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In this issue DEALER AND REPAIR RESOURCE SECTION

The Dealer and Repair Resource Section (DRRS) assists licensed Michigan dealers,
repair facilities, and repair technicians. The section is part of the Department of State’s
Bureau of Regulatory Services, Business Licensing and Regulation Division.
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Attention: Auto
Body Shop
Owners Environ- DRRS is responsible for assisting with investigation, mediation, and resolution of com-

ggg&?éh%vr\]’ts plaints against business licensees, and serves as a dealer and repair facility resource
regarding requirements of the Michigan Vehicle Code and Motor Vehicle Service and Re-

Go Online for pair Act.

Repair Facility

Resources Dealers and repair facilities with questions regarding business requirements may con-

Page 3 tact us at 1-888-SOS-MICH.

Facility/Mechanic

Facilty/Medl

Being Offeted in REMOVAL OF ABANDONED VEHICLES
2007

Does your repair facility have a problem vehicles go to the Department of State
Page 4 with abandoned vehicles being leftonyour  Web site at www.Michigan.gov/sos and

_ lot? Public Acts 493 and 495 of 2005 make  click on Michigan Auto Lost and Found for
E%trigﬂo?%er:t'\g?% it illegal for a person to abandon a vehicle  more information on how to remove an
Record Keeping on private or public property. Any person  unwanted vehicle from your property.
FAQs who fails to redeem an abandoned vehicle
is responsible for a civil infraction with a fine
of $50 plus costs, state assessments and
other statutory penalties.
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Disciplinary Actions

Abandoning a vehicle may also be in
violation of the Natural Resources and
Environmental Protection Act and be
subject to a civil fine of up to $5000. If your
facility has a problem with abandoned

SPREAD THE NEWS

The Auto Repair News is published by the Department of State to inform repair facilities of
rules, disciplinary hearings, orders, judgments issued or obtained, and suspensions or
revocations of registrations or licenses. It is posted on the department's Web site at
www.Michigan.gov/sos under “Services to Businesses.”

Repair facilities are required to inform technicians of disciplinary actions against the busi-
ness or the employee. Circulating the Auto Repair News to repair facility employees or
making a copy available for each employee meets this requirement.

Vol. 25, No. 1



The Auto Body Self-Audit Work-
book and Checklist was developed
as an easy-to-use environmental
compliance assistance tool. It was
produced through a collaboration of
the Michigan Department of Environ-
mental Quality, the Automotive Ser-
vice Association of Michigan, the
Michigan Department of State, and
the Michigan Department of Labor
and Economic Growth. This tool can be
accessed at www.Michigan.gov/deqair.
Click on “ Clean Air Assistance” and scroll
down to “Auto Body Sector and Work-
book.” You can obtain a hard-copy ver-
sion by contacting Anita Welch at (517)
335-2356 or WelchA@michigan.gov.

The checklist contains a series of ques-
tions pertaining to your facility’s compli-
ance with applicable environmental re-
quirements. Completing the checklist is
similar to conducting your own self-audit.

ATTENTION: AUTO BODY SHOP OWNERS
ENVIRONMENTAL LAW REQUIREMENTS

If you don’t fully understand a regulation
and consequently don’'t know how to re-
spond to a question, access the appli-
cable pages in the workbook. The work-
book explains the environmental protec-
tion standards that apply to your facility
and how to ensure compliance with them.

The workbook provides information re-
garding best management practices and
pollution prevention techniques that can
help your facility minimize human health
risks and environmental impacts while
saving money. Included with the check-
list is a “Return-to-Compliance” form you
can use to:

Identify the specific violations.

to correct the violation.

\/
V' Assign an employee responsibility
\ Track your progress in remedying
the violation.

\  Certify the violation has been
corrected.

GO ONLINE FOR REPAIR FACILITY RESOURCES

Please remember to check regularly for
manual updates, bulletins, new laws, and
other important information available to
help you run your business. When you
go online, the information you need is al-
ways at your fingertips!

The Repair Facility Manual is now avail-
able only online. You will find it at
www.Michigan.gov/sos under “Services
to Businesses,” “Publications and
Forms.” The manual contains impor-
tant information for repair facilities and
technicians about complying with
Michigan’s repair act and rules.

The manual answers many of the questions
that may come up as you deal with cus-

tomers and try to run a good business.
Print a copy of the manual, keep it handy
and refer to it often.

