critical member of the
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) national staff.

McDonald is an ardent supporter of MADD, a passionate
advocate, an in-demand speaker, and a dynamic presenter for
law enforcement in the fight against impaired driving.

DRUG-IMPAIRED DRIVING: IMPLICATIONS
FOR TRAFFIC SAFETY
WEDNESDAY, MARCH 25

Glenn Davis, Highway Safety Manager, Highway
Safety Office, Colorado Department of Transportation,
Denver, Colorado

As a manager in the highway safety office in
the Colorado Department of Transportation
(CDOT), Glenn Davis’ areas of responsibility
include impaired driving, motorcycle safety, police traffic ser-
vices, speed enforcement and control, and young drivers.

Currently, he is vice-chair of the Colorado Task Force
on Drunk and Impaired Driving, chair of the Colorado
Motorcycle Operator Advisory Board, sergeant at arms of
the Colorado State Traffic Records Advisory Committee, and
the CDOT representative on the Colorado Persistent Drunk
Driver Committee. He has served on the Colorado Peace
Officer Standards and Training curriculum committee, State
Emergency Medical and Trauma Services Advisory Council,
and Colorado Prevention Leadership Council.

Davis retired from Littleton, Colo., Police Department after
25 years as a police officer. He was Drug Recognition Expert
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(DRE) and impaired driving enforcement coordinator before
joining CDOT. Davis is currently a reserve sergeant with the
Ft. Lupton Police Department in Colorado.

During his career, Davis has received the International
Association of Chiefs of Police Drug Evaluation and
Classification Emeritus Award; Colorado DRE Centennial
Award for dedication and support to the Colorado DRE
program; and Dr. Robert Weltzer Award for dedication to
traffic safety from MADD.

Davis has a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice and a mas-
ter’s degree in education from Colorado State University.

DRUG-IMPAIRED DRIVING: IMPLICATIONS
FOR TRAFFIC SAFETY
WEDNESDAY, MARCH 25

Emily Wilfong, Communications Manager, CDOT,
Denver, Colorado

As the communications manager for the
CDOT, Wilfong provides marketing and com-
munications support for a variety of roadway
and traffic safety issues such as seat belts,
impaired driving, teen driving safety, motorcycle safety, child
passenger safety, and pedestrian safety.

Wilfong is passionate about traffic safety issues and help-
ing to save lives through public education. She works closely
with law enforcement, non-profits, CDOT highway safety
office grantees, Colorado Regional Emergency Medical
Trauma advisory councils, and a variety of other partners
to share information with the public to improve driver and
pedestrian behavior.

Originally from the Washington, D.C. area, Wilfong gradu-
ated from West Virginia University with a bachelor’s degree in
journalism and has more than 10 years of experience in inte-
grated marketing and communications. She has been in her
role at CDOT for two years.

For summit updates

Find us on

Facebook

Facebook.com/miohsp

More speakers to be announced in the coming months. Visit Michigan.gov/ohsp for additional information.

Michigan.gov/ohsp



AGENDA

MICHIGAN TRAFFIC SAFETY SUMMIT 2015

Tuesday, March 24

9-10:30 AAM.  OPENING AND GENERAL SESSION
10:30-11 A.M. BREAK WITH EXHIBITORS
11 A.M.-12:30 PM.  WORKSHOPS
12:30-1:30 P.M. LUNCH
1:30-2:30 PM.  GENERAL SESSION
2:30-3 P.M. BREAK WITH EXHIBITORS
3-4:30 PM.  WORKSHOPS
4:30-6:30 P.M. NETWORKING RECEPTION
Wednesday, March 25
8:30-9:30 AAM.  GENERAL SESSION
9:30-10 A.M. BREAK
10-11:30 A.M. WORKSHOPS

11:30 A.M.-1:15 P.M.

AWARDS LUNCHEON

1:30-3 P.M. WORKSHOPS
3-3:15 P.M. BREAK
3:15-4:30 P.M. GENERAL SESSION
Thursday, March 26
8:30-10 A.M. WORKSHOPS
10-10:15 A.M. BREAK
10:15-11:30 A.M. GENERAL SESSION

THE 2015 MICHIGAN TRAFFIC SAFETY SUMMIT INCLUDES MORE THAN 25 WORKSHOPS.

Sessions will be offered on:

» Child Passenger Safety

» Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety
» Impaired Driving

» Motorcycle Safety

» Occupant Protection

» Senior Drivers

» Teen Driving

» Traffic Enforcement
» Traffic Laws

» Vehicle and Roadway Engineering

This material was developed through a project funded by the
Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning and the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Michigan.gov/ohsp



HOTEL INFORMATION

Summit participants and exhibitors must make their own
hotel reservations and are responsible for payment of their
lodging.

The Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center is the offi-
cial conference hotel. Rooms are available at a discounted
rate of $80 per night. Attendees must use group code
OFH@32115 to receive the discounted rate.

Hotel reservations can be made online at
Kelloggcenter.com or by calling (517) 432-4000.

Hotel reservations must be made by Thursday,
February 19.

The Kellogg Center is a handicapped accessible facility.
Those needing special accommodations while attending
the Michigan Traffic Safety Summit should contact Kara
McCumber at mccumberk2@michigan.gov or (517) 241-2520
no later than Monday, March 2.

RECEPTION AT SPARTAN STADIUM

The Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning is hosting an
evening networking reception Tuesday, March 24, from 4:30-
6:30 p.m. at the Huntington Club in Spartan Stadium, home of
the 2014 Rose Bowl champion Michigan State University foot-
ball team.

Located on the fourth floor of Spartan Stadium, the
Huntington Club offers views of the football field and surround-
ing campus. The room features comfortable living room style
furniture, multiple TVs, and elevator access. Tours of the locker
room and press box will be provided.

Spartan Stadium is a short walk from the Kellogg Hotel and
Conference Center on the campus of Michigan State University.
Hors d'oeuvres, non-alcoholic beverages, and a cash bar will
be available.

Summit attendees, speakers, and exhibitors are welcome to
attend but must RSVP on the summit registration website. For
more information about the event, contact Dianne Perukel at
perukeld@michigan.gov or (517) 241-2565.
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SECRETARY OF STATE

, MOBILE OFFICE

| Save time and a trip to the Secretary of State
I (SOS) office. Bring your driver’s license and
license plate updates, address changes, and
other SOS business to the Michigan Traffic
Safety Summit on Tuesday, March 24, and take advantage of
the SOS Mobile Office. All of the services will be available on-
site from 8 a.m.-4 p.m.

HOW TO REGISTER

Attendees, exhibitors, and speakers must register for the
Michigan Traffic Safety Summit online at Mi.train.org.
Microsoft Internet Explorer should be used to complete
registration.

Fees must be paid at the time of registration. Be sure
to have a credit card or interagency transfer information
ready before beginning registration.

An account in the MiTrain system must be set up before
registering. Registrants with an existing Mi.train.org
account must use that account for registration.

TO CREATE A MITRAIN ACCOUNT:

» Go to Mi.train.org

» Select Create Account, which appears under the login
box on the left side

» Agree to the TRAIN policies

» Fill out the necessary information on the subsequent
pages (Do not hit the Back button at any time during
the registration process)

» Answer the secret question at the bottom of the page
(This question will be used as a security measure
during the password retrieval process)

» Select Michigan State Police from the State Group
options

» Select up to three professional roles that best match
your job description

» Select up to three settings that best fit your work
environment

» Select Next when finished

» Additional demographic information will be requested
(This information is not required for registration)

» Select Continue to finish registering the account

» A confirmation screen will appear; select Continue to
begin registration

» A confirmation email will be generated (To receive
emails from MiTrain, select the link in the email)

CONFERENCE REGISTRATION REFUND POLICY
Refunds will be given only if a written cancellation
request is made on or before March 9. Email cancellation
requests to Jean Shattuck at shattuckj@michigan.gov.




PARTICIPANT REGISTRATION

» Registration is $85 on or before February 27
» Registration is $125 after February 27
» Registration deadline is March 13

» After March 13, only on-site registration will be accepted if
space is available

» All participants, speakers, and exhibitors must register
online at Mi.train.org

» Only credit cards, electronic checks, and interagency
transfers will be accepted

» State agencies must use interagency transfers to pay
registration fees (Procurement card use is not allowed)

» Questions? Contact Jean Shattuck at
shattuckj@michigan.gov or (517) 241-2544

TO REGISTER AS A PARTICIPANT OR SPEAKER:
» Go to Mi.train.org
» Enter login name and password then select the Login button

» Enter course number 1053327 for the 2015 Traffic Safety
Summit in the Keyword or Course ID box at the top right of
the page

» Select the Registration tab

» Select the Register for Conference button on the top left of
the page

» The summit registration screen will appear

» Select the Add buttons to add lunch choices for each day of
the summit (Be sure to add a lunch selection for each day)

» If attending the Tuesday evening networking event, select
the Add button for that event as well

» When selections are complete, select Next

» Select Next again

» Verify user information for accuracy and select Next

» Review the registration information (Be sure selections
for lunch each day and the Tuesday evening reception
appear)

