Renewal checklist

Tips For Renewing

O Anine-digit Personal Identification Number (PIN) or the phrase
“insurance verified electronically” on your renewal notice may
make you eligible to use our online or Self-Service Station renewal
options. Online, mail and Self-Service Station renewals accept
Discover, MasterCard or Visa. When renewing online, your tab and
registration will be mailed within 14 business days. If you renew
at a Secretary of State office or by mail, please
provide your proof of insurance.

U To renew your registration, you must have valid
Michigan no-fault insurance. If your renewal notice reads
“Proof of Insurance Required,” you must provide an insurance
certificate issued within the last 30 days to prove that your vehicle
has valid Michigan no-fault insurance.

O Your insurance coverage will be verified before we issue
or renew your plate. People who supply false insurance information to
the Secretary of State’s Office, or use altered or fraudulent insurance
certificates when registering a vehicle, will have their plates cancelled,
forfeit their registration fees and may be charged with a crime.
Penalties range from a MISDEMEANOR offense that carries up
toa YEAR IN JAIL and a FINE OF $1,000 to a FELONY
OFFENSE for knowingly possessing or selling a stolen or fraudulent
insurance certificate.

O If the address on your renewal notice is not correct
and you are renewing:

1. Online — Submit a change of address with your renewal.

2. By Mail - Draw a line through the incorrect information on the
renewal notice and clearly print your new address, including
your county.

3. AtaBranch Office — Inform the clerk of your new address.

O Make sure the owner name and vehicle information is correct on
each renewal notice. If the information is not correct, you must
renew at a Secretary of State office.

O Renew before your current registration expires to avoid a $10 late fee.

10-Year Plate Replacement Law

Michigan law requires certain plates that are 10 years old or older be
replaced upon renewal. Check your renewal notice for a statement
informing you that your plate must be replaced. The $5.00 fee

is already included in your registration fees. Please indicate on

the Renewal Worksheet if you would like a Standard Plate (PM),
Spectacular Peninsulas Plate (SP) or a Mackinac Bridge (MAC) plate.
Your new license plate will be mailed within 21 - 30 days.

If you wish to purchase a University and Special Cause Fundraising
Plate please refer to the University and Special Cause Fundraising
Plate section in this brochure.

Helpful information

Finding the SOS Website

State of Michigan websites have one of the following domains,
“michigan.gov/’ or “state.mi.us.” Make sure you are on the
official Michigan Secretary of State website. Other online renewal
services may look official, but they charge service fees for providing
a link to our website.

Finding Office Locations

U On ExpressSOS.com - Select the Branch Office Locator.
U By calling 888-SOS-MICH (767-6424).

Office Hours

O  Alloffice hours can be found using the Branch Office Locator.
9.a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday.

open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
PLUS offices and SUPER!Centers offer expanded
Wednesday hours from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

a
O 11am.to7 p.m. Wednesdays, except in city buildings that are
a

SUPER!Centers are open on Saturdays from 9 a.m. to noon.

(M ]

Smaller offices may close for a lunch hour on certain days. All
offices are closed on state holidays.

Michigan Organ Donor Registry
You can make a profound impact on the well-being of others by
joining the Michigan Organ Donor Registry. About 3,000 Michigan
residents are waiting for an organ transplant to save their lives.
Thousands more are waiting for the gifts of sight and mobility that
come through cornea and tissue donation.

To join the donor registry:

O Enroll online at Michigan.gov/sos by clicking “Organ Dona-
tion.” You may also sign up when renewing or replacing your
license or ID card online at ExpressSOS.com.

O  Check the organ donor box on your renewal form when
renewing your state ID card by mail.

O Visit any Secretary of State office and tell the clerk you want to
be an organ donor.

After joining the donor registry, you will receive either a heart sticker
for your driver’s license or ID card, or a new card with the heart
emblem printed on it. One donor can save the lives of up to eight
people through organ donation and enhance the lives of up to 50
people through tissue donation. If you do not have a heart emblem on
your license or ID card, sign up today.

To learn more about organ, tissue and eye donation, call Gift of

Life Michigan at 866-500-5801 or Eversight Michigan at
800-247-7250.
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4 easy ways to renew!

Your online, no-wait Secretary of State

ExpressSOS.com

Go to ExpressS0OS.com and select “Renew Vehicle Plate/Tab.”
Choose either “Online Renewal PLUS” or “Express Renewal.” (Note:
Make sure you are on the official Secretary of State website. Look for
“michigan.gov/- or “state.mi.us” in the Web address.)

