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During segment 1, a student who has completed a minimum 10 hours of classroom and 2 hours
of behind-the-wheel instruction may be issued a temporary driver education certificate (Parent
Driving Permit) furnished by the Secretary of State. The “pink” permit authorizes a student to
drive a motor vehicle, other than a vehicle requiring a motorcycle or commercial motor vehicle
endorsement, when accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian, or when accompanied by a
non-licensed parent or guardian and a licensed adult for the purpose of receiving additional
instruction until the end of the student’s driver education course. See MCL 257.306 (4) for
specific language.

The Secretary of State provides a template from which driving schools create the permits.
Instructions have been given to the schools on how to utilize the permits:

1. The instructor should thoroughly review with the student AND PARENT(S) the information
and restrictions on the permit. This permit does not offer the option of a parent designating
another adult to give the driving time to the student.

2. The instructor should thoroughly convey to the student AND PARENT(S) the restrictions for
using the permit. The parent should be informed of the progress their student has made up
to the time of issuance of the permit, and where and when the student should get the
additional driving time the permit allows. The purpose of the permit is to allow a
reinforcement of the instruction the student has already received; the student should not be
attempting a driving task that has not been previously introduced to them in driver
education.

3. The instructor should inform the parent(s) that they may want to contact their insurance
company to see if the student needs to be added to their policy prior to using the permit.

The permit is valid as long as the student is enrolled in a Segment 1 driver education course.
When the student’s segment 1 instruction is completed (classroom and behind-the-wheel) or the
student drops out of the course, the Parent Driving Permit expires. Driver education is an
“integrated and related” program, so behind-the-wheel instruction is designed to follow shortly
after the classroom portion to reinforce the newly learned concepts. The parent driving permit
will rarely have an expiration date more than three weeks after the ending date of the classroom
phase as Michigan law requires the minimum hours of behind-the-wheel training to occur within
three weeks of the classroom training.

Please be advised that not all driving schools make the permit available. It is optional.
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Michigan Department of State
Parent Driving Permit
**Certificate of Approval**

This is to certify that

First Middle Last

Date of Birth has pleted
Month Day Year

10 hours of classroom instruction and 2 hours of behind-the-wheel training
in an approved driver education course. The holder of this certificate is
authorized to drive a motor vehicle on the public streets and highways
ONLY when (1) accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian, or

(2) accompanied by both a non-licensed parent or guardian and a licensed
adult. This certificate was issued by:

Name of Provider City

Certification Expires:

NOT VALID WITHOUT SIGNATURES BELOW

The driver education provider listed on this certificate verifies that the
student, pursuant to MCL 256.653, meets the physical and mental
requirements for a motor vehicle operator’s license under section 309 of
the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.309.

Parent Signature

Driver Education Instructor Signature

Authorized School Official Signature
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