» Select the Complete Registration link at the bottom of the
page

» A new window for the State of Michigan Payment
Processing Center will open

» If a special code has been assigned, enter it at this time
and select Continue (Special code registrants should have
received instructions for registration; contact Melody
Kindraka at kindrakam@michigan.gov or (517) 241-1522
with questions)

» If no special code has been assigned for registration, leave
this box blank and select Continue

» Enter an MCOLES number, if applicable (Law enforcement
officers must input MCOLES number) and select Continue

» Select who is responsible for payment and select Continue

SELECT ONE OF THE THREE OPTIONS FOR PAYMENT:

1. Non-state employees must use a credit card or
electronic check for registration

» Select the Credit option and select Continue
» Verify user information is correct and select Continue

» Review and verify the additional information is correct and
select Continue

» Select Pay by Credit Card or Pay by Electronic Check and
select Next

» Enter payment information and credit card number or routing
and account numbers and select Next

» Confirm payment information and select Pay Now
» Print the Conference Payment information for your records
» Registration is complete

2. Non-Michigan State Police (MSP) state employees must
select the Invoice option and select Continue

» Verify user information is correct and select Continue

» Review and verify the additional information is correct and
select Continue

» An invoice will be emailed to the address associated with
the account

» This invoice must be paid within 10 days by interagency
transfer (Transfers should be made to Index 51000, PCA
51400, COBJ 6160)

» Registrations are not complete until payment is received

3.MSP employees must select the MSP Employee option
» Enter work site Index and PCA and select Continue
» Verify user information is correct and select Continue

» Review and verify the additional information is correct and
select Continue

» Registration is complete



EXHIBITOR REGISTRATION

» Nonprofit exhibitor registration is $85 on or before
February 27 and $125 after February 27

» For-profit exhibitor registration is $250 on or before
February 27 and $395 after February 27

» Registration deadline is March 6

» Only credit cards, electronic checks, and interagency
transfers will be accepted

» State agencies must use interagency transfers to pay
exhibitor fees (Procurement card use is not allowed)

» Exhibitor space is limited and on a first-come, first-served
basis

» Registration includes one person
» Additional exhibitor staff must register as a participant
» Refreshment breaks will be served in the exhibitor area

» Exhibit fee includes one, eight-foot skirted table with two
chairs, power, and wireless Internet

» Set up: Monday, March 23, 4-6 p.m.
» Exhibit: Tuesday, March 24, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. (one day only)
» Take-down: Tuesday, March 24, 4:30-6 p.m.

» Questions? Contact Jamie Dolan at dolanj@michigan.gov
or (906) 225-7036

TO REGISTER AS AN EXHIBITOR:
» Go to Mi.train.org
» Enter login name and password and select the Login button

» Enter course number 1053350 for the 2015 Traffic Safety
Summit Exhibitor Nonprofit; enter course number 1053365
for the 2015 Traffic Safety Summit Exhibitor For-Profit in the
Keyword or Course ID box at the top right corner of the page

» Select the Registration tab

» Select the Register for Conference button on the top left of
the page

» The summit registration screen will appear

» Select the Add buttons to add lunch choices for each day
of the summit (Be sure to add a lunch selection for each
day)

» If attending the Tuesday evening networking event, select
the Add button for that event as well

» When selections are complete, select Next
» Select Next again
» Verify user information for accuracy and select Next

» Review the registration information (Be sure selections
for lunch each day and the Tuesday evening reception
appear)

» Select Complete Registration at the bottom of the page

» This will open a new window for the State of Michigan
Payment Processing Center

» If a special code has been assigned enter it at this time
and select Continue (Special code exhibitors should have
received instructions for registration; contact Jamie Dolan
at dolanj@michigan.gov or (906) 225-7036 with questions)

» If no special code has been assigned for registration, leave
this box blank and select Continue

» Select who is responsible for payment and select Continue

SELECT ONE OF TWO OPTIONS FOR PAYMENT:

1.State agency exhibitors must select the Invoice option
and select Continue

» Verify user information is correct and select Continue

» Review and verify the additional information is correct and
select Continue

» An invoice will be emailed to the address associated with
the account

» This invoice must be paid within 10 days by interagency
transfer (Transfers should be made to Index 51000, PCA
51400, COBJ 6160)

» Registrations are not complete until payment is received

2.All other exhibitors must use a credit card or electronic
check for registration

» Select the Credit option and select Continue
» Verify user information is correct and select Continue

» Review and verify the additional information is correct and
select Continue

» Select Pay by Credit Card or Pay by Electronic Check and
select Next

» Enter payment information and credit card number or routing
and account numbers and select Next

» Confirm payment information and select Pay Now
» Print the Conference Payment information for your records
» Registration is complete



