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In this issue SPREAD THE NEWS!
Page 2 CIRCULATE THIS NEWSLETTER TO DEALERSHIP STAFF

=

New On-Line Plate To ensure your entire staff is kept up-to-date on information from the
eCleCIE NG  Secretary of State, please circulate this Dealer Newsletter, or suggest
Avaiable staff periodically visit the Secretary of State Web site at

_ www.Michigan.gov/sos to view both current and past editions of Dealer
mggd'v'?c’torcyde B Newsletters. Choose Services to Businesses, then Automobile Dealers.
You'll find Dealer Newsletters listed in the center of the page.
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" . DEALER TRAINING
Blue Bar" Standard

Plate Transition The Bureau of Regulatory Services offers one-day dealer training
sessions to help licensed dealers and their employees with the basic
Documentary Fee requirements of the Michigan Vehicle Code. All sessions are

VENITIICEEESN  scheduled from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
From $170t0 $180

. e On-line registration is available for Lansing classes. Telephone
RD-108 Information registration is available for other training locations throughout the state by calling
CAENEE 517-373-6993.
Pre-registration is required for all classes.
There are no course registration fees.
Registration is first come, first served.
Picture ID is required for entry into the state buildings where training is held.
Who should attend?
o Dealership owners, managers, sales and office staff.
What will be covered?
o The basics!
www.Michigan.gov/sos and Other Web Resources
Vehicle Ownership Documents
Wholesaling/Retailing Vehicles
Dealer Records
Dealer Plate Use
Plate Fee Calculation
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Approved RD-108
Self-Certification of

Vehicle Ownership
Change

Truck Registration
Made Simple - Ad
Valorem Level
Raised From 5,000
t0 8,000 Pounds
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Class sizes are limited, so register early. Remaining training dates available for
New Dealer Manual 2007 are:
Updates Now On-

Line Date: Location:
November 13, 2007 Lansing
Class "B" and "W"
Dealers May Deal In You may register on-line for Lansing classes or contact the Dealer and Repair
Used Vehicles Only Resource Section at 517-373-6993 to register for classes outside the Lansing

area.
Body Styles: Is Ita

Pickup (PU) or
Station Wagon

(SW)?
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https://services.sos.state.mi.us/DealerTraining/Registration.aspx
https://services.sos.state.mi.us/DealerTraining/Registration.aspx

Page 6 NEW ON-LINE PLATE FEE CALCULATOR NOW AVAILABLE

Customers' Driver Michigan law requires dealers to apply for title and registration on behalf of their customers.
License Numbers

Speimre it \When a customer needs a new plate, the dealer must calculate the plate fee and record
RD-108 this information on the RD-108, Application for Michigan Title — Statement of Vehicle Sale.
&Tr{]arl‘ﬁgﬁons The on-line Plate Fee Calculator was developed to assist dealers in calculating these
Out-Of-State fees. The program quickly calculates common license plate fees. Using the plate fee
Customers calculator will minimize plate fee errors, ensuring quicker turn-around time when you submit
Is Your Customer a RD-108s. You can access the new plate fee calculator on the Department’s Web site at
Repeat Offender? www.Michigan.gov/sos. Select “Services to Businesses.” We suggest you bookmark the
new Web site for easy future access.

Separate Odometer
Statements

License plate fee charts remain available in the back of the MV-118 Base Price Booklet,
which is now only available on the SOS Web site. Select “Services to

z Businesses”, “Automobile Dealers”, “Titling and Registering Procedures”, then
L, “MV-118 Vehicle Base Price Booklet (MSRP).” Please note that with the 2007

4P 3 supplement to the MV-118 Base Price Booklet, we will no longer be printing and
distributing this document at branch offices. It is only available on the
Department’'s Web site.

If you find you need help calculating a plate fee, call the Department of State
Information Center at 1-888-SOS-MICH (767-6424) for assistance.

TITLED MOTORCYCLE OR MOPED?

Negative Equity - Section 257.31 of the Michigan Vehicle andyou must apply for title and registration
Tax or No Tax???? . . )
Code defines a motorcycle as a vehicle  on behalf of your customer:
"Not Eligible for having a saddle or seat for the rider and
Plates - No Tax designed to travel on not more than 3 wheels e Exceeds 50 cc’s piston
Paid” in contact with the ground, excluding a displacement.
tractor. e Can exceed 30 miles per hour on
a level surface.
Section 257.32b of the Code defines a e Produces over 2.0 brake
moped as a 2 or 3- horsepower.
CONTACT THE MICHIGAN wheeled vehicle that e Has a gearshift.
DEPARTMENT OF STATE - does not exceed 50
NOW TOLL FREE!!! cubic centimeters piston

. . . displacement, produces
That's right, it's on our dime! 1-888- 2.0pbrake horsspower or

SOS-MICH (767-6424). One |55 cannot travel at a
number to remember for the  speed greater than 30
majority of calls youwillmaketothe  miles per hour on a level
Department. Put us on your surface and does not
memory dial ~ 1-888-SOS-MICH. have a gear shift.

If a 2 or 3-wheeled Ifyou are selling new motorcycles, you must
vehicle meets one or more of the following  have a franchise agreement with the manu-
criteria, it must be titled under Michigan law  facturer and a new vehicle dealer license.
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http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,1607,7-127-1631-158285--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,1607,7-127-1631_8849_8864-30109--,00.html

January 1, 2007
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Mew Standard Plate Available

“BLUE BAR” STANDARD PLATE TRANSITION

Designed to help law enforcement officers ensure public safety across our state, Public

Act 177 of 2006 requires the Department of State to issue a new, higher visibility standard

plate when an “Old Blue” plate is renewed, transferred, or replaced. Beginning January 1,

2007, over an 18-month period, 5.6 million “Old Blue” plates will be replaced as they are

renewed, transferred, or replaced. The new standard plate is reflective white with a blue
bar across the top.

MICHIGAN Dealers are advised that when customers renew or transfer/renew their “Old
Blue” registration plate, they will be issued a new standard plate which is
S A M P L E reflective white with a blue bar along the top. There is no extra fee for the

new plate. Inthe past, dealers received only a new registration and tab back

s wwnMichigangew from the branch for these customers. This may necessitate an additional

contact with the customer when the new plate is received.

It is important for dealers to ensure their customers are aware they must
use the new issue plate to prevent risk of receiving citations from law enforcement for
improper registration.

DOCUMENTARY FEE MAXIMUM INCREASES FROM $170 TO $180

Pursuant to the Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Act, the documentary preparation fee maximum
has been adjusted to $180, through 2008.

Section 13(2)(a) of the Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Act (MCL 492.113(2)(a)) states, in part:

“The documentary preparation fee shall not exceed 5% of the cash price of the motor
vehicle or $160.00, whichever is less. Beginning on January 1, 2005, the administrator
shall adjust the $160.00 maximum for the documentary preparation fee described in
the subdivision every 2 years to reflect the cumulative percentage change in the
consumer price index for the 2 immediately preceding calendar years, as determined
by the administrator. The administrator shall round the adjustment to the nearest

$10.00 increment to set the fee every 2 years....”

The commissioner of the Office of Financial and Insurance Services has reviewed the
documentary preparation fee for adjustment and has determined the maximum shall be adjusted
to $180 from $170, effective Jan. 25, 2007. Therefore, the documentary preparation fee shall
not exceed 5 percent of the cash price of the motor vehicle or $180, whichever is less.

If you have questions regarding documentary preparation fees, please contact the Department
of Labor and Economic Growth, Office of Financial and Insurance Services toll free at (877)
999-6442.

RD-108 INFORMATION CHANGES

If you find yourself in a situation where you need to change any buyer information (name,
address, driver license number), vehicle information (VIN, year, make), lienholder information
(name, address), or odometer information on an RD-108, you need to prepare a new RD-
108, complete with new signatures.

The importance of accuracy on your RD-108s cannot be stressed enough. Getting a
customer to return to sign a new RD-108 can sometimes be difficult, but it is necessary if
buyer, vehicle, lienholder, or odometer has been changed.
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APPROVED RD-108

Have you come across a different looking RD-108 recently, something labeled an RD-
108e? The RD-108e is an RD-108 version approved for new vehicle dealers participating
in the Dealer Direct Project. All other dealers must use the “regular’” RD-108 with a revision
date of 12/2002.