Deparmenty States -

Tarri Lynn Land, Secratary of State
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http://www.michigan.gov/sos

FACILITY/MECHANIC TRAINING AGAIN BEING OFFERED IN 2007

The Michigan Department of State is once again pleased to offer training to help repair
facility personnel comply with the Motor Vehicle Service and Repair Act and increase
positive communication with customers. The presenter will demonstrate how to
conduct business within the requirements of the Act and will explain how doing so may
increase the efficiency of your repair business.

Larry Stanisz of the Dealer and Repair Resource Section will share his extensive
experience working in the repair industry as a mechanic, service advisor, service

manager, and for the Department of State as an analyst mediating customer
complaints. The training is free, and registration is first come, first served.
Topics to be covered in the training sessions include:

* www.Michigan.gov/sos Web site
* Repair Facility Manual

* Proper written estimates and final invoices

* Record keeping requirements

* Repair facility and mechanic responsibilities

e Common mistakes to avoid
e Other basic requirements of the Act

Most daytime classes will be held at the Operations Center (State Secondary Complex,
Lansing) and 2 sessions in Traverse City. Several evening sessions will also be offered
and are indicated with footnotes below. Picture ID is required to enter state office

buildings.

To register, contact the Dealer and Repair Resource Section at (517) 373-6993.

Scheduled training dates and locations are listed below. Class size is
limited—register early!

Date

July 13
July 20
July 20

August 10
August 22
September 6
September 19
October 3
October 17
October 30
November 16
November 28
December 7

Links to online directions for daytime and evening sessions:

Day of Week
Friday
Friday
Friday
Friday
Wednesday
Thursday
Wednesday
Wednesday
Wednesday
Tuesday
Friday
Wednesday
Friday

Times

9a.m.to 12 p.m.
10 a.m.to 1 p.m.

2p.m.to5p.m.
2p.m.to5p.m.
6 p.m.to 9 p.m.?
2p.m.to5p.m.
6 p.m.to 9 p.m.
6 p.m.to9 p.m
6 p.m.to 9 p.m.
6 p.m.to 9 p.m.

9a.m.to 12 p.m.

6 p.m.to 9 p.m.

9a.m.to 12 p.m.

Location

Operations Center

Traverse City Area District Library
Traverse City Area District Library
Operations Center

Kent Career/Technical Center
Operations Center
Oakland/Technical Campus SW
Kent Career/Technical Center
Lansing Community College
Oakland/Technical Campus SW
Operations Center

Lansing Community College
Operations Center

Kent_Career/Technical Center

Oakland/Technical Campus Southwest

Lansing Community College
Operations Center

Traverse City Area District Library

1 Kent Career/
Technical Center,
1655 East
Beltline, N.E.,
Grand Rapids,
49525

2 Oakland/
Technical
Campus
Southwest, 1000
Beck Road,
Wixom, 48393

8 Lansing
Community
College/West
Campus/M-TEC,
5708 Cornerstone
Drive, Lansing,
48917
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http://www.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=traverse+City+area+district+library&ie=UTF8&ll=44.843699,-85.606155&spn=0.141674,0.310364&z=11&iwloc=E&om=0
http://www.kc-tc.org/images/map_location.gif
http://www.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=1000+Beck+Road+Wixom+MI&ie=UTF8&t=h&om=1&z=15&ll=42.537904,-83.517509&spn=0.013913,0.043001&iwloc=addrhttp://www.oakland.k12.mi.us/resources/cfe/southwest/map.html
http://www.lcc.edu/maps/pdf/west_campus.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/SOS_Secondary_110281_7.pdf

LATE MODEL MAJOR COMPONENT PARTS
RECORD KEEPING FAQs

1. What is considered to be a late model major component part?

Answer: Late model major component parts are those parts which are removed
from a vehicle manufactured in the current model year or in the 5 prior model years.
Vehicles weighing more than 8,000 pounds are considered late model if
manufactured in the current or 15 prior model years.

Major component parts are defined as:

The engine

The transmission

The right or left front fender

The hood

The doors

The front or rear bumper

The right or left rear quarter panel

The deck lid, tailgate, or hatchback

The trunk floor pan

The cargo box of a pickup

The frame, or if the vehicle has a unitized body,
the supporting structures that serve as the frame
The cab of a truck

¢ The body of a passenger vehicle
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*

Note: Motorcycle major component parts are not specifically addressed by the Act.
However the frame, engine and engine/transmission assembly are considered as
such and must be recorded.

2. Must new major component parts be
listed in the major component parts
record?

Answer: No, but all used and
remanufactured parts must be listed.
This includes engines,

transmissions and bumpers.

