
If you are interested in an advertised brake service:

■ Find out exactly what is and is not included.  
Even though an ad says “Brakes $98 and up,” 
you may pay as much as $1000 or more for a 
complete brake job.

■ If the advertisement says that the “free in-
spection” or “low cost service” is “for most 
vehicles,” ask whether your vehicle is covered 
before you have the inspection or work done.

■ If your vehicle is not covered, ask why.  If you 
cannot get a satisfactory answer, go elsewhere.

■ Choosing A Repair Shop
Your family, friends, neighbors and co-workers 

may be able to recommend a good shop that performs 
competent brake repairs.  And they may tell you which 
ones to avoid.

Always get a written estimate of repairs before 
leaving your vehicle at a repair shop.  This is your right 
under Michigan law.  Getting a second opinion and 
comparing prices is wise, especially if the estimated 
costs are high.

■ When The Work Is Done
You have selected a repair shop and had repairs 

performed.  What should you do next?

Under Michigan law you are entitled to inspect and 
receive parts that were removed from your vehicle and 
replaced.  Be sure to take the replaced parts with you.  
For some parts, the shop may require you to pay a fee 
known as a “core charge.”  If the replaced parts are not 
needed to settle a complaint, returning them to the repair 
shop entitles you to a refund of the core charge.  

Michigan law also entitles you to an itemized invoice 
(final bill) showing all charges for parts and labor.

Getting replaced parts and a final invoice can be very 
helpful if you have a complaint against the repair shop.

■ Warranties
All warranties for repairs must be given in writ-

ing and must state what is warranted and for how 
long; who will honor the warranty; obligations of the 
consumer, if any; and any conditions or exclusions. A 
warranty must specify whether it covers parts, labor, 
or both.

■ If You Have A Complaint
First, try to settle the dispute directly with the repair 

shop.  If you are unable to settle it, you may file a 
complaint by contacting the Department of State at the 
number shown on this brochure.

If you believe you were charged for repairs that 
were not done or you were told you needed repairs 
which you later found were not needed (even if you 
did not have the repairs done), contact the Department 
of State immediately.

Additional brochures published by the 
Department of State:

Auto Repair Rights & Repair Tips

Consumer’s Automotive Information & Complaint Kit

Consumer’s Guide to Automatic Transmission Service

Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Vehicle from a Dealership

Consumer’s Guide to Collision Repairs

Consumer’s Guide to Engine Replacement

Consumer’s Guide to Vehicle Leasing

Consumer’s Guide to Vehicle Restoration
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■ Normal Maintenance
Today’s automotive brake systems require little 

maintenance. Periodically, the master cylinder should 
be checked to insure that the brake fluid is at the proper 
level. If brake fluid is needed, make sure the fluid used 
is right for your vehicle’s brake system. Never add 
transmission fluid, oil or steering fluid to the master 
cylinder. This will severely damage rubber parts and 
cause the brakes to fail.

When you push on the brake pedal, the brake shoes 
and brake pads are pushed against the brake drums and 
brake rotors (also called discs), creating friction which 
is used to stop the vehicle.  Because of the friction that 
occurs, brake shoes and brake pads wear. When the 
wear becomes extensive, replacement of the shoes and 
pads is necessary. When replacing shoes and pads, it 
may be necessary to have the brake drums and rotors 
machined to provide a smooth, fresh braking surface. 
If a brake drum or rotor is severely worn, replacement 
is required.

Unlike brake shoes and brake pads, wheel cylinders 
and calipers only require replacement if they no longer 
work properly or are leaking brake fluid. If a wheel 
cylinder or caliper requires replacement, it can be 
replaced individually. Replacing wheel cylinders and 
calipers in pairs is not required.

However, if a wheel cylinder or caliper is being 
repaired or replaced because it has failed, it may be 
recommended that you also have the other caliper or 
wheel cylinder repaired or replaced as well (on the 
same axle). This preventive maintenance recommenda-
tion would only be appropriate if both wheel cylinders 
or calipers had been in service for the same duration, 
since it may be nearing the end of its service life as 
well.

You may find your brake shop recommends 
installing new hardware kits (springs, clips, pins, and 
bushings used to attach brake shoes and brake pads 
to backing plates and calipers) when brake shoes and 
pads are replaced. They also may recommend flushing 
the system and replacing the brake fluid. Manufactur-
ers seem to be mute on this issue. Before you allow a 
repair shop to replace the hardware or fluid, insist that 
they give you a thorough explanation in writing why 
new fluid or hardware is necessary.

■ Inspection
Some vehicles are equipped with wear indicators 

that produce a high pitched squeal or squeak when the 
brake pads require replacement.  If you do not know 
whether your vehicle is equipped with brake wear 
indicators, an occasional inspection of the brake pads 
and shoes is advisable to prevent damage and costly 
replacement of other brake parts.

The law requires a repair shop to provide you with 
a written estimate if an inspection or recommended 
repairs will be $20 or more.  The written estimate 
allows you to compare prices with other repair shops 
and to verify that the repairs recommended are neces-
sary.

When comparing prices, be sure to compare the 
price of parts as well as labor. Some shops offer low la-
bor prices while charging a lot for parts. Ask the repair 
shop to explain all of the charges.

■ Advertised Specials
Some repair shops that specialize in brake  

work advertise free inspections and/or low cost  
brake repairs.

W hat’s wrong with it?  How long  
will it take?  How much will it  
cost?  Will they fix it right? These 

are some of the questions you may ask when you 
take your vehicle to a repair shop for work.  Your 
concern may be even greater if the problem involves 
something as important as brakes.

The Michigan Department of State wants you to 
know your rights when it comes to vehicle repairs.  
The department licenses and regulates motor vehicle 
repair shops, informs consumers of their rights and 
investigates complaints.

This brochure gives you some important informa-
tion about brake repairs and advises you what to do if 
you have a complaint against a repair shop.

■ Brake Systems
Parts found in most brake systems are:  rotors or 

discs, calipers, pads, drums, shoes, wheel cylinders, 
hoses, lines, master cylinder, brake booster, a combina-
tion valve and attaching hardware.

In addition, an anti-lock brake system also includes: 
wheel speed sensors, a hydraulic actuator, and an elec-
tronic control unit.

1 - Disc.  2 - Caliper.  3 - Line.  4 - Flex hose.  5 - Vacuum line.  6 - Master cylinder.  7 - Power booster.  8 - Brake 
pedal.  9 - Parking brake.  10 - Combination valve.  11 - Parking brake cable system.  12 - Brake shoe assembly. 
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