Non-Dealer Direct dealerships using the RD-108e may have their deals returned by the
branch office. Do not use this form unless your dealership is participating in the Dealer
Direct Project.

SELF-CERTIFICATION OF VEHICLE OWNERSHIP CHANGE

The self-certification of ownership process for vehicles six or more model years old and
worth $2,500 or less has changed.

The TR-54 VIN inspection from a Michigan law enforcement officer is no longer required
when a dealer uses the self-certification process to replace a vehicle title assigned to the
dealership and subsequently lost or misplaced. Applicants now self-certify the VIN using
the TR-205 Ownership Certification form, which is available on the SOS Web site,
www.Michigan.gov/sos, by clicking on “Services to Businesses,” then “Publications and
Forms.”

The dealer submits the TR-205 Ownership Certification, their RD-108 for a resale title,
and a BDVR-108 Odometer Mileage Statement, if needed, to the branch office. The branch
office submits a request for a National Crime Information Center (NCIC) check to ensure
the vehicle has not been reported stolen in any state. When the branch receives a favorable
response to their request, it processes the requested transaction.

A surety bond must be submitted to replace the lost title for a vehicle six model years old
or less or any vehicle valued at $2,500 or more.

TRUCK REGISTRATION MADE SIMPLE — AD VALOREM LEVEL
RAISED FROM 5,000 TO 8,000 POUNDS

Many of today’s pickup trucks exceed 5,000 pounds empty weight, particularly the 3/4
ton and 1-ton pickup models. Sometimes dealers forgot that pickups and vans weighing
over 5,000 Ibs. were to register by empty weight instead of ad valorem. Situations
occurred where dealers registered a truck over 5,000 Ibs. by ad valorem rather than
empty weight, and their customers received a citation from law enforcement for
improper registration.

Good news — thanks to a recent legislative change, the registration process for these
trucks is greatly simplified! The threshold for registering pickups and vans by weight
increased from 5,000 Ibs. to 8,000 Ibs.

What does this mean for you, truck owners, law enforcement agencies, and the
Secretary of State? Easy — now all pickup trucks and vans up to 8,000 Ibs. (empty
weight) register by ad valorem. Pickups and vans between 5,000 and 8,000 Ibs.,
which previously registered by empty weight, now register by ad valorem. This greatly
simplifies the registration process for everyone.



NEW DEALER MANUAL UPDATES NOW ON-LINE

If you haven't visited www.Michigan.gov/sos and checked out Services to Businesses,
you've missed several Dealer Manual chapter updates. Check it out and print the following
for your dealership’s Dealer Manual:

\  Table of Contents rev. 02/2007
\ Important Telephone Numbers rev. 08/2006
\ Chapter One: Licensing Requirements rev. 06/2006
\ Chapter Seven: RD-108 — Application

for Title and Registration rev. 06/2006
\ Chapter Eight: Sales Tax rev. 02/2007

Keep an eye out for revisions to Chapter Six and Appendix A in the near future!

CLASS “B” AND “W” DEALERS MAY DEAL IN USED
VEHICLES ONLY

A Class B used vehicle dealer or Class W wholesale dealer purchasing a vehicle on an
assigned Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) has exceeded the authority of their
dealer license. Dealers are reminded that a Class A new vehicle dealer license is required
to buy or sell new vehicles. A new vehicle dealer may only sell a vehicle make for which
they have a franchise agreement with the manufacturer.

BODY STYLES: IS IT A PICKUP (PU) OR STATION WAGON (SW)?

With greater numbers of so-called “crossover vehicles” being marketed, there can be
confusion about what body styles should be used with RD-108s. Keep these hints in
mind:

e Ifit has a pickup bed, regardless of the number of windows and doors, it's a
pick-up (PU)
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e [fit’'s an SUV, with at least two windows each on the driver side and
passenger side, it's a station wagon (SW)

DEALER PLATE USAGE

All dealership vehicles leaving your lot should have, in addition to proof of insurance, a
form issued by your dealership authorizing the operator to use the vehicle. If the
operator is a prospective customer, then a statement should be carried advising the
vehicle is being operated for demonstration purposes and include the date and time
the prospective customer took possession of the vehicle. The form should include
the dealership’s telephone number.