3. Must parts purchase invoices be
kept for new and used major
component parts?

Answer: Yes. Parts purchase
invoices must be kept for both new
and used late model major
component parts. The invoice must
contain information regarding the
parts purchased, the purchase price, and the dealer license number of the selling
dealer.
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Is there a preferred way to list major component parts in the major component parts
record?

Answer: Yes, an easy, systematic way is to assign a number to each page and a
number to each entry space in the following way: Mark the first page of the record
as “1” and in the margin on the left of the page number each entry space starting
with number 1. As an example, page 1, entry number 3 will be 1-3; page 2, entry
number 5 will be 2-5; page 3, entry number 8 will be 3-8.

By using the page and entry number in this way parts purchase invoices and repair
invoices can be marked with this number for a quick and easy cross reference to a
specific part entry. This method will work well no matter how large your record may
become. Remember, all records must be maintained and available for inspection
for a period of five years.

Must the VIN be used as an assighed number?

Answer: No, it is not necessary to use the Vehicle Identification Number as the
assigned number.

You may either use the VIN or create your own numbering system. A good method
for creating your own numbering system is explained in Question 4.

Must | record the major component part number on the customer repair invoice?

Answer: Yes, each late model major component part used must have its assigned
number or the page and entry number described in Question 3 listed on the repair
invoice.

What are acceptable ways to “affix” an assigned number to a major component part?

Answer: Acceptable marking methods are: die stamp, paint pencil, electric
inscriber and labeling tape, which can be permanently attached to the part. All
assigned numbers must be legible.

Where must | place the assigned number so that it isn’'t removed or covered in the
course of painting the part?

Answer: To minimize this problem, assigned numbers can be placed on the inside
of fenders, hoods, quarter-panels, etc., and on doors in the area covered by the trim
pad.

What can | do to avoid listing all late model major component parts removed from
customer cars in my major component parts record?

Answer: If the part can be reused, it must be marked with an assigned number and
listed in the major component parts record. If you do not plan to reuse the part and
the part will be thrown out or sold as scrap, put the customer’s repair invoice
number on the part using one of the methods of marking described in Question 7.
By marking the part with the repair invoice number, verification can be made that the
part was obtained through a particular repair transaction.

Continued on Page 6
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10. After I repair a vehicle, | sometimes have parts that were removed which | feel
can be repaired and reused. The insurance company tells me it does not want
them. If | keep them, must they be shown in my records?

Answer: All late model major component parts, regardless of how acquired,
including damaged parts removed and kept for possible future use, must be
assigned a stock number and entered in your major component parts record.

In the next issue of the Auto Repair News, look for more FAQs regarding record
keeping requirements for late model major component parts.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Since the last issue of the Auto Repair News, the Bureau of Regulatory Services has
taken disciplinary actions resulting in one repair facility and five mechanics entering into
probation agreements.

Repair Facility Actions

The following repair facility was charged with violations and given the penalties noted:

Nadhir Savaya, d/b/a Kings Auto Service, Inc. (Applicant), 24991 Groesbeck,
Warren, 24-month probation, pending application processed based on alleged violations
of the MVSRA while doing business as F155124 Woodward Collision & Auto Sales, Inc.
Charges: Charged for repairs not performed, made written or oral untrue or misleading
statement of a material fact, performed unauthorized repairs or exceeded estimate
without approval, violated mechanic certification requirements, failed to reveal a material
fact, improper invoices, failed to give a written estimate.

Mechanic Actions

The following mechanics were charged with violations and given the penalties noted:

John N. Day (M249656), Centerville, 24-month probation, violated lllinois State Law
substantially corresponding to MCL 750.413. Charges: Aggravated vehicle hi-jacking with
a firearm.

Gary W. Dechape (M252124, Applicant), Alanson, 24-month probation, violated MCL
750.535a. Charges: Receiving and concealing stolen property in excess of $100.

Jason M. Schramm (M249652, Applicant), Muskegon, 24-month probation, violated
MCL 750.535a. Charges: Receiving and concealing stolen property in excess of
$100.

Randy Misner, Jr. (M238866, Applicant), Sand Lake, 24-month probation, violated
MCL 750.413. Charges: Unlawful driving away of a vehicle.

Richard B. Coohon (M232679), Albion, 24-month probation, violated MCL 750.415.
Charges: Motor vehicle-concealing or misrepresenting identity without intent to mislead
(VIN tag removal and replacement).

During the same period, 9 mechanic certificates were suspended for noncompliance with
the Child Support and Parenting Time Act.



