
ARTICLE 37 
MOVING EXPENSES 

 
Section A. Persons Covered.  
 All authorized full-time employees currently employed by the State of Michigan 
being relocated for the benefit of the State, who actually move their residence as a 
direct result of the relocation, and who agree to continue employment in the new 
location for a minimum of one (1) year are entitled to all benefits provided by this Article.  
New employees not presently working for the State of Michigan shall not be entitled to 
benefits provided in this Article.  
 
Section B. By Commercial Mover.  
 The State will pay the transportation charges for normal household goods up to a 
maximum of 14,000 pounds for each move. Charges for weight in excess of 14,000 
pounds must be paid directly to the mover by the employee.  
 

1. Household Goods: Includes all furniture, personal effects and property used in 
a dwelling, and normal equipment and supplies used to maintain the dwelling except 
automobiles, boats, camping vehicles, firewood, fence posts, tool sheds, motorcycles, 
snowmobiles, explosives, or property liable to impregnate or otherwise damage the 
mover’s equipment, perishable foodstuffs subject to spoilage, building materials, fuel or  
other similar non-household good items.  
 

2. Packing: The State will pay up to $800 for packing and/or unpacking 
breakables. The employee must make arrangements and pay the mover for any 
additional packing required.  

 
3. Insurance: The carrier will provide insurance against damage up to $.60 per 

pound for the total weight of the shipment. The State will reimburse the employee for 
insurance costs not to exceed an additional $.65 per pound of the total weight of the 
shipment.  

 
In addition to the above packing allowances:  

 
The State will pay the following accessorial charges which are required to 

facilitate the move:  
 

a. Appliance Service;  
 
b. Piano or organ handling charges;  
 
c. Flight, elevator or distance carry charges;  
 
d. Extra labor charges required to handle heavy items, i.e., pianos, organs, 

freezers, pool tables, etc.  
 



Charges for stopping in transit to load or unload goods and the cost of additional 
mileage involved to effect a stop in transit must be paid by the employee. Also, extra 
labor required to expedite a shipment at the request of the employee must be paid by 
the employee.  
 
Section C. Mobile Homes.  
 The State will pay the reasonable actual cost for moving a mobile home if it is the 
employee’s domicile, plus a maximum $1,000 allowance for blocking, unblocking, 
securing contents or expando units, installing or removal of tires (on wheels) on or off 
the trailer, removal or replacement of skirting and utility connections will be paid by the 
State when accompanied by receipts. “Actual Moving Cost” includes only the 
transportation cost, escort service when required by a governmental unit, special 
lighting permits, tolls or surcharges. “Actual Moving Cost” does not include the moving 
of oil tanks, out buildings, swing sets, etc., that cannot be dismantled and secured 
inside the mobile home.  
 

Mobile home liability is limited to damage to the unit caused by negligence of the 
carrier, and to contents up to a value of $1,000. Additional excess valuation and/or 
hazard insurance may be purchased from the carrier at the expense of the employee.  
 

The repair or replacement of equipment of the trailer, i.e., tires, axles, bearings, 
lights, etc., are the responsibility of the owner.  
 
Section D. Storage of Household Goods.  

The State will pay for storage not in excess of sixty (60) days in connection with 
an authorized move at either origin or destination, only when housing is not readily 
available.  
 
Section E. Temporary Travel Expense.  

From effective date of reassignment, up to sixty (60) calendar days of travel 
expense at the new assigned work station are allowed. Extension beyond sixty (60) 
days, but not to exceed a total of one hundred eighty (180) days, should be allowed due 
to unusual circumstances in the full discretion of the Employer. Authorized travel shall 
include one (1) round trip weekly between the new workstation and the former 
residence.  
 
Section F. To Secure Housing.  

A continuing employee and one (1) additional family member will be allowed up 
to three (3) round trips to a new official work station for the purpose of securing housing. 
Travel, lodging, and food costs will be reimbursed up to a maximum of nine (9) days in 
accordance with the Standardized Travel Regulations.  
 
 
 