A Dealer Bulletin outlining proper and improper use of dealer plates can be found by
accessing www.Michigan.gov/sos, Services to Businesses/Automobile Dealers/Dealer
Bulletins. This publication, in addition to being distributed to auto dealers, was sent to
all Michigan law enforcement agencies.
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CUSTOMERS' DRIVER LICENSE NUMBERS — REMINDER TO
ENTER ON RD-108

Branch offices have asked that dealers be reminded to please record customers’ driver
license numbers on their RD-108. This greatly speeds the processing of the RD-108, and
also ensures the driver license number becomes part of the new registration record. |If
your customer is from out-of-state, record their out-of state driver license number and the
state of issuance.

IN-TRANSIT COMPUTATIONS ~ OUT-OF-STATE CUSTOMERS

When preparing RD-108s for your out-of-state customers, please remember to check the
Michigan Department of Treasury’s form 485. This form lists current sales tax rates for
each state. If your customer is from a tax reciprocal state, enter the state sales tax
calculation for your customer’s home state as well as Michigan’s 6% state sales tax in the
Remarks section of the RD-108. Circle the lower of the two amounts, and enter this
amount in box number 4 (tax) in the upper-right side of the RD-108. This is the amount of
tax you will be collecting from your customer.

IS YOUR CUSTOMER A REPEAT OFFENDER?

A repeat offender is a driver who has had a second drug or alcohol conviction in a seven
year period, or a third driving while license suspended offense. The driver enters what is
called “registration denial” after being convicted of their 3rd drunk driving offense or 4th
driving while license suspended offense. Drivers in registration denial cannot purchase,
transfer, or renew a vehicle registration.

Branch offices will return RD-108 transactions if you apply for a registration plate for a
customer who is currently under registration denial.

To ensure this does not happen, dealers are encouraged to check the Department’s on-
line Repeat Offender database to verify if a prospective customer is under registration
denial. Enter your customer’s name, date of birth, and driver license number or personal
identification number before finalizing the sale.

We suggest you mark the on-line Repeat Offender database as a favorite for ease of use.

SEPARATE ODOMETER STATEMENTS

If there is a conforming title present (the great majority of titles are now conforming), a
separate odometer statement is not necessary and not valid. Federal and state law requires
the seller to disclose the odometer reading and declaration (actual, not actual, exceeds
mechanical limits) on the conforming title assignment. Sending unnecessary paperwork
to your branch may slow down the processing of your transactions.

The same is true if there is a conforming odometer statement available on an MCO; a
separate odometer statement is not necessary.


http://www.michigan.gov/documents/485_72279_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,1607,7-127-1631-32563--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,1607,7-127-1631-32563--,00.html

DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY
CONTACT TELEPHONE NUMBER

The Michigan Department of Treasury
has given us an additional telephone
number to more directly access their
Technical Services Section; 517-636-
4230. Dealers may still use the 517-
636-4730 number when inquiring about
sales tax matters.

of State.
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NEGATIVE EQUITY — TAX OR NO TAX?7???

According to the Michigan Department of Treasury, how you show a negative equity on the
RD-108 determines if the negative equity is taxable or not.

e If you are rolling a negative equity amount from a trade-in vehicle into the total
purchase price of a newly acquired vehicle for your customer, the total purchase
price (negative equity from their previous trade-in vehicle, plus the cost of their
newly acquired vehicle) is taxable.

e If you show the negative equity amount on line 10 of the RD-108, the negative
equity is not taxed.

The Department of Treasury’s Technical Services Section can be
contacted at 517-636-4230 for questions on tax issues. You may also
wish to contact the Department of Labor and Economic Growth, Office
of Financial and Insurance Services regarding financial contracts at
877-999-6442.

“NOT ELIGIBLE FOR PLATES — NO TAX PAID”

This verbiage appears on resale titles, the titles dealers apply for
on vehicles being held for resale. The vehicles in your inventory
being held for resale are not subject to tax until there is a retail sale
to a consumer.

These vehicles are also not eligible for a registration plate until tax is paid, but may be
driven using a dealer plate, which is considered a special plate issued by the Secretary