Online Renewal PLUS - Lets you complete other transactions,
such as a change of address, when you renew. With Print ‘n Go,
you can also print out a copy of your registration to
carry with you until your tab arrives.

Express Renewal — All you need is the license plate number.
For privacy reasons, registrations cannot be printed using
this option.

Alternative Registration Renewal - If you can’t renew your
tabs through ExpressSOS.com, try our alternate Online Renewal System.
Go to our ‘Online Services’ Web page and select the ‘Online Renewal
System'’ link under ‘Online Services — Please note.” You will need the PIN
from the lower left side of your license plate renewal registration.

Pay online with a Discover, MasterCard or Visa debit or credit card. A
nominal processing fee will be charged. New plates must be ordered
by mail or at a Secretary of State office.

Mail

Mail your renewal notice, proof of insurance and payment in the
enclosed addressed envelope, or send your renewal to the Michigan
Department of State, 7064 Crowner Dr., Lansing, MI 48980-0001.

Payment can be made by check or money order payable to the
State of Michigan. Use the renewal worksheet if paying by
Discover, MasterCard or Visa. Mail the entire renewal notice. If your
address is incorrect, draw a line through the incorrect information and
clearly print your new address, including the county. You will receive a
new registration with your license plate tab.

Self-Service Stations

If all the information on your renewal notice is correct and it contains
a PIN or the phrase “insurance verified electronically,” you can renew
at a Self-Service Station.

Pay with a Discover, MasterCard or Visa debit or credit card. A
nominal processing fee will be charged. Your tab and vehicle
registration will be issued immediately. New plates must be ordered
by mail or at a Secretary of State office.

More than 70 Self-Service Stations are located in branch offices as
well as in a few city centers and retail outlets. For locations, visit the
Branch Office Locator at ExpressSOS.com.

In Person

You can renew at any Secretary of State office. You will need to
provide your proof of insurance when renewing at a branch office.
All offices accept cash, checks, money orders, and Discover,
MasterCard and Visa debit or credit cards. A nominal processing fee
will be charged for debit or credit card use.

Ordering a New Plate

If you would like to order a new license plate, the Department of State
has a variety of attractive options. Standard, Spectacular Peninsulas,
Mackinac Bridge and all fundraising plates must be ordered by mail or
at a Secretary of State office. When ordering a new plate by
mail, use the Renewal Worksheet included with this
mailing. (The two-character plate code is found next to each plate
image. Your new license plate will be mailed within 21-30 days.)

Other options, such as veterans or military service
plates, personalized plates and disability plates can only
be ordered at a Secretary of State office.

The License Plate Store

(Note: License plate graphics may have changed since this
brochure was printed. For current views of all plates, visit
the Secretary of State website at michigan.gov/sos and
click on “Owning a Vehicle” and “License Plate Store.”)
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Graphic Plates
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To order the Spectacular Peninsulas or
Mackinac Bridge plate by mail, enter PI_E
your renewal fee, the plate code (“SP” =SSR

for Spectacular Peninsulas and “MAC” Spectacular
for Mackinac Bridge) and the $5 plate fee in Peninsulas - SP
the worksheet provided. These graphic

plates showcase a combination of * rorsPemonr ”
cityscapes, majestic forests and fields, our H§ Q %! E
two spectacular peninsulas, the mighty ==
Mackinac Bridge, and the Great Lakes. Mackinac
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To order the standard plate by mail, write
“PM” on the Renewal Worksheet and enter
your renewal fee and the $5 plate fee.

University and Special Cause
Fundraising Plates

To order a university or special cause fundraising plate, enter your
renewal fee, the plate code and the plate fee in the worksheet provided.
Motorcycles and vehicles used commercially are not eligible for a
fundraising plate. New license plates will be received within 21-30 days.

U Original Plate Fee: $35 in addition to the annual registration fee.
($25 goes to the university or special cause.)

O Renewal Fee: $10 in addition to the annual registration fee. ($10
goes to the university or special cause.) The $10 fee is included
in your registration fee on the renewal notice.

Olympic Education Center Plate

When you purchase an Olympic T
fundraising plate, you help support the USA
U.S. Olympic Education Center at Northern %% A[][]

GOTEAMUSA o

Michigan University. See fundraising plate
fee and ordering information above.

Donate Life Plate

Show your support for the greatest gift of all: ° rungPcmonn °
The gift of life. Purchase a Donate Life plate o]

and help promote the critical need for organ, AA[][]
eye and tissue donors. See fundraising
plate fee and ordering information above.
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