APPLICATION TO REMOVE or REPLACE A FATHER on A MicHIGAN BIRTH RECORD

(This form is to be used only to remove or replace a father)

PLEASE READ AND FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS MAIL APPLICATION AND PROPER FEE TO:
For additional information: Vital Records Changes

Vital Records Changes P.O. Box 30721

(517) 335-8660 Mon-Fri 8:00 am - 5:00 pm ET Lansing MI 48909

PERSON REQUESTING FATHER’'S NAME BE REMOVED OR REPLACED PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY AND LEGIBLY

Please provide your name and complete mailing address to mail the new record to you and a phone number to contact
you if there are questions regarding this request.

Person Requesting Father's Name
Be Removed or Replaced:

Mailing Address:

City/State/Zip:

Daytime phone to contact you: Area Code & Number - -

ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible to remove or replace a father on a birth record, you must be the person named on the record and at least
18 years old, a parent named or to be named on the record, or a legal guardian or legal representative of the person
named on therecord. Legal guardians mustinclude a copy of the court guardianship documents. Legal representatives must
provide information on official letterhead documenting that he/she represents the person named on the record. Please check
the item that applies to you:

9 Person named on the record (must be at least 18 years old) 9 Legal guardian of the person(s) named or to be named on the record

9 Parent named or to be named on the record O Legal representative of the person(s) named or to be named on the
record
REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION (All court documents will be returned)

To remove a father’s name from a birth record, you must submit at least one of the following documents (please check one):

9 Final Judgment of Divorce (all pages)
9 Court Determination of Non-Paternity

To replace a father’'s name on a birth record, you must submit one of the following documents (please check one):

9 An original signed and notarized Affidavit of Parentage is attached.
9 A court order is attached. ( The court order must name the natural father as a party of the court action)
O Affidavit of Parentage has been duly signed and notarized, and previously submitted to the Central Paternity Registry.




INDICATE INFORMATION AS IT SHOULD APPEAR ON THE NEW RECORD

CHILD’'S FULL NAME First: Last.
FATHER’S FULL NAME First: Last.
FATHER'S PLACE OF BIRTH State or County (if not U.S.)

FATHER'S DATE OF BIRTH Month Year

If any birth information is unknown, please indicate “unknown”

in the appropriate space.

INFO TO CHILD’'S CHILD’S
LOCATE NAME DATE
CHILD'S BIRTH AT OF
RECORD BIRTH: . _ BIRTH
First Middle Last Mo Day Year
GENDER CHILD’S

9 Male PLACE

OF
9 Female BIRTH: Hospital (If recent birth) City County
MOTHER’S NAME
BEFORE FIRST MARRIED: First Middle Last
FATHER CURRENTLY
NAMED ON RECORD: First Middle Last

A SIGNATURE IS REQUIRED TO PROCESS THE APPLICATION.
THE MOTHER’S SIGNATURE IS REQUIRED WHEN REQUESTING A NAME CHANGE FOR THE CHILD.

K Signature of Person
Requesting Change:

Date:

K Other Signature:

Date:

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY - DO NOT WRITE IN THIS AREA

PENALTIES: Any person who willfully and knowingly makes
false application to change or amend a Michigan birth record may
be fined not more than $1,000 and/or imprisoned not more than
one (1) year. MCL 333.2894(1)(b) and (c).

DCH-0849 Rev 06/20/2003 MCL 333.2824(4), 333.2872(1) and 333.2891(9) and (10)

PAYMENT - The fee for removing or replacing a father’s
name on a Michigan birth record is $26.00 and includes
one copy of the record with the changes made. Additional
copies of the new record are available for $5.00 each
when ordered at the same time. Payment must be made
by check or money order and made payable to the
“State of Michigan.”

Application Fee $26.00 | $26.00
(Non-Refundable)
Fee includes one (1) certified
copy of the record

Additional $5.00 $
Certified Copies Each

TOTAL ENCLOSED: